We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute hotel with surprisingly good food!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Restaurant de Jonge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Restaurant de Jonge to your Saves list
Hotel Restaurant de Jonge
Beulakerweg 30, 8355 AH Giethoorn, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Giethoorn
Brookline, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
33 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Cute hotel with surprisingly good food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed here one night - the room itself was fine though nothing spectacular. Excellent location with a very quiet night's sleep. The big surprise was the excellent food. We had booked a package that included dinner, breakfast and a picnic to take on the whisper boat with us. The three course dinner was delicious - we ordered different entrees (he had the pork and I had the turkey) and we both enjoyed our meals immensely. We took a walk into the older part of Giethoorn after dinner and it was beautiful. After returning we were delighted to find the dinning room still open for drinks so we had a bottle of wine. Breakfast was decent, but the picnic that they packed was really delightful and included champagne glasses with a small half bottle of sparkling wine - a great surprise. Plus they packed us 2 rain ponchos which came in very handy. We really enjoyed our stay and would recommend it to others. And the whisper boats were fantastic!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vv212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    13
    7
    5
    1
See reviews for
6
31
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Nahariya
Level Contributor
63 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Pros:
1. The food (dinner and breakfast) was tasty.
2. In couple of minutes walk from the hotel, you arrive to the very picturesque old area of the village. There you can enjoy the special charm of a trip between the beautiful gardens, houses, channels, bridges.
Cons:
1. It looks more like a motel.
2. The room was small, with a very simple furniture. Try to ask for a room at the ground floor. Our room was on the upper floor and the stairs were very non-comfortable.

The owners/staff were very friendly. Because it was quite cold, we didn't tried to rent a self-driving, open boat but we take a very pleasant trip with a boat company. The port is more than 5 km from the hotel so we went with our car. A large parking place is very close to the port.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tomi-Nahariya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

we got stay at 'the Boerderij' a farmhouse with authentique features at the main canal in the old village... absolutely charming! We felt like a locals.
Boatride, walkingtour and great food. The service was outstanding and we felt so welcome.
The rooms had everything we needed, including robes en great shower!

Room Tip: ask for the " Boerderij"
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KellyRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

We stayed here for one night and had an adorable room with a lovely view of the canal. The room was small, but we loved the furnishings and charm (the bed was built into a large cupboard). Our room also had a private bathroom, which was quite modern. Our room rate included a four course dinner and breakfast. We were unable to arrive until 8pm and notified the hotel in advance, and they were extremely accommodating with serving us a later dinner after our arrival. The staff was very friendly and the dinner was excellent. The next day we used the hotel bikes to travel to the main part of Giethoorn and thoroughly enjoyed the bike ride (following a route recommended by the hotel) and the town. The bike ride was approx. 4km. We were unable to rent a whisper boat from the hotel because they were booked, but we did reserve one in town and would highly recommend seeing the town from a boat. It was a very enjoyable stay.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank discover124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
143 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

I recommend when you book a room to ask for the one in the farm! All the furniture are origian from 17 and 1800, unique atmosphear. The service in the hotel is very personal and kind. I forgot my laptop and they send it to me 200 km. away! The food is excellent, its possible to rent a boat for a day and the hotel is adding to it a picknique basket with sandwiches, strawbaries and champagne.

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms in the farm!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarielaNordell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2010

The room and the bed were tiny - my husband (190cm) couldn't stand up straight (low ceiling), very different to their internet pictures. The bed was really soft & small (120cm?) and there was an annoying tapping noise all night from the central heating. I tried to mention it in the morning but they didn't want to know & charged more than we expected for dinner (30eur each - it was ok but not really worth it). I tried to be nice about it but there was no sorry, discount or anything. They were very friendly and service was good on arrival but definitely over priced for this beautiful area of NL. Never again!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank wattle75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiryat Shmona, Israel
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2010

We came to Giethoorn with both our kids for 1 night. We got a room in a farm house. The room was clean but it was very small and only when the hotel worker left we realized the room doesn't have a private toilet, but the toilets are located outside of the room and shared with other guest in the house. Although we agreed on the room price, they tried to charge more, so eventually this is the only place in Holland were we felt we are not treated fairly. Giethoorn is pretty but we didnt have a good experience in that hotel.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dafna1748677
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Giethoorn
0.0 mi away
Hotel de Harmonie
Hotel de Harmonie
#1 of 3 in Giethoorn
4.5 of 5 stars 89 reviews
3.7 mi away
Geertien Hotel Cafe-Restaurant
15.5 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel Zwolle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Art & Wellness Hotel Huis ten Wolde
7.4 mi away
Hotel Landgoed Oldruitenborgh
2.0 mi away
Hotel Restaurant de Pergola
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Restaurant de Jonge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Restaurant de Jonge

Property: Hotel Restaurant de Jonge
Address: Beulakerweg 30, 8355 AH Giethoorn, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Overijssel Province > Giethoorn
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Giethoorn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Restaurant de Jonge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing