We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Ambiguous receptionists” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bastion Hotel Zaandam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bastion Hotel Zaandam
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Zaandam
Erd, Hungary
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Ambiguous receptionists”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

It's situated a bit far from Amsterdam centre. Bus costs 7 EUR for a day for an adult. Every 15 minutes comes a bus daily. It's in a half industrial an commercial part of the city. It's hardly reach any food store on foot nearby. It's easy to park in the hotel parking place. Clean rooms and baths. Our only problem was at the last departure day. The receptionists insisted that we ate one day breakfast but we didn't. She was rude to us. She spoke to us as we are burglers. Finally we didn't pay for breakfast. All the other receptionist was helpful and kind to us. The breakfast costs 14 EUR for a person which is very expensive for us. That's why we chose not to eat in the restaurant. I'm sure that something is wrong with the registering of the bills.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Helpful?
2 Thank Lehoczki V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BastionHotelGroep, Eigenaar at Bastion Hotel Zaandam, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Dear guest,

We want to thank you very much for your stay at Bastion Deluxe Hotel Amsterdam Zaandam. We are pleased to find out that you have enjoyed the personal atmosphere, hospitality, comfort and good facilities and all of this you have translated in a nice review!

We would like to apologize for the fact that you have experienced a bad experience during the check-out. Hence we value your comments and recommendations for assessments and to further develop our standards. The Bastion Hotel Groep strives to always meet and exceed the expectations of our guest.

We are looking forward to welcome you again in one of our hotels!

With kind regards,

The team of the Bastion Hotel Groep
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    51
    28
    10
    10
See reviews for
15
40
6
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

A few weeks ago I stayed in this hotel. It was so nice to stay here. The staff was really nice, gave me all the information I needed to make my stay the best.
I once ate in the restaurant of the hotel and it was really good! I had the steak with pepersauce. The steak was perfect, medium, just as I required. The other days I explored Amsterdam, otherwise I would have had diner at the hotel again.
The room was perfect, the beds were comfortable and the bathroom was big and the shower was nice and warm.
The next time I go visit the Netherlands again, I will def go to this hotel again!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PeterP-19-99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BastionHotelGroep, Eigenaar at Bastion Hotel Zaandam, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Dear guest,

We want to thank you very much for your stay at Bastion Deluxe Hotel Amsterdam Zaandam. We are pleased to find out that you have enjoyed the personal atmosphere, hospitality, comfort and good facilities and all of this you have translated in a nice review!

We hope you had a nice stay in Amsterdam. Our hotel is perfectly situated for guests who want to experience Amsterdam. Close to Amsterdam and free parking.

Very nice to hear that you are definitely coming back to this hotel.

We are looking forward to welcome you again in one of our hotels!

With kind regards,

Team of the Bastion Hotel Groep
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnhem, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

Room (luxery) room is big with a bath the bed is good and nice..big flat screen..it's clean..
Food in the hotel is very good XL hamburger is very good and the schnitzel to..security is very high so we felt very safe in the hotel..Stafe is very nice..overall this is a good hotel clean friendly safe hotel for one night or week ..

Room Tip: Ask for the deluxe room
See more room tips
Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Hi J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bastion Hotel G, Owner at Bastion Hotel Zaandam, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for the review which you have posted on Tripadvisor.
As we can see you have experienced the personal atmosphere, hospitality, comfort and good facilities of Bastion Hotel Groep and you have summarized it in a great review!

Thank you very much for that.

We are looking forward to welcome you again in one of our hotels!

With kind regards,

Team Bastion Hotel Groep
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palma de Mallorca, Spain
Level Contributor
101 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

This is a Business hotel so one should not expect anything else. We found the beds comfortable, A/C satisfactory and staff friendly enough indeed. We were sadly hit by the smell of stale tobacco the moment we walked in to the hotel front door as the smoking room situated just off the reception area had its door wide open which remained the case for the two and but days we were there. The bedroom doors DO slam shut at all hours of the night which is disruptive if you are keen on your sleep but it is a hotel I imagine designed to cater for contractors and temp staff operating in the surrounding factories and shipyards........
The staff appeared to be far too few as the receptionist on both days we were there spent their time rushing between checking people in or out as well as serving breakfast and dinner! Dinner mind you surprised us as was really rather tasty and certainly plentiful. If you have business in this area the the hotel is a sensible option but it is not a Holiday destination or somewhere to stay whilst on holiday.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bastion Hotel G, Owner at Bastion Hotel Zaandam, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for the comments which you wrote on Tripadvisor. Such comments supports me and my colleagues to provide our guests a good service. The Bastion Hotel Groep strives to always meet and exceed the expectations of our guest.

I hope to meet you again in one of the hotels from the Bastion Hotel Groep.

With kind regards,
Maik Willems
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Kirby
Level Contributor
121 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Good bar, rooms small and tired, you really need a car, not in an easily accessible location, min 15min walk from nearest station

Booked online and paid but then get a bill for 'tax' on departure. About 40m walk from the stadium. Really is a fairly basic business hotel, but 5min taxi to shchipol.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TisGed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bastion Hotel G, Owner at Bastion Hotel Zaandam, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for the comments which you wrote on Tripadvisor. Such comments supports me and my colleagues to provide our guests a good service. The Bastion Hotel Groep strives to always meet and exceed the expectations of our guest.

I hope to meet you again in one of the hotels from the Bastion Hotel Groep.

With kind regards,
Maik Willems
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
184 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We stayed here for only 2 nights but was pleasantly surprised with it! The rooms are in very good condition and very modern. The hotel is just a 2 minute walk from the bus stop and a 5 min bus journey from Schipol. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone and will be staying here again in the future!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geoff W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bastion Hotel G, Owner at Bastion Hotel Zaandam, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for the positive comments which you wrote on Tripadvisor. Such comments supports me and my colleagues to provide our guests a good service. The Bastion Hotel Groep strives to always meet and exceed the expectations of our guest.

I hope to meet you again in one of the hotels from the Bastion Hotel Groep.

With kind regards,
Maik Willems
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

Spent here 4 nights in September, hotel is not bad all in all, but I'm sure there could be better matches to find on Amsterdam surroundings. It should be 4* hotel, but I would rather add only 3*.

Friendly staff, but quite chaotic, with wrong informations and data they are handling.

Dinner meals were also not bad and breakfast was excellent.

Room was nothing special, they said it was better quality (superior or deluxe), but I've seen much, much better ones... despite that it was rather clean and good maintained.

Location... well, few steps from local crematorium and not far from bus stop. Bus lines 391 and 392 are driving to the Amsterdam city centre, it takes from 30 to 40 mins getting there. Taxi is some 40€.

Enjoyed walking to Zaandam city centre next to Zaan river banks... Lots of small cafes and shops.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nick_zg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bastion Hotel G, Owner at Bastion Hotel Zaandam, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for the positive comments which you wrote on Tripadvisor. Such comments supports me and my colleagues to provide our guests a good service. The Bastion Hotel Groep strives to always meet and exceed the expectations of our guest.

I hope to meet you again in one of the hotels from the Bastion Hotel Groep.

With kind regards,
Maik Willems
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Zaandam
1.3 mi away
Inntel Hotels Amsterdam Zaandam
0.1 mi away
Ibis Budget Amsterdam Zaandam
1.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Zaan Inn
BEST WESTERN Zaan Inn
#2 of 4 in Zaandam
4.0 of 5 stars 339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Dutch Design Hotel Artemis
Dutch Design Hotel Artemis
#113 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,102 reviews
2.8 mi away
Amstel Botel
Amstel Botel
#172 of 363 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 1,464 reviews
3.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Blue Square Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bastion Hotel Zaandam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bastion Hotel Zaandam

Property: Bastion Hotel Zaandam
Address: Wibautstraat 278, 1505 Zaandam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Zaandam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Zaandam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bastion Hotel Zaandam 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bastion Hotels stands for a personal atmosphere, hospitality, comfort and good facilities for an attractive rate. Bastion Hotel Zaandam offers a 24 hour front office, comfortable rooms and an extensive choice of dishes from the a la carte menu in the atmospheric restaurant. For relaxation and a nice ending of the day guests are always welcome in the cozy hotel bar or smoking lounge. This lounge contains an lcd television, air-conditioning and relaxing lounge chairs. The hotel also has free wireless internet in the entire hotel. In the lobby the hotel has a computer available, for guests, for free use of the internet. Domestic animals are not allowed. Location / Accessibility Bastion Hotel Zaandam is easy to be reached, by car, along the A8, exit 1. For travelers that have to be in Amsterdam, this hotel is a good choice. The centre of Amsterdam is only 20 minutes away. The famous Zaanse Schans with its beautiful Dutch windmills is only 4 km away from the hotel. Rooms The hotel has 40 comfortable deluxe rooms and 40 comfort rooms. The comfort rooms are equipped with a television, a modem, airconditioning, a bureau, a safe, a minibar, free coffee and tea making facilities and a bathroom with a shower and toilet. The Deluxe rooms are more spacious than the comfort rooms and are equipped with a television, a modem, airconditioning, a bureau, a safe, free coffee and tea making facilities and a bathroom with bath, toilet and hairdryer. Food & Beverage At Bastion Hotel Zaandam guests can enjoy an extensive continental breakfast buffet, on weekdays from 06.00 Till 09.00 And in weekends from 07.00 Till 10.30. The atmospheric hotel is opened from 11.00 Till 23.00 For lunch and diner. When guests have a very busy schedule they can ask the hotel staff about the possibilities for a lunch package. The cozy hotel bar is opened till 23.30. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Bastion Hotel Zaandam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bastion Deluxe Hotel Amsterdam Zaandam
Bastion Hotel Zaandam North Holland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing