We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Comfortable and quiet” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Zaan Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Zaan Inn
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Zaandam
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Comfortable and quiet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

We booked this hotel for 2 nights to visit Amsterdam. It's right next to the train station, a few minutes walk, but we heard no rumbling train noises during the stay. You can book a return ticket (~5 euros) to Amsterdam. The train ride takes around 10-15 minutes.

The room booked was a Comfort Double. The bed was larger than expected. The room is a bit small compared to motels/hotels in the US, and spartanly furnished. A safe and mini-fridge are provided. It contains a small desk and two chairs and a standing lamp. Other than that there is a built in closet and the bathroom.

Service was good. It rains a lot in Amsterdam, so an umbrella is a necessity. Unfortunately we did not know that, but the front desk lady was kind enough to lend us an umbrella.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shaolong D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    195
    57
    12
    10
See reviews for
72
173
18
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sofia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We were a little hesitant about booking here having never been in Amsterdam. After a long trip we were greeted by friendly staff, clean room, hot shower and a comfortable bed. It's a quick walk from the Zaandam station that will take you into Amsterdam Central or Shiphol Airport. To sum it up, if you want to be in Amsterdam but not spend $400 a night for a decent place, this is a great choice. Not a 4 star hotel but clean and very helpful staff.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NJArmyWife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, TN
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We had a 4 night stay at the Zaan Inn Hotel. It's perfectly situated just a few minutes walk from the ZaanDam train station about 10 minute ride to Amsterdam Centraal, the main train station in Amsterdam. The hotel is also near shopping and several choices for eating just on the other side of the train station.

Even though the hotel is in view from the train station, the hotel is surprisingly quiet. Our room was on the side closest to the station and you can barely hear the trains coming and going. The rooms were spacious, modern and very clean. The staff was very friendly and very accommodating!

The complimentary breakfast is of good size but not much variety. It was the same each morning. But for what you get, it's of very good value. Coffee, orange juice, eggs, fruit, sliced meats and cheeses, breads and croissants, yogurts and grains.

We had a single large bed and it was huge! So big, my wife and I moved to the center so it could feel more like our queen bed. It was very comfortable! Each room has it's own climate control as well and the bathrooms are very spacious!

If I had one criticism (or advice rather), it would be that if you plan on going into Amsterdam eash day, plan wisely. The last train to ZaanDam gets in shy of midnight. If you miss it, you're stuch having to use a cab (which can be costly). Other than that, the public transit system is very efficient!

If you're looking for a greta place to stay outside of Amsterdam, The Zaan Inn Hotel is a great choice!

Room Tip: We stayed in 301 and had a great view of very colorful buildings with the train station in the foreg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bbass74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ibiza, Spain
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We were in Bruges Looking for a Last minute Hotel and we found the Zaan Inn really Cheap. It was opened just 1 month ago . We arrived at midnight and we were really surprised about the good quality of the Hotel.

Also, Next Day we preferred to leave the Car at the Hotel and Took the Train, Just 3 Minutes walking from the Hotel and at 15 Minutes to Amsterdam Town Centre.

Really Good Value of money.

:)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Land O Lakes, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

The hotel was industrial looking with minimalistic type decor. Our suite had a mini-kitchen but no coffee maker. The windows were quite dirty. The rooms were clean although I found the sheets to be quite stiff causing me to itch and not sleep well. I had to request a hair dryer as none was provided. The shower did not drain. I found all 3 front desk agents not friendly nor helpful when asking for directions or suggestions. When we checked out we didn't even get a thank you for staying with us or even a hello or good-bye. Location to train station was good. The bus was close as well which we took to a little windmill village. The village next to the train station was quaint.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pbmbjz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spangdahlem, Germany
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Clean comfortable room. Nothing spectacular but it is one of the nicer 3 star hotels I have stayed at. Staff was very friendly and helpful! The hotel has a bar downstairs and it has some vending machines if you get hungry/thirsty in the middle of the night. This hotel a little far from Amsterdam but it is only 2 train stops from the Central Station in Amsterdam so it was perfect. The train station is only 2-4 minute walk from the hotel and was 5.30 euro round trip to the Central Station. Parking was free which is always great. I did not try the breakfast which was 7.50 euro because right on the other side of the train station, there is a shopping center with great food. Make sure you check it out. Overall, the hotel was the perfect fit for our needs.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TRICKIERAVER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coryton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We enjoyed our stay so much we extended by another week after our first week. The rooms were clean and comfortable, and a great alternative to hostels at the time! The train station to Amsterdam is literally only a couple of minutes away too! The staff were amazingly hospitable! The smoking room near the bar was also a lovely addition, especially in February!!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LozPat26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Zaandam
0.2 mi away
Inntel Hotels Amsterdam Zaandam
1.4 mi away
Ibis Budget Amsterdam Zaandam
4.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Blue Square Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Hotel Couture
4.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Blue Tower Hotel
BEST WESTERN Blue Tower Hotel
#184 of 363 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 1,509 reviews
1.5 mi away
Bastion Hotel Zaandam
Bastion Hotel Zaandam
#4 of 4 in Zaandam
3.5 of 5 stars 131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Zaan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Zaan Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN Zaan Inn
Address: Grenehout 22, 1507 EB Zaandam, The Netherlands (Formerly Spirit Inn)
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Zaandam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Zaandam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Zaan Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN Zaan Inn is a modern hotel, situated next to the Zaandam train station. It is nearby the Zaandam city centre, the Zaanse Schans and 12 minutes by train from Amsterdam.Zaan Inn Hotel has 102 spacious non-smoking rooms, with a save, refrigerator, desk, telephone and free WiFi. All rooms have a big flat screen television. The bathroom is equipped with a toilet, sink, shower and hair dryer. In the Zaan Inn Hotel is a nice grill restaurant situated, named Restaurant Pulse. There is also a cosy bar, a smoking lounge and pool tables. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Hotwire so you can book your BEST WESTERN Zaan Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
BEST WESTERN Zaan Inn Zaandam, North Holland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing