We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Fletcher Hotel Gilde
Nearby Hotels
$121
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
$98
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$153
$148
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$197
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$98
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$57
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$98
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Internet
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Royal(Deventer)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (151)
Filter reviews
151 results
Traveler rating
20
59
48
20
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
20
59
48
20
4
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
36 - 41 of 151 reviews
Reviewed September 21, 2012

The hotel is located in the center of Deventer and had a history as hospital, nursing home for the elderly and a nursing place for veterans. Nowerdays it is an hotel. And it can be a great one after fixing it up but we have some remarks about the room. It was really outdated.
Reason for low rate on cleannes: Our bathroom was dirty.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WoCo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

This is now in the Fletcher chain which has about 60 hotels in Holland. The Gilde (pronounced Hilda) is a former convent with a lot of the original internal decor, which is very attractive. I had a large room for three people on the third floor at the rear of the building, and the view was nothing special. The room 33 is equipped with a kitchenette with two hot plates and a fridge, but no pans, crockery or cutlery, so what is the point? The in-room snack bar consisted of two packets of crisps and four packs of biscuits, one of which was two weeks past its sell-by date. We left them alone. Travellers with mobility problems be aware: the hotel lift goes to floor two only, then there is a tight spiral staircase of 21 steps to floor three - tricky without a suitcase; even trickier with one. Breakfast consisted of the usual continental platter of meats, cheese and bread, but hot bacon and scrambled eggs are also available. We arrived earlier than the normal check in time but the very pleasant and helpful receptionist let us take our room as it was ready (Travelodge people please note - see my other reviews). The front door is in a pedestrianised area so taxis might not be able to draw up close, although arriving on a Sunday in pouring rain, ours did. It is about ten minutes walk from Deventer station and a similar walk from the main square (Brink) with lots of bars, restaurants and entertainment. Deventer is a lovely old city, well worth a visit. I would have given a four blob (Very good) rating if it hadn't been for that wretched staircase!

Room Tip: Avoid rooms 31 - 38 if you can
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2012

is a nice old hotel with beautiful old historic features.
our room was big,and i loved the bath and the balcony!
location in the city so that was great,also near the station.
staff was very friendly and helpfull!
breakfast was oke.
the hotel is now from fletcher a different owner

Room Tip: room 26 is big enough,had a good bed and a bath and balcony overlooking the garden
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikkie888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2012

Lovely old, historic building in which we had a very quiet room with a private balcony overlooking a courtyard garden. The breakfast was included and was fine but the hotel was not the cheapest of the 3 we stayed in in Holland. The location was very good but there was no parking with the hotel and we parked at the station car park which was a short walk away. We had a bath and twin beds pushed together but this was the same in all 3 of the hotels we stayed at in Holland. Deventer is a very nice place and well worth a couple of night's stay when exploring Holland.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the courtyard are quieter and have private balconies
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shelley9London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2011

My husband and I returned here after a break of five years to attend a family event.
We checked in on a Friday evening and found the staff as friendly and efficient as before.
My husband was pleased to see the breakfast menu had been extended to include scrambled eggs and bacon.
Our room was comfortable and clean with a TV and a pleasant view from the balcony.
However, in order to have a room with a bath as well as a shower, we had to have two single beds instead of a double.
Three general observations from stays at a number of European hotels: the bath towels are small, there are no tea/coffee making facilities in rooms and one has to ask for toast at breakfast.
However, in the case of the Gilde, that is compensated for by the hotel's character and beautiful interior, air of comfort and friendly, but discreet service.
The location is superb for those exploring the town, its shops and restaurants, with a secure, reasonably priced underground car park a huge bonus.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kittyginger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews