We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My home away from home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Zaan Inn
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Zaandam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 3, 2014

Basic hotel with a lot of ikea... The staff makes you feel at home. Good food, great drinks. Love the service. Try the sizzling pan.... very close to the city centre. Also try the "blauwe pauw" witch is very close by

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank niwrereol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (540)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

230 - 236 of 540 reviews

Reviewed January 24, 2014

This hotel is functional rather than cosy. Unlike reviews from previous guests we found the reception staff and the breakfast staff friendly and helpful. The hotel is right in the middle of Zaandam, next to the main railway station but inside the rooms there is hardly any noise, from the trains or the traffic. Our bed was enormous - almost needed binoculars to find each other! The transparant shower doors mentioned by previous guests seem to have been replaced, at least in our room (a comfort room). Good and free wifi. Excellent location for visiting Amsterdam but don't forget Zaandam itself. The centre is becoming very pretty and it has a lot of good eating places and shops. We arrived by car and although the hotel can be seen clearly from the roads, finding the hotel (free) parking place was tricky: no signposting and many roads around the hotel blocked off for road works. Even our son, who lives in Zaandam, found it difficult to find Two other things: the pillows on the bed are very small, about half the size of a normal pillow and not very comfortable. The price of the breakfast, 15 euros pp, is ok as there is a lot of choice and all very fresh, but if all you want is a coffee and a croissant, it's too expensive. Why not offer a cheaper price for continental breakfast?

Room Tip: Our room was on the side of the rail track but very, very quiet nevertheless.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank somersettraveller65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Well designed rooms with bathrooms but no bath available in any room.
Breakfast buffet is well done for reasonable price.
Hotel is at walking distance from railway station to catch the train to centre of Amsterdam
New developed Shopping centre at walking distance.
No bar snacks available after 22:00
Good parking with no extra costs!
Despite being close to busy railway with every 5 minute a train passing inside the room no problem with the expected noise unless you want to sleep with open window then it will be noisy.
But no need as AC is working fine

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cloggie1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZaanInnHotel, Manager at Best Western Zaan Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2013

Thank you very much for your stay and your review.

Parking is indeed free of charge and as we are located near to the Zaandam trainstation, we have easy access to Amsterdam.

For your next stay, we will make sure that bar snacks are available after 10pm as well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2013

Room size ok, nice bathroom, location is excellent, 10 minutes walk to town centre where there is a lot of shops and restaurants, 5 minutes walk to train station (2 stops 10 minutes into amsterdam central station). Very quiet, free parking, WIFI free and excellent. Reception Staff not very nice, breakfast staff excellent. They don`t replace all bathroom stuff after the first day!!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lordrion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZaanInnHotel, Manager at Best Western Zaan Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2013

Thank you for staying with us and thank you for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Room size ok, nice bathroom, location is execellent, 10minutes walk to town centre where there is a lot of shops and restaurants, 5 minutes walk to train station (2 stops 10minutes into amsterdam central station). Very quient, free parking, WIFI free and excellent. Staff very rude, bar staff excellent, tv has only 3 channels and all in Dutch.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zzzbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

We booked this hotel for 2 nights to visit Amsterdam. It's right next to the train station, a few minutes walk, but we heard no rumbling train noises during the stay. You can book a return ticket (~5 euros) to Amsterdam. The train ride takes around 10-15 minutes.

The room booked was a Comfort Double. The bed was larger than expected. The room is a bit small compared to motels/hotels in the US, and spartanly furnished. A safe and mini-fridge are provided. It contains a small desk and two chairs and a standing lamp. Other than that there is a built in closet and the bathroom.

Service was good. It rains a lot in Amsterdam, so an umbrella is a necessity. Unfortunately we did not know that, but the front desk lady was kind enough to lend us an umbrella.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shaolong D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We were a little hesitant about booking here having never been in Amsterdam. After a long trip we were greeted by friendly staff, clean room, hot shower and a comfortable bed. It's a quick walk from the Zaandam station that will take you into Amsterdam Central or Shiphol Airport. To sum it up, if you want to be in Amsterdam but not spend $400 a night for a decent place, this is a great choice. Not a 4 star hotel but clean and very helpful staff.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NJArmyWife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Zaandam
0.2 mi away
Inntel Hotels Amsterdam Zaandam
1.4 mi away
Ibis Budget Amsterdam Zaandam
0.2 mi away
easyHotel Amsterdam Zaandam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Bastion Hotel Zaandam
Bastion Hotel Zaandam
#5 of 5 in Zaandam
159 reviews
4.0 mi away
XO Hotels Park West
XO Hotels Park West
#64 of 374 in Amsterdam
3,972 reviews
6.2 mi away
XO Hotels Couture
XO Hotels Couture
#43 of 374 in Amsterdam
1,936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Zaan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Zaan Inn

Address: Grenehout 22, 1507 EB Zaandam, The Netherlands (Formerly BEST WESTERN Zaan Inn)
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Zaandam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Zaandam
Price Range: $78 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Zaan Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN Zaan Inn is a modern hotel, situated next to the Zaandam train station. It is nearby the Zaandam city centre, the Zaanse Schans and 12 minutes by train from Amsterdam.Zaan Inn Hotel has 102 spacious non-smoking rooms, with a save, refrigerator, desk, telephone and free WiFi. All rooms have a big flat screen television. The bathroom is equipped with a toilet, sink, shower and hair dryer. In the Zaan Inn Hotel is a nice grill restaurant situated, named Restaurant Pulse. There is also a cosy bar, a smoking lounge and pool tables. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelsforEveryone so you can book your Best Western Zaan Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Zaan Inn Zaandam, North Holland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing