We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“No tea and coffee in room!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sandton Hotel Pillows Zwolle

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sandton Hotel Pillows Zwolle
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Zwolle
Certificate of Excellence
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
124 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“No tea and coffee in room!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

This hotel is close to the railway station, but you don't hear the trains at all. Also, the area is very pleasant, unlike many train station localities.
The decor is very tasteful. I loved the muted colours. The room decor is very stylish! I loved the floor to ceiling curtains, which really blocked out the light. I had a great sleep!
The bathroom is nicely stocked with toiletries and towels including wash cloth and bathrobes.
There was a safe in the room, which was locked on our arrival. However we didnt pursue it with reception.
Reception was very efficient and helpful. There was no problem getting a late drink!
I'm not sure if the aircon was working. The room was very warm in the morning, but not too much!

Good selection of TV channels in English too.
The hotel is within easy walking distance of the old town centre. I would definitely recommend it, despite the lack of tea and coffee making facilities in the room.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank magscork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MirandaBouwmeester, General Manager at Sandton Hotel Pillows Zwolle, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Dear Magscork, thank you for feedback and also your nice words about our team and and our hotel. It is nice to read such a review. Next time, do not hestitate to contact our receptionist to bring you coffee or tea to your room. More than welcome again as our guest in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    176
    38
    9
    4
See reviews for
25
224
13
79
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
70 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Many reviewers have noted the dark rooms. The problem is a lack of lighting and wattage. The rooms are too dark to comfortably read a book at night. During the day, the light from the windows solves the problem. Our room had a few other oddities, like a mirror leaning against the wall, no luggage racks, and a climate control that either did not work, or we did not understand. Even so, the room (one grade up from standard) was large and very nicely appointed. Our room looked out the front of the hotel onto the main street and was up the staircase from the bar, but noise was not a problem.
The location is outstanding. It is short walk from the train station and a short walk to the old central city where most of the tourist attractions are located. Staff was friendly and helpful. Breakfast was acceptable to good. The breakfast room doubles as the restaurant and tearoom and is pleasant.
If you have any balance issues, the bath tub/shower are a problem. The lip of the tub is quite high and there are no grab bars. The large bathroom included heated towel bars.
We thought the Pillows provided reasonable value.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank southwind3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MirandaBouwmeester, General Manager at Sandton Hotel Pillows Zwolle, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Southwind3,
Thank you for you review and feedback on this site. Good to read all your tips. The ones for us will be used to improve service and give better information in the future. Checking the lights is one of these things. So thank you for that. We hope to see you again in our hotel in the future someday! Enjoy your day for now.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Hi all,
Stayed here a few times on business trips and on personal trips. Hotel is well appointed with some lovely rooms. It's location is very close to train station so very easy access. There's a car park so drivers are well catered for too.
Breakfast is continental (which is very different to Irish and English breakfasts) but is very good indeed. Staff are very pleasant and there is a nice little bar too.
My only concern is the climate control, it is very poor in hot weather in some rooms so ask when booking.

Room Tip: In hot weather specify a room with climate control.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BarryMcIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MirandaBouwmeester, General Manager at Sandton Hotel Pillows Zwolle, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Dear Mister BarryMcIreland, thank you very much for your review. Good to read you enjoyed your stay. Next time if you come to visit Zwolle and stay with us, it is an option to book a Royal de Luxe room or junior suite. In these rooms you can arrange the temperature yourself. All other rooms are connected to a central air handling system. We hope to welcome you back as our guest soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amersfoort, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
80 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

We went here for the second time for a romantic weekend. Everything about this hotel is amazing. The building is gorgeous (an old police office), the decoration is very tasteful and the staff is always ready to help and very friendly. The airco was working again, so it wasn't warm or anything. We liked the breakfest very much, not as extensive as say a Hilton, but for a smal boutique hotel very nice and fresh. I would defenitly recommend this hotel! Also very nearby the lovely center of Zwolle.

Room Tip: Choose a room in the old building, very high ceilings and more space. You will love it! I think they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TvEB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MirandaBouwmeester, General Manager at Sandton Hotel Pillows Zwolle, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thank you very much for your review and your feedback about our hotel. Enjoy your day and more than welcome back as our guest again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

I've stayed both here and the Bilderburg (spelling?) hotel a lot. In terms of the rooms to sleep in, the pillows hotel is much better. However - the air conditioning is a joke. It doesn't work so if it is warm outside, so is your room (and the staff don't seem to do much / anything about it). My phone (a galaxy s4) is claiming the room is 35 deg C - from the way I feel, I can believe it.

terms of other stuff, the hotel is clean, quiet and well appointed. The in room inherent is ok but can be a little floor flakey.


Summary - generally, I'd choose to stay here but socialise in the livelier Bilderburg. However, if you think it might be warm, be careful....

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew_of_Hemel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MirandaBouwmeester, General Manager at Sandton Hotel Pillows Zwolle, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Thank you very much for your review and feedback on both hotels in Zwolle. Off course I rather have you as our guest in Hotel Pillows than as a guest in our also very good neighbour! Hotel Pillows has unfortunatly experienced some problems with the climate control. Our supplier is working really hard to make sure the system will function for 100% as soon as possible. If you ever intend to stay in Zwolle again, please do not hesitate to contact me via pillowszwolle@sandton.eu. I would love to give you a good offer to show you that we are able to make your a stay a good one like it should be without the temprature issues.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
92 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

We arrived at the Sandton Pillows easily, it being located just steps from the Zwolle train station. Our room had high ceilings, large windows, and was beautifully decorated. The bed was comfortable. However, the room had one MAJOR flaw: the windows did not open, the climate control did not work, and the hotel staff were unwilling acknowledge and address the problem. At first we thought it was a fluke, until we discovered that all of the other hotel guests had the same experience. After being told that there was no problem (the room was clearly 30* Celsius / 85* Farenheit), we were first told that "nothing could be done about it", until the manager finally capitulated and called a repair company that failed to fix the problem. As of our departure, it still had not been resolved. The manager offered us a small discount on our rate and didn't charge us for the tasty breakfast, but I would gladly have paid more for functioning climate control and good service.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MirandaBouwmeester, General Manager at Sandton Hotel Pillows Zwolle, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. I am very sorry to read that your stay was not a stay we would have wanted you to have. Hotel Pillows has unfortunatly experienced problems with the climatcontrol lately. For now 95% of the issues are solved. If you ever have the intention to visit Zwolle again, please do not hesitate to contact me via pillowszwolle@sandton.eu. I might be able to give you a good offer to make sure you will experience a stay in our hotel as it should be.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires
Level Contributor
54 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Stayed here for a couple of days during a business trip. The hotel is modern and very nicely furnished. Rooms are really big for dutch standards. The bead was really confortable and you had a selection of pillows at your disposal. The hotel is conviniently located, 2 blocks away from the train station and about 8 blocks from the city center. The staff was very kind and the breakfast was top quality.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin2581
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zwolle hotels
3.3 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel Zwolle
1.4 mi away
Hotel Lumen
Hotel Lumen
#2 of 9 in Zwolle
4.5 of 5 stars 506 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bilderberg Grand Hotel Wientjes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Mercure Hotel Zwolle
Mercure Hotel Zwolle
#6 of 9 in Zwolle
4.0 of 5 stars 341 reviews
0.7 mi away
Librije's Hotel
Librije's Hotel
#5 of 9 in Zwolle
5.0 of 5 stars 106 reviews
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Fidder
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandton Hotel Pillows Zwolle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandton Hotel Pillows Zwolle

Property: Sandton Hotel Pillows Zwolle
Address: Stationsweg 9, 8011 CZ Zwolle, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > Overijssel Province > Zwolle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Zwolle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandton Hotel Pillows Zwolle 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sandton Pillows Zwolle is a quaint, deluxe hotel with warm designs that make you feel right at home. A great venue for business and leisure guests to stay, meet and venture in Zwolle, just a 4-minute walk from the city's enticing centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com and Hotwire so you can book your Sandton Hotel Pillows Zwolle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing