We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Happy Chaos”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of El Popo

El Popo
Ranked #7 of 129 Restaurants in Deventer
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $27
Cuisines: Mexican, Street Food, American, South American, Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Large groups, Kids, Romantic
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Happy Chaos”
Reviewed November 28, 2011

This place sure has energy. The food is good, no high cuisine, just good food for a fun night out. We went here before going to the theatre and enjoyed having cocktails. This place is explosion of fun. The staff is happpy, bunch of noice from the kitchen, loud music it really is a good start for a night out!
Killer spareribs!

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lynne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    66
    26
    10
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Deventer (NL)
Level Contributor
77 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Our favourite in Deventer!”
Reviewed September 23, 2011

Good food, not too expensive and great atmosphere. Great for kids too.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Anonyma-NL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Run don't walk PAST this restaurant”
Reviewed September 14, 2011

I almost never write a bad review.
Honestly, this was the worst meal I have had in years.
Everything was bad. Drinks, food, and it took forever.

If you want improperly made drinks with half dead flowers that look like someone picked them up off the floor before putting them into your drink, this is the place for you! Wating 45 minutes for food with undercooked beans and cold tortillas, is not my favorite way to enjoy Mexican food.

Just pick another place! Please!

  • Visited August 2011
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Heidihoonthego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohain, Belgium
Level Contributor
90 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Once burned, twice shy”
Reviewed February 21, 2009

With my wife, daughter, her husband and our grandson we had dinner on Sunday February 15, 2009. The drinks were fine (caipirinhas and frozen margaritas) but excessively decorated. In fact, a childish sparkler was lighted on my wife's drink setting the straw on fire, which dripped red hot on to her hand , causing an ugly burn. The staff was attentive with a soothing ointment but did not have the courtesy to try and make amends by offering the drinks or anything else. The choice of food was very standard and limited and the cooking, while not bad, was nothing to write home about. At the end I had to point out that the bill wrongly included the children's menu for our grandson: El Popo advertises that on Sundays this is free. In short, I fail to understand the enthusiasm of other reviewers for this run-of-the-mill, noisy and commercially driven place.

Helpful?
Thank Pieter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
“very good mexican restaurant :D”
Reviewed July 21, 2008

very good mexican restaurant :D

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Popo also viewed

Deventer, Overijssel Province
Deventer, Overijssel Province
 
Deventer, Overijssel Province
Deventer, Overijssel Province
 
Deventer, Overijssel Province
Deventer, Overijssel Province
 

Been to El Popo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing