We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Very pleasant stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sandton Hotel Pillows Zwolle

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sandton Hotel Pillows Zwolle
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Zwolle
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Very pleasant stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

Very pleasant stay in hotel....nice decor, very large rooms and extremly quiet considering how close it is to the train station........check in was a bit weird, asked to sit down as the two guys were sat behind a desk, but check in only took a minute or two, but it did feel awkard standing in front of two people behind a low desk. Ate in the restaurant very nice meal of duck, and the dessert was fabulous...a citrus cake, ice cream combo...really sweet and sharp at the same time....pleasantly weird....Break fast was a buffet style with lots of choice. It has a nice homely feel, familiar and pleasant.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Darren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MirandaBouwmeester, General Manager at Sandton Hotel Pillows Zwolle, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear Darren S,

Thank you for your review and your comment. Nice to read you had a pleasant stay with us and you enjoyed your dinner. Off course more than welcome back if you have to be back in Zwolle for business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    161
    34
    9
    2
See reviews for
22
200
11
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

During my stay @Pillows I experienced a really hospitable service. I was guided to my room where the host explained me everything about the features of the hotel/room.
The rooms were very spacious and comfortable. Great shower and a lovely bed.
The next day I enjoyed a extensive breakfast in the cosy restaurant/lobby.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MelchiorAP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MirandaBouwmeester, General Manager at Sandton Hotel Pillows Zwolle, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Dear MelchiorA, Thank you very much for your review and nice comments. We hope to welcome you back someday. Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monza, Italy
Level Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

For a night in Zwolle I have chosen the Pillows: good choice! The hotel is few walk steps from train station. The rooms are large and renovated, with nice design (as well as the lobby area), rooms are very quiet, good free Wi-fi service. Good breakfast. I have not tried the bar...

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank TonyC061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MirandaBouwmeester, General Manager at Sandton Hotel Pillows Zwolle, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear Mr TonyC061, thank you for your kind words and your review! We hope to welcome you back in our hotel whenever you plan to visit Zwolle again! Enjoy your day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
102 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

This hotel is close to the railway station, but you don't hear the trains at all. Also, the area is very pleasant, unlike many train station localities.
The decor is very tasteful. I loved the muted colours. The room decor is very stylish! I loved the floor to ceiling curtains, which really blocked out the light. I had a great sleep!
The bathroom is nicely stocked with toiletries and towels including wash cloth and bathrobes.
There was a safe in the room, which was locked on our arrival. However we didnt pursue it with reception.
Reception was very efficient and helpful. There was no problem getting a late drink!
I'm not sure if the aircon was working. The room was very warm in the morning, but not too much!

Good selection of TV channels in English too.
The hotel is within easy walking distance of the old town centre. I would definitely recommend it, despite the lack of tea and coffee making facilities in the room.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank magscork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MirandaBouwmeester, General Manager at Sandton Hotel Pillows Zwolle, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Dear Magscork, thank you for feedback and also your nice words about our team and and our hotel. It is nice to read such a review. Next time, do not hestitate to contact our receptionist to bring you coffee or tea to your room. More than welcome again as our guest in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
71 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Many reviewers have noted the dark rooms. The problem is a lack of lighting and wattage. The rooms are too dark to comfortably read a book at night. During the day, the light from the windows solves the problem. Our room had a few other oddities, like a mirror leaning against the wall, no luggage racks, and a climate control that either did not work, or we did not understand. Even so, the room (one grade up from standard) was large and very nicely appointed. Our room looked out the front of the hotel onto the main street and was up the staircase from the bar, but noise was not a problem.
The location is outstanding. It is short walk from the train station and a short walk to the old central city where most of the tourist attractions are located. Staff was friendly and helpful. Breakfast was acceptable to good. The breakfast room doubles as the restaurant and tearoom and is pleasant.
If you have any balance issues, the bath tub/shower are a problem. The lip of the tub is quite high and there are no grab bars. The large bathroom included heated towel bars.
We thought the Pillows provided reasonable value.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank southwind3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MirandaBouwmeester, General Manager at Sandton Hotel Pillows Zwolle, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Southwind3,
Thank you for you review and feedback on this site. Good to read all your tips. The ones for us will be used to improve service and give better information in the future. Checking the lights is one of these things. So thank you for that. We hope to see you again in our hotel in the future someday! Enjoy your day for now.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Hi all,
Stayed here a few times on business trips and on personal trips. Hotel is well appointed with some lovely rooms. It's location is very close to train station so very easy access. There's a car park so drivers are well catered for too.
Breakfast is continental (which is very different to Irish and English breakfasts) but is very good indeed. Staff are very pleasant and there is a nice little bar too.
My only concern is the climate control, it is very poor in hot weather in some rooms so ask when booking.

Room Tip: In hot weather specify a room with climate control.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BarryMcIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MirandaBouwmeester, General Manager at Sandton Hotel Pillows Zwolle, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Dear Mister BarryMcIreland, thank you very much for your review. Good to read you enjoyed your stay. Next time if you come to visit Zwolle and stay with us, it is an option to book a Royal de Luxe room or junior suite. In these rooms you can arrange the temperature yourself. All other rooms are connected to a central air handling system. We hope to welcome you back as our guest soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amersfoort, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
79 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

We went here for the second time for a romantic weekend. Everything about this hotel is amazing. The building is gorgeous (an old police office), the decoration is very tasteful and the staff is always ready to help and very friendly. The airco was working again, so it wasn't warm or anything. We liked the breakfest very much, not as extensive as say a Hilton, but for a smal boutique hotel very nice and fresh. I would defenitly recommend this hotel! Also very nearby the lovely center of Zwolle.

Room Tip: Choose a room in the old building, very high ceilings and more space. You will love it! I think they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TvEB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MirandaBouwmeester, General Manager at Sandton Hotel Pillows Zwolle, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thank you very much for your review and your feedback about our hotel. Enjoy your day and more than welcome back as our guest again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Zwolle
0.0 mi away
Bilderberg Grand Hotel Wientjes
3.3 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel Zwolle
1.4 mi away
Hotel Lumen
Hotel Lumen
#2 of 9 in Zwolle
4.5 of 5 stars 483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Librije's Hotel
Librije's Hotel
#5 of 9 in Zwolle
5.0 of 5 stars 104 reviews
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Fidder
1.2 mi away
Mercure Hotel Zwolle
Mercure Hotel Zwolle
#6 of 9 in Zwolle
4.0 of 5 stars 323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandton Hotel Pillows Zwolle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandton Hotel Pillows Zwolle

Property: Sandton Hotel Pillows Zwolle
Address: Stationsweg 9, 8011 CZ Zwolle, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > Overijssel Province > Zwolle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Zwolle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandton Hotel Pillows Zwolle 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sandton Pillows Zwolle is a quaint, deluxe hotel with warm designs that make you feel right at home. A great venue for business and leisure guests to stay, meet and venture in Zwolle, just a 4-minute walk from the city's enticing centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Sandton Hotel Pillows Zwolle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing