We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Postillion Hotel Deventer
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Deventer
UK
Level Contributor
71 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed January 16, 2010

It is a standard 2 star hotel.
The room is very simple: a small table, a chair, a bed. No coffee, no bed dressing, no cupboard or drawers. No frills.
Bathroom has a toilet that is so squashed in, that you need to sit on it at an angle.
Internet costs 20 Euro a day. No vending machine, but you can buy at the desk (2 Euro a drink)
Breakfast is ok. There is a MacDonald’s opposite the hotel but no other restaurant for miles.
On the second day the wakeup call was 45 minutes late.
On the third day the cleaner took away my wet towels and didn't leave my any new ones.
On the positive side, all the hotel staff I met were lovely and friendly.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UpAndUp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    199
    88
    27
    7
See reviews for
38
226
9
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
105 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2008

Fine location for motorway stop-over, but a bit far from town centre. Rooms OK, but a bit dated - it has a real 60's feel about it. Very nice staff - friendly and very service minded. Nice bar -did not use restaurant

  • Liked — Location for motorway
  • Disliked — Dated interior
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LjoJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2008

Having friends in a small town in the Netherlands doesn't leave you much option as to hotels - so I was a bit worried about this place, especially because it was such a bargain price (3 nights for just over £100 excl b/fast). It was quite nice. Yes, bedrooms in need of a refurb, but smart public areas, a newly refurbished bar and lovely staff. Good sized room and bathroom (which was an awful 80s green tile affair) but good shower and hot water - and everything worked. Ample storage, hospitality tray, comfy bed. A little out of the centre of town, and despite being close to a motorway, very quiet and you could almost be in the countryside. Functional, friendly and a good price - would stay again.

  • Liked — Value for Money
  • Disliked — Bathroom Tiles
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Firstclasslad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint-Cloud, France
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2007

this is a basic Mercure hotel with very basic service. Not poor but far from being fantastic.
rooms are small, old fashionned.
if you plan yo stay one night, that's ok but if you plan to stay try to go somewhere else.

  • Disliked — ambiance
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank lamiarag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Deventer
1.5 mi away
Sandton IJsselhotel Deventer
1.5 mi away
Hotel-Appartementen de Vischpoorte
1.6 mi away
Hotel Hanzestadslogement De Leeuw
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel Royal
Hotel Royal
#5 of 5 in Deventer
49 reviews
9.6 mi away
Bilderberg Hotel De Keizerskroon
6.7 mi away
Hampshire Hotel - 's Gravenhof Zutphen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Postillion Hotel Deventer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Postillion Hotel Deventer

Property: Postillion Hotel Deventer
Address: Deventerweg 121 | Overijssel, 7418 DA, Deventer, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Overijssel Province > Deventer
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Deventer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Postillion Hotel Deventer 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Mercure Deventer combines the best of both worlds. Conveniently close to the A1 motorway, this cosy, welcoming inn near the river Ijssel is just a stones throw from the friendly, historic centre of the Hanseatic town of Deventer. The hotel has 99 luxury rooms, including 22 club suites with additional facilities. All the rooms and public areas are non smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Postillion Hotel Deventer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing