We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back to the seventies” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Strandhotel Zandvoort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Strandhotel Zandvoort
Ranked #22 of 26 Hotels in Zandvoort
Roermond, Limburg, Netherlands
Level Contributor
125 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Back to the seventies”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

The Hotel is on the seafront. Its a dark, dated building. Going inside the reception area is very dated. The reception staff were correct but certainly not friendly or welcoming.
9 floors but only 2 lifts. We had to wait more than 5 minutes on a couple of occasions.
The corridors and rooms are very dated. It was like being in the 70's.
The view from the room, of the sea couldn't be beter.
The room was clean, the beds just about acceptable. The TV was tiny and the sound was so bad you could'nt understand the dialogue.
You could easily hear the next room's shower.
Free use of the swimming pool in the adjecant holiday park, but the park is also very dated.
if you are not going with kids...DON'T GO!
Breakfast buffet was the worst we've ever experienced. Fry your own eggs!?? What are they thinking. No staff in the restaurant.
The hotel wasn't even a cheap option, 142 euro for one night. When there we were offered an extra night for 39 euros!! Go figure. Would expect much more.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dennis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    12
    14
    4
    7
See reviews for
5
25
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Nurnberg,Germany
Level Contributor
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

The location of the hotel is nice. Near the beach and the view is good.
But the room is not clean when we arrived. There were hairs on bed and juice on the promotion cards on the table. There is no any room service after 10 pm. or anyone can fix our TV. The front desk refused to talk and hang up the phone. Also refused to let us talk to the manager. The hotel was the last nite we stayed in Zandvoort. Totally ruined our vacation. After this night we decide to go home asap.

Room Tip: high floor is good. check everything is your room right after you check in in case no one else work...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank UrbanOrangeCat-Mei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Zandvoort hotels

Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
117 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We stayed at the hotel for one night: the room was very comfortable even if we asked for a double bed room and we got two single beds close to each other. The kitchen is small but very handy and fully equipped (including fridge and microwave oven). The reservation gave us access for two days at the acqua park located a few meters away with very nice swimming pools and water games for kids.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FedericoPaesano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We had a really good time in this little apartment with it's spectacular view over the sea. The rooms are clean, kitchen is little but functional, beds are good and the staff is friendly.When you book a room in the Strandhotel you get free use of the facilities of the center Parcs next door. Also the big pool, which is really fun.
We were happy to have a little kitchen because the fun at night and the quality of restaurants is really limited during the winter. It is practically on the beach but a little stroll to the city center.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmKarin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
59 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

The room was clean but paint was coming off some places, we have been here before a few times because of the magnificent view. But in the meantime the hotel is worn down and the value for money is not good enough anymore.

Room Tip: Get a room on floor 7 to 9 for th ebest possible view over the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FlyingDutchmanCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2011

We stayed for 2 nights in this hotel in a room with a small kitchen. However rooms feel old and bathroom is also ready for a refurbishment given the normal cost of this room. With wind there is a serious draft in the room. Also our booking via booking.com was a mess.
View is amazing given the right weather and location to beach, circuit and center are convenient. For kids the pool etc is nice but for us without kids no added value. Breakfast buffet is pretty good. Have to chose between this and NH would be NH but both are not good, a really quality hotel for a reasonable price I have yet to find in zandvoort.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wilmick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2011

We chose Zandvoort as a touring base, as our first choice in Haarlem had been booked up. Zandoort is not the prettiest of Dutch town - its dour grey buildings complement the gloomy North Sea fog of a chilly spring evening. Strandhotel is very much in keeping with the architectural style of its neighbours.

On the positive side, the rooms are adequately sized and furnished, with their firm beds and comfortable seats. Once the sun is out, views of the beach are actually quite pleasant, whilst the several restaurants and bars below the Promenade will entice you sample the ambience of the resort.

Which is just as well, as the rather tempting description of the themed buffets on the hotel menu turned out to be a disappointment. Around E25 per head is a steep price for canteen-quality food. Late diners should also be warned that the hotel restaurant closes at 19.30 (18.30 BST). The restaurant on the opposite side of the road offers freshly-cooked food with more flexible hours and a pleasant beach-front location.

Hotel guests can use the pool at the nearby CentreParks free of charge, but this is designed more as a leisure pool than for proper swimming.

The train station is just 7-8 minutes away, and provides a half-hourly service to Haarlem and Amsterdam. Do bear in mind that the ticket machines in Zandvoort do not accept notes or some cards. They do accept coins, which means having to save up a lot of small change.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank danielfromwales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zandvoort hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Zeespiegel
Hotel Zeespiegel
#9 of 26 in Zandvoort
4.0 of 5 stars 33 reviews
0.3 mi away
NH Zandvoort
NH Zandvoort
#1 of 26 in Zandvoort
3.5 of 5 stars 920 reviews
0.2 mi away
Center Parcs Park Zandvoort
Center Parcs Park Zandvoort
#20 of 26 in Zandvoort
3.0 of 5 stars 396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Amsterdam Beach Hotel Zandvoort
0.4 mi away
Hotel Keur
Hotel Keur
#7 of 26 in Zandvoort
4.0 of 5 stars 27 reviews
0.3 mi away
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#19 of 26 in Zandvoort
3.0 of 5 stars 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strandhotel Zandvoort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strandhotel Zandvoort

Property: Strandhotel Zandvoort
Address: Trompstraat 2, 2041 JB Zandvoort, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Zandvoort
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 26 Hotels in Zandvoort
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 118
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Strandhotel Zandvoort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing