We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Good hotel but weird WiFi policy” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bilderberg Grand Hotel Wientjes

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bilderberg Grand Hotel Wientjes
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Zwolle
Certificate of Excellence
Amstelveen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
127 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Good hotel but weird WiFi policy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

This hotel is conveniently located between the railway station and the attractive old city centre of Zwolle, a 5-minute walk away.
Rooms are fine with good beds and the breakfast is OK. As so often in hotels, the position of the showerhead is such that people in access of 1.80 have to kneel to catch the water when washing their hair. It seems that small people, which are rare in Holland, are still the standard when designing bathrooms.
The weirdest aspect is the WiFi policy, which is the same in several other 4/5 star hotels: you have to pay for WiFi in your room, but WIFi is free in the lobby and the restaurant. When even ordinary campsites and 2/3 star hotels offer free WiFi in your room, this policy is really out of tune with modern practices. The price of 12,50 Euro for 24 hours is even more outrageous as at home you can have free access to WiFi, telephone and TV for about 60 Euro per month. Even weirder: when you are in certain rooms you can easily access the free WiFi hotspot!
This being said, the hotel is still a good option for staying in Zwolle.

Room Tip: When you want free WiFi access in your room, 118 is a good choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    150
    28
    11
    1
See reviews for
18
127
22
101
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

Don't expect much from this hotel. The decor is very, very simple and rather old, not even a hint of any deliberate design at all. Facilities in the room as well as the entire hotel is just basic. Fortunately we had a bigger room at the end of the hallway with sitting area and study table separate from the bedroom. However, the TV is placed in an odd location which you can neither watch comfortably or fully from the bed nor the siting area. The staff is friendly all around but the service and facilities that the hotel provide is very basic.

Although the location is a mere 5 minute walk from the train station, it is 15-20min walk from city center.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Djony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor and Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

Lovely hotel. Rooms comfortable and staff really friendly. Two mins walk to station and 5 into town. Stay here for business and would use again. Have facilities to print off boarding pass, always useful!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bub72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

Super friendly and spotlessly clean. Only down side was the lack of free wifi in room and was not able to access on lobby. But staff very helpful and hote convenient to station and town. I would absolutely return.

Room Tip: Only down side is no free wifi on room and it didn't work well in lobby
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lori243
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
116 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

This was an unexpected and delightful find at the last minute. I was not anticipating staying in a hotel in Zwolle but when the opportunity presented itself I jumped at the chance for a clean, friendly hotel with good beds and excellent room service. I can't say enough good things about the Bilderberg Grand Hotel Wientjes. Yes, I stayed here during the heatwave in July but the staff truly tried to help people cope. I put the fan in the window and it did indeed cool the room down. The front desk gave me a double room at no extra cost. The internet is free in the lobby but not in the rooms (there is a small charge which should not be the case in the 21st century). This hotel was very clean, staff was friendly & extremely helpful and the restaurant was superb. Ideally located hotel is within walking distance to the train station. There appears to be a lot of people who stay here for meetings so the staff are are service oriented. I splurged and had room service twice for breakfast and the selection was incredible. They served me enough food for the day and that was the classic continental selection. The bar is great, classic, old style and restaurant is truly fantastic. Excellent wine selection at the restaurant. Room has a fridge, coffee and tea for morning. I would stay here again!

Room Tip: Rooms in the back are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Suze215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
105 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

For business stayed at the Zwolle Bilderberg 5 nights in August and had a very nice stay... we weren't in the room very long with work and out to dinner, but the time there was good. Just be aware that there are several things you might expect that aren't there... no air conditioning in the rooms, no pool or workout space... and the room reminded me of a large dorm room... Very comfortable double bed and very nicely furnished, but small... nice size shower. Seemed to be a good number of English speaking people working there, many English TV stations and right around the corner from the trains and buses... if you like to bike I would plan a trip... biking is the national means of travel... nothing like I've seen anywhere in the world!! Bikers have their own roads, stoplights and parking... Anyone who can rides a bike to work... great visit and plan to go back! Internet is chargeable in the room, but free in the lobby.

Room Tip: Street side can be noisy and if warm you need to open the windows
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dgreene99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meppel, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
83 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

I have no experience sleeping here, however I've had the pleasure of dining in the restaurant of the hotel. Good menu, exellent winecard, great food and great service . The hotel is situatie in the hart of Zwolle . Only a 2 minute walk from the train station. It is situatie in a building of great architecture .

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pedro K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zwolle hotels
0.0 mi away
Sandton Hotel Pillows Zwolle
1.4 mi away
Hotel Lumen
Hotel Lumen
#2 of 9 in Zwolle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
3.3 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel Zwolle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Librije's Hotel
Librije's Hotel
#5 of 9 in Zwolle
5.0 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Campanile Zwolle
1.2 mi away
Mercure Hotel Zwolle
Mercure Hotel Zwolle
#6 of 9 in Zwolle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bilderberg Grand Hotel Wientjes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bilderberg Grand Hotel Wientjes

Property: Bilderberg Grand Hotel Wientjes
Address: Stationsweg 7, 8011 CZ Zwolle, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > Overijssel Province > Zwolle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Zwolle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bilderberg Grand Hotel Wientjes 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Wientjes is well known in Zwolle and the surrounding area. Thanks to its central location and attentive staff, the Wientjes is not just a welcoming and classic hotel for a holiday or weekend break. For many years it has played a central role as a local meeting place in the historic city of Zwolle, which only serves to highlight the authentic nature of the Wientjes. Our 57 stylish rooms offer every comfort for both leisure and business guests. The Restaurant W serves local specialities and classic dishes all day. In good weather, you can relax on our welcoming terrace. After an exciting day in the beautiful city of Zwolle, take a seat in our Grand Cafe where you can enjoy an informal dinner in a relaxed atmosphere. You will quickly notice that a trip to the Wientjes feels like coming home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Bilderberg Grand Hotel Wientjes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing