We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely morning museum” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Zaanse Schans

Zaanse Schans
Book In Advance
More Info
$52.21*
and up
Private Tour: Zaanse Schans from Amsterdam
Ranked #1 of 24 things to do in Zaandam
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: This open air museum recreates a Dutch village with wooden houses and windmills dating from the 17th and 18th centuries.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Hitchin
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Lovely morning museum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

We took a school group here, you'll get grabbed by the official photographer for a group photo (no obligation to buy, 5 Euros if you do) as you enter the museum (free). Many of the demonstrations are free and lead into gift shops. The clog demonstration is impressive, you watch a five minute demo of a clog being made from a block of wood. The demo clogs can be purchased for 2 Euro - a nice souvenir! The cheese shop offers lots of free tastings (not just cheese either - syrup pancakes, chocolate, salami etc.). We also visited one of the windmills on site (de Zoeker) which is a paid for demo. The demo itself wasn't great but the opportunity to up inside the mill was good and you can enjoy the view from the balcony outside beneath the sails. We found a lovely coffee shop which was like someone's living room - very cosy! If you are bringing a group then ask at he toilets near the entrance for a group rate (its 50c each otherwise and with 65 girls it took a while to get them all through)!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank missjohns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,324 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,519
    1,434
    289
    59
    23
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Dutch icon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

Walking through the Downtown area of Amsterdam and seeing the fammed "Red-Light" District, I was ready for something refreshing and the Zaans Schans Windmills was just what the doctor ordered. Low cost and just a short drive and accessabile by public transportation. It was quaint and you were able to get a look at the working windmills, purchase food items such as cheese, jams, chocolates, Dutch shoes, etc... The Zaanse Schans is located onthe banks of the Zaans River and was well worth the trip.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Julz721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Level Contributor
898 reviews
176 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 330 helpful votes
“Windmills, Wooden Shoes, and Cheese”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

We enjoyed spending a couple of hours here. There is no cost for admission unless you want to enter the working windmill "De Kat". Which I would highly recommend. It cost 3 euros to enter. You can watch the mill grind the rocks and tiles to make paint and read about the history. There are demonstrations of how they make wooden shoes along with historical examples of the shoes and the different shoes from parts of the Netherlands. You can taste cheese samples. It was a nice way to spend a few hours.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank justme2Georgia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yokneam, Israel
Level Contributor
143 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Charming place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

Working windmills, an oportunity for a magnificent boat ride,
It is a small place, the tour shouldn't take more than two hours.
Numerous photo oportunities with windmills and county homes.
There is a smell of coacoa in the air from a nearby chodolcate factory which make is
even more delicious

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank ShlomoYokneam_Israel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
864 reviews
246 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 272 helpful votes
“Not a good idea on a cold day”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

My family was visiting the Netherlands so I decided on Sunday to show them a typical old Dutch village. With the ticket you can visit the village, the museum and the old Verkade factory. It was very cold that day so it was not so pleasant to be walking around the village. We saw the mill from the inside and visited some shops but apart from that we just went as quick as possible to the museum to warm up. The museum was quite boring (maybe it is better for older people). However I liked visiting the old Verkade
factory (producer of chocolate and biscuits. It is cool to see the producing processes in the past. Altogether it was a good experience but I wouldn’t go there again on a cold day.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Ronaldo070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zaanse Schans also viewed

Lisse, South Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Zaanse Schans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing