We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“2 hour history stopover”

Zaans Museum & Verkade Experience
Book In Advance
More Info
$94.20*
and up
Private Tour: Amsterdam Canals and Harbor to Zaan River and Zaanse Schans Day...
Ranked #3 of 25 things to do in Zaandam
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: In the Zaans Museum & Verkade Experience you will always find something exciting to do. Visit our chocolate and biscuit factory and discover how Verkade biscuits and chocolate were made and admire our magnificent collection of packagings, graphic designs, paintings, photographs, films, Zaans painted furniture and utensils.On a regular base we organize activities for the whole family. Lectures, films, workshops and tasty activities like building cookie-factories using Verkade biscuit, make edible postcards, or get started with real Verkade chocolate!Besides the activity program we offer several investigative routes, you can design a wrapper for a chocolate bar, and of course taste the different Verkade Cookies . With the serious games you can test whether you 're just as agile as a Verkademeisje, or that you still have more talent for baking cookies .With the serious games on the factory square you become an engineer, planner, operator, technician or designer and will be introduced to the variety of technical occupations in the food sector.
Chepstow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“2 hour history stopover”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

We visited the Zaans open air museum as part of a cruise trip. Very p[leased we did and this place offers insights into the Netherlands history or the Windmills and country culture. Enough to see and see ow Dutch wooden shoes are and were made, along with open attractions. Well worth a visit.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank KEJA58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    105
    46
    8
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Augusta, Michigan
Level Contributor
47 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Would spend the money to see all the pay windmills instead.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2014

We really enjoyed Zaanse Schans. I would skip the Zaanse Card as it only gets you into the Zaanse Museum and one of the 'pay' windmills. Unless you have little ones, skip the Zaanse Museum and just head right into the Zaanse Schans itself and tour the three pay windmills (costs the same as the Zaanse Card.) The staff was great but you can only do so much in a museum like this.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank TeomnerZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Not your ordinary museum, kids and teens would also like it”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014

The museum is small, but interesting with items pertaining to the history of the area. You can open the drawers to see its contents. There is also an area where you can play games relating to some of the industries, and although they are in Dutch, our English-speaking-only teenage guests seemed to eventually understand what must be done.

The Verkade Pavillion (Verkade is a Dutch leading brand of biscuits) houses a simulation of biscuit making and there are biscuit factory simulation games which are fun for children and adults alike. If there is someone on duty there near the simulation games, ask to borrow one of their white factory coats for picture taking! I only knew about this after numerous times of taking guests here.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Kahurangi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
297 reviews
69 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Nice afternoon visit”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2014

The museum is small and well done for a small town. There is not a lot of English but I still got a lot out of it. The Verkade pavilion is well done.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Yvonne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Nice but steep parking fee”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2014

The museum is lovingly furnished and especially the Verkade pavilion is really nice to walk around, seeing all those machines in action. You can tell that a lot of TLC went into this. Living in this area, I also liked the local history part. My little nephew (8 years) definitely preferred the Verkade pavilion, as the local history contained a lot of written text, some long audio monologues (Peter the Great exhibition), 1 old movie (about paper production) and as good as no interaction.
The parking fee, however, is a real setback. As it turns out, although the Zaanse Schans parking lot is right next door, it does not belong to the museum. The price here is 8 euro's for any time over 30 minutes. I find that quite incredible. It would show decent visitor care to offer an affordable parking fee ("uitrijkaart") for those that buy a museum entrance ticket.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda_Op_Reis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zaans Museum & Verkade Experience also viewed

Zaandam, North Holland Province
Zaandam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Zaans Museum & Verkade Experience? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing