We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding accommodation” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Huis van Bewaring

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Huis van Bewaring
Ranked #1 of 1 Almelo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Almelo, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Outstanding accommodation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

Highly recommend the Huis Van Bewaring. From the moment we entered the building we were welcomed. Shown all the facilities including the coffee machine and breakfast room. The decor is impressive and unique. The toilet with no door was easily overcome with the other person going to get a coffee. Breakfast was plentiful and by candle light who could resist it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shazzab333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    26
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
25
Solo
0
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shepparton, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in this rather unique hotel which was formerly a prison, the owners have done a wonderful job doing it up. Our room was quite luxurious and very comfortable. The free wifi was very good and the breakfast menu more than adequate. We really appreciated the care the owners gave us, they were very helpful and considerate of our needs.
I would be very happy to stay at Huis Van Bewaring again.

Room Tip: All rooms are very well appointed and comfortable. Take note there is no lift and there are stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marilyn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

Super warm welcome from the owner who made sure that I knew where I could help myself to coffee whenever I wanted, how to get out and back into the hotel (it really is so much more than a B&B), quick tour of the breakfast room (which was the chapel used by former inmates).

I had a super room the Italian Warden's room- large and comfy double bed with ensuite shower room, no door but travelling on my own for business so not an issue. It was very hot the night I stayed (34 deg C) and as the windows are the original prison ones they only open slightly so a fan was the only thing missing.

This place is quirky, stylish, and definitely boutique retaining so many original details (the front door and the cell doors being some of my favourite features), think this it my most favourite B&B ever.

Go and experience it for yourself if you are in Almelo, you won't regret a night in the 'house of detention'.

Great location, plenty of restaurants a few steps awayfor evening dining,

Room Tip: Go and enjoy the quirkiness of this excellent B&B Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crazychic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

This hotel, created from a former prison is an experience that is worth visiting. I was there for a business meeting, but it would also be a good vacation destination. Fine room, with the bonus that they DO NOT close the huge steel prison cell doors when you sheep. The location, near several restaurants is also ideal. With all of this, the service was super. Imagine my arrival from the USA to be greeted by name at check in. The rates were more than reasonable. I will return to this hotel on my next visit to Almelo.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rsfary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
124 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

This ex-prison has been converted into a very stylish boutique hotel. Everything has been done to a very high standard indeed. Free WIFI seals the deal.

Despite the very high standard the rate is incredibly good value.

Final icing on the cake, was finding such excellent coffee in the Nespresso machine in the lounge area. You would be crazy to stay anywhere else.

Room Tip: All good....
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tripper21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

Such a lovely hotel in Almelo. Stayed there during the MAFF weekend (Media art flow festival, which is also highly recommended) and had a lovely time. Very comfotable beds, friendly staff, proper breakfast and placed in the city centre.
Next time I'll go to Almelo, I'll stay in the Huis van bewaring again! :)

Only thing they just might want to work on: privacy in the bathroom. I have a lovely boyfriend, but do like to have a bit of privacy when I'm in the toilet. A curtain would do, a door would be better. :)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lianne d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
121 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

this was our first stay at this hotel, I had read the reviews and was a little put off knowing the rooms had bathrooms without doors but we had a suite offered to us for the price of a normal double, A21, room was amazing, on the ground floor facing out onto a garden area, and even though it was right next to the recpetion desk and stairs it was a very restfull stay. The room is large and has 3 very large windows with double glass, the two sinks are at the end of the room visable from the bed but the shower and toilet are not, they are just out of view but there is no door, so for those people not very comfortable having to use the toilet area whilst your partner can hear just ask him./ her to leave the room for a while. The hotel has all the original features of a prison, metal doors, wooden staircase and metal galleries. The furniture is all fairly dark colors, purples, blacks and browns and grays, silver chairs and think carpets but it just likes to add more to the whole sphere of the hotel. Liesbeth who checked us in and out was very friendly and helpfull, giving us a map with all the good restaurants and places to see and for those young enough to enjoy the night life, she will also tell you of the places to go.The only negative thing I can say is we found our bed to be somewhat uncomfortable, a boxspring which was hard and a matras which was very thin and soft and lumpy but otherwsie, if the weather had been much better (it rained all weekend) the weekend would have been perfect.

Room Tip: A21 is een suite quiet en lots of room with a slightly more private bathroom area. Facing out onto t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ukjules59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Almelo
0.6 mi away
Preston Palace Almelo
0.2 mi away
Theater Hotel Almelo
Theater Hotel Almelo
#2 of 2 in Almelo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 958 reviews
8.4 mi away
Hampshire Hotel - City Hengelo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Landgoed Hotel & Restaurant Carelshaven
Show Prices

Been to Huis van Bewaring? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Huis van Bewaring

Property: Huis van Bewaring
Address: Marktstraat 7, 7607 HC Almelo, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Overijssel Province > Almelo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Almelo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Huis van Bewaring 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Huis van Bewaring reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing