We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic envirement with perfect restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sandton IJsselhotel Deventer
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Deventer
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic envirement with perfect restaurant”
Reviewed February 28, 2013

This Hotel has style and a perfect location. Restaurant is TOP but not cheap. The chef there has great ideas and loves special tastes which are not so common.
The rooms are clean and neat. great bed and bathroom. Also from the room you have a perfect view on the Ijssel and during the evening you see a lot o f light on on river and the famous Deventer Tower.

Room Tip: You can have a Suite for a couple euro more when available when you arrive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rogier1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

498 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    218
    70
    21
    5
See reviews for
44
298
10
80
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2012

We were in Europe for three weeks and this was the most expensive room that we had and are still trying to figure out why. As others have stated, the furniture is a bit dated and our room was just terribly designed and arranged. An oversized table directly at the foot of the bed which took up way to much space as did the oversized armoire. The shower was the real shocker which when used would pretty much flood the entire bathroom area. The sink was really strange and was more of an artistic element than something functional. The inconvenience of having to take a ferry back and forth was also an issue when it began raining. We ate an evening meal and breakfast at the hotel and were not impressed in the least. Better choices are across the river which also brings you closer into experiencing this little hidden gem of a town.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Tonymaynard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Lovely, well appointed hotel across the river from Deventer. You need to take a ferry across tothe town, but it's worth it. The town is lovely and great to bike around. The hotel has a place to store the bikes overnight. Reasonably priced, but breakfast is not included .

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 60763Nancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012 via mobile

There aren't too many hotels in Deventer. The Sandton stands out as a bit of a luxury. For lack of any other room, I stayed in a suite overlooking the river. Nice that it was clean and had remote controlled curtains. It was also massively spacious for one person possibly intended for a bridal suite. Some comments though: first it was dark - lights were too few and too dim and the upholstery just dark. Second there was no coffee or tea facility in the room which I found very disappointing. For the price I paid I expected a Nespresso!
It was easy enough to get around. There is the ferry which takes you across for 1.40 euros per way. You can also call for a cab 12 euros one way. Dinner was quite good. The breakfast buffet a little disappointing.
All in all not bad but I expected something more.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank krityur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012

For the price point, this hotel is not that great. We booked a suite. What did we get? A bed, two chairs, a conference table with eight office chairs. Um. Not what we were expecting, especially for the price we were paying. The room's decor was dated. Hello 1991! They didn't even bother to put up a painting, leaving it leaning against the wall.

The toilet room had a 1/4 full roll of toilet paper. When we asked for more, they wanted to know why we wanted it and how much. Strange. Also, there was no towel by the sink and it took a little searching to find soap.

The staff were professional if perfunctory.

The bar/lounge was pleasant, with large windows and comfortable seating. Also a great view of Deventer.

Would I stay here again? No.

Room Tip: Do not get a suite. Unless you plan on having a business meeting in your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leslie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
285 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

This hotel is very cosy and offers a pleasant stay. The view from some rooms and the restaurant and terrace on the old town of Deventer is magnificent. Sit here at night and watch the hughe Lebuinus Church and tower. Service is good and so is the food. Rooms are pleasant, yet a bit expensive.
It is located at a very quiet place on the opposite side of the river. So you will get enough sleep here !
A good thing to do is to take the small boat across the IJssel when you go to visit the city.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with view across the IJssel river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caspar v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2012

Stayed whilst on a business trip. The food was excellent, although a little pricey. Rooms were of a very high standard, rain drop showers and fall away sinks. Right next to the river, ferrys cross for a few euros until 11pm at night, although its not far to walk into town if you miss them. I left my phone in the hotel bar, and the receptionist had it waiting for me in the morning. Very pleased with my stay.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keydoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Deventer
1.5 mi away
Postillion Hotel Deventer
0.1 mi away
Hotel-Appartementen de Vischpoorte
11.3 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel Apeldoorn - de Cantharel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Hanzestadslogement De Leeuw
11.6 mi away
Hotel de Echoput
Hotel de Echoput
#2 of 7 in Apeldoorn
474 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hotel Thermen Bussloo
Hotel Thermen Bussloo
#1 of 1 in Bussloo
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandton IJsselhotel Deventer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandton IJsselhotel Deventer

Property: Sandton IJsselhotel Deventer
Address: Worp 2 | (Opening October 2007), 7419 AD, Deventer, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > Overijssel Province > Deventer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Deventer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandton IJsselhotel Deventer 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Sandton IJsselhotel Deventer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing