We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Thai restaurant I've been to”
Review of BaiYok

BaiYok
Ranked #2 of 165 Restaurants in Zwolle
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: From the same kitchen: www.baiyokvoorthuis.nl (take away)
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Best Thai restaurant I've been to”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We've had a few disappointing Thai meals over the last few years and were starting to avoid Thai restaurants when choosing somewhere to eat. However, the wonderful smells coming out of the kitchen in the afternoon made us decide to give Baiyok a try. We managed to get the last table available that evening and I'm so glad we did!
The food is FABULOUS! absolutely delicious. So fresh, tasty and skillfully cooked. We were seriously impressed.
Also, the staff were excellent - this is definitely not the norm in The Netherlands! - really friendly, efficient and keen to ensure their guests are happy and enjoying their evening. It felt good to be looked after properly for a change!
Contrary to a couple of other comments, I think the price is good for this standard of food and service, I felt that I got very good value for money.
Thank you!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    180
    122
    22
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Phnom Penh
Level Contributor
43 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Wow”
Reviewed December 20, 2012

We had a private function on the Vertelschip. catering was provided by Baiyok. What a pleasant surprise, a very good mix of dishes and catering to the different palates. Also many delicious vegetarian options.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cambodia-crossings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zwolle, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
90 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Prima eten en presentatie, maar te duur.”
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Good restaurant. Food quality and freshness very good. Presentation is great and fantasyfull, however the food-price rate is not good. It is simply too expensive if compared to other good local Asian restaurants. A slightly higher price can be expected due the the good presentation, but the difference is too big.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eef K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
162 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“The best Thai restaurant in Europe”
Reviewed November 9, 2012 via mobile

My title is perhaps somewhat overstated, but it is the best Thai I have come across so far. It is always busy which is a good sign.

I also regularly get Thai food from the take away BaiYok across the street and this is equally recommended. Make sure you call them with your order before you go there as it takes 20-30 min to prepare the fresh food.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank James290774
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
264 reviews
196 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Above average Thai for the area - but nothing extraordinary.”
Reviewed September 20, 2012

I recently dined at Baiyok with a friend. I love Thai food and was hoping for something extraordinary given the reviews. The food was solid (except for the Tom Yum soup, which had coconut - an unusual ingredient for that item) but it was not memorable. It is also pretty pricey for Thai food. On the plus side, I will say that the interior is very peaceful and calm.

So, in sum, you can't go too wrong with Baiyok. Just don't expect too much.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GroteAppel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed BaiYok also viewed

Zwolle, Overijssel Province
Zwolle, Overijssel Province
 
Zwolle, Overijssel Province
Zwolle, Overijssel Province
 

Been to BaiYok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing