We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, but bring snacks!”
Review of Zaanse Schans

Zaanse Schans
Book In Advance
More Info
$68.63*
and up
Zaanse Schans Windmills and Volendam Tour from Amsterdam
More Info
$41.06*
and up
Small-Group Zaanse Schans Half-Day Tour from Amsterdam
More Info
$65.69*
and up
Small Group Zaanse Schans Windmills, Volendam and Old Villages Tour from...
Ranked #1 of 25 things to do in Zaandam
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: This open air museum recreates a Dutch village with wooden houses and windmills dating from the 17th and 18th centuries.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Sacramento, California
Level 6 Contributor
59 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Beautiful, but bring snacks!”
Reviewed January 31, 2012

We took a train from Amsterdam to the village of Zaanse Schans on a gorgeous sunny day. It was just beautiful! I would definitely recommend going by train if you're staying in Amsterdam, rather than driving. Only took us 30 minutes, and then a nice 15 minute walk from the train station to the actual village. Wear comfy shoes and bring lots of water! We didn't go inside the windmills, but sure enjoyed walking around. I was surprised that for such a famous touristy place there weren't very many food options. I really wish they had more food stands or something. We got really hungry!

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank YTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,936 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,897
    1,617
    322
    74
    26
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
“Very Pretty and Picturesque.”
Reviewed January 23, 2012

Everytime a friend comes for a visit we take them here to see the windmills. Very accessible from Amsterdam city, just hop on the Conexxion (red) bus 91 from Central Station and the last stop is Zaanse Schans. Very pretty scenery, the air smells of chocolate all the time because of all the cocoa processing factories nearby and there is even a boat rental shop where you can rent a boat for just € 20 an hour and go put-putting down the canal to the next town. There is even the cheese making factory, the clog workshop, diamond shop and cafes. For € 3 you can enter one of the windmills and climb to the top. I like this place because it is a relatively cheap excursion and you get to see the 3 main Holland icons : Cheese, Clogs and Windmills. There is no charge for you to enter the site at all.

Helpful?
4 Thank Bubviv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Peaceful journey back in time”
Reviewed January 21, 2012

Following a 30 minute bus ride from Amsterdam Centraal Station (find the red buses at the south end of the station. To Zaadam and Zaanse Schans, the bus numbers all end in '91'; we took bus 391 for four euro one way. Buses leave Centraal twice hourly.

Zaanse Schans area is a collection of historic windmills (two oil mills, a mustard mill, a paint mill and two saw mills) and about 35 traditionally green painted houses which were relocated to the area in the 1970s.
The mills date back to the 1600s. There are also small museums and craft shops, most of which were closed when we visited. The original Albert Heijn grocery is here alongside a small pewter shop. Wooden clog factory (watch a demonstration! the craftsmanship is awesome), dutch clock museum, cheese farm, and more to see. Easy to spend a half day strolling and discovering.

The architecture and landscaping is lovely. You feel like you've stepped into a time capsule. Walk out on the polder to the very last windmill, stopping to visit the two mills open to the public for tours on weekdays in winter (small fees charged).
I enjoyed this visit as there weren't many other people visiting at the time so it was very quiet. The entire Zaanse Schans area was a waft of chocolate as you stroll the grounds, due to three cocoa processing facilities in nearby Zaandam city.
Next time I will visit in the warm weather when all of the buildings are open. We visited on a December weekday. The mills are all open only on weekends between Nov and Feb.

1/2 a euro to use the public toilets.
Information center staff very cheerful and knowledgeable.
I happily recommend a visit. GO!

Website: http://www.zaanseschans.nl/

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank kltsparky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Interesting”
Reviewed January 20, 2012

Beautiful, very Dutch area and landscape. See windmills from the inde, watch how wooden clogs are made (actually very interesting I was surprised to find) and a nice walk around the little old Dutch town with, the first Albert Heijn grocery store still in it's old original format (Albert Heijn is now the biggest supermarket chain in Holland).

Helpful?
1 Thank Collin578
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Interesting day out”
Reviewed November 7, 2011

Very pleasant trip out of the centre of Amsterdam to see the Netherlands from a different perspective. Try to go on a fair day to allow you to explore the windmills & many paths aorund the area

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank KM86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zaanse Schans also viewed

Lisse, South Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Zaanse Schans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing