We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is a prison where you want to stay”
Review of Huis van Bewaring

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Huis van Bewaring
Ranked #1 of 1 Almelo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Baarn, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
172 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“This is a prison where you want to stay”
Reviewed February 21, 2014

Hidden in a old jailhouse with a lot of details kept, it's thé place to be and to stay in Almelo. Business or pleasure wise. Very nice welcome and friendly. Well decorated in the jail house style but very warm and cosy. It's breaths nostalgia, warmth and style for a affordable price. Breakfast is very good.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    26
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
25
Solo
0
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
125 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2013 via mobile

Good use of an old prison. Locacted in the city center near bars and restaurants.
Familiar cosy atmosphere and good rooms.
Easy to find and nice staff. Good breakfast.
Will return if I have business in the area.

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Sredna1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leiden, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

I was here only for a night because I had to work early the next day. But still the experience was excellent.

A warm welcome, a reserved parking spot and the atmosphere of an old prison. A very nice cosy room with plenty of space. You can sit and relax in the luxury seats, work at the small desk or sleep of course. An extra outlet near the bed would be convenient as well as something to put the used towel on to dry.

The breakfast was ready half an hour earlier so we could experience the still warm croissants and rolls.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marcovanzelst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almelo, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Highly recommend the Huis Van Bewaring. From the moment we entered the building we were welcomed. Shown all the facilities including the coffee machine and breakfast room. The decor is impressive and unique. The toilet with no door was easily overcome with the other person going to get a coffee. Breakfast was plentiful and by candle light who could resist it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shazzab333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shepparton, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in this rather unique hotel which was formerly a prison, the owners have done a wonderful job doing it up. Our room was quite luxurious and very comfortable. The free wifi was very good and the breakfast menu more than adequate. We really appreciated the care the owners gave us, they were very helpful and considerate of our needs.
I would be very happy to stay at Huis Van Bewaring again.

Room Tip: All rooms are very well appointed and comfortable. Take note there is no lift and there are stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marilyn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Super warm welcome from the owner who made sure that I knew where I could help myself to coffee whenever I wanted, how to get out and back into the hotel (it really is so much more than a B&B), quick tour of the breakfast room (which was the chapel used by former inmates).

I had a super room the Italian Warden's room- large and comfy double bed with ensuite shower room, no door but travelling on my own for business so not an issue. It was very hot the night I stayed (34 deg C) and as the windows are the original prison ones they only open slightly so a fan was the only thing missing.

This place is quirky, stylish, and definitely boutique retaining so many original details (the front door and the cell doors being some of my favourite features), think this it my most favourite B&B ever.

Go and experience it for yourself if you are in Almelo, you won't regret a night in the 'house of detention'.

Great location, plenty of restaurants a few steps awayfor evening dining,

Room Tip: Go and enjoy the quirkiness of this excellent B&B Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crazychic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

This hotel, created from a former prison is an experience that is worth visiting. I was there for a business meeting, but it would also be a good vacation destination. Fine room, with the bonus that they DO NOT close the huge steel prison cell doors when you sheep. The location, near several restaurants is also ideal. With all of this, the service was super. Imagine my arrival from the USA to be greeted by name at check in. The rates were more than reasonable. I will return to this hotel on my next visit to Almelo.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rsfary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Almelo
0.7 mi away
Preston Palace Almelo
0.2 mi away
Theater Hotel Almelo
6.9 mi away
Landgoed Hotel & Restaurant Carelshaven
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel Hengelo
8.4 mi away
Hampshire Hotel - City Hengelo
5.2 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Jachtlust
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Huis van Bewaring? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Huis van Bewaring

Property: Huis van Bewaring
Address: Marktstraat 7, 7607 HC Almelo, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Overijssel Province > Almelo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Almelo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Huis van Bewaring 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, HRS, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Huis van Bewaring reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing