We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,822)
Filter reviews
1,823 results
Traveler rating
974
662
124
36
27
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
974
662
124
36
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstrain stationjunior suitequirky hotelamazing hotelsteam roompool and saunaa bit priceyshopping centrezaanse schansmini barright next doorthe hustle and bustleshops and restaurantsten minuteshigh streetlong weekendtrains run
Filter
Updating list...
1,111 - 1,116 of 1,823 reviews
Reviewed May 25, 2010

Do not be confused. the old golden Tulip in Zaandam is not in use anymore. this is the brand new hotel that has only been in use for 2 motnhs now. Brand new and very modern. Although you can take breakfast in the hotel there is a "Deli France" only 5 steps away at less then 1/2 the price. unlike what is mentioned on certain websites the parkign is not included and is an extra 15 euros a day. Very easy to get to the centre of Amsterdam by train in only 10 Mins. all in all a very pleasant experience.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Slisse_Swinnen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2010

We got bored and booked this hotel on a whim. Online we found a deal for the 'founders suite', which looked good on paper.
When we arrived, the hotel was locate in the middle of a building site. Although that's not their problem, it is a bit annoying. The reception desk staff was very helpful but clearly not in a correct routine yet. We got our room on the top floor of the hotel and when the elevator arrived on the top floor there was a sound as if a chopper was waiting on the roof. When we looked for our room, we had some problems because our room number wasn't there. So we tried our luck with an unmarked door and hurrah, it was ours

The room itself was nice, with a very clean bathroom with sauna and whirlpool. But the room was missing some features. The promised Nespresso machine wasn't there, no writing paper besides a small notepad, no Laundry service, no hotel directory and when we activated the airco in the evening only to find that it was giving some error messages and basically not working. By then i lost the will to complain and just opened some windows :)

The hotel is located very close to the train station from where you can reach Amsterdam central station in a quarter of an hour.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jhamers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2010

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for 8 nights in May in a Superior Queen room.
The hotel is in Zaandam which is two train stops away from Amsterdam Central station (return ticket for 2 people was 9.8 Euro). It’s a bit tricky walking from the station to the hotel. The area around the hotel is being rebuilt with lots of construction going on. From Monday to Friday you can hear hammering from early morning at the next door construction but it’s not too bad. You can’t hear any noise from adjoining rooms. There was supposed to be a safe in the room but was not installed yet.
This hotel is brand new only finished in March 2010 and the room was clean with all the modern fittings that you would need. The bed was a King size, soft and comfortable with only one bedside table (the best we have ever had in any hotel in all our travels) but the lighting was poor especially in the bathroom even though the bathroom was very large. The bathtub was big with a separate shower. The climate control was good.
The staff was helpful and friendly.
The mini bar did not get cold enough and the TV was a flat screen but only had 2 English speaking channels with bad reception. We had good strong complimentary
Wi-Fi connection in our room but breakfast was not included and they wanted 16 Euro (24au approx) per person. Just 2 minutes walk from hotel there is a good supermarket with all we needed, restaurants and many other shops.

In conclusion we were very happy staying here.

See attached pictures

Happy traveling

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travellingman69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2010

My friends and I planned a trip to Amsterdam for Queen’s Day. As many downtown hotels were booked or expensive, we looked for a suburban option. We ended up here.

Overall: Nice new hotel

Location: Great! Across the street from the Zaandam train station. Only 14 minutes from Amsterdam Central and 20 from Schipohl. Downtown Zaandam – six blocks - has enough bars and restaurants to make you feel like you don’t need to be stranded at the hotel.

Style: Coolest looking exterior of a hotel that I’ve seen.

Staff: No complaints

Food: We had the breakfast buffet. Decent selection and quality.

Others: two free internet kiosks.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JClinton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2010

The hotel inside was finished the time we where there... but the surrounding is something else.... there are building projects going on around the whole hotel ( wich isn't that bad due to the fact that is has to be done and when you can close the window it's ok, but then again , we where on 10th floor ).
The pluspoints: very beautifull modern hotel with all facilities you need, modern and clean rooms, breakfast.
Downsides: the personell really is rude at some points, some of them really are not friendly and not fit to either work in the bar or work at the reception.
There where no menu's for food or drinks availble at the bar ( the hotel is already 3 weeks open , i cannot believe this, nowadays there are computers and printers everywhere! )
When we arrived she was unfriendly because we asked for the free parking ( we got that when we made the reservation , that was before they moved to this new location ), we finally got it but it was not given with pleasure.

Breakfast was served on groundfloor in a rather special and unique location .... all you expect in a 4 star hotel was there at breakfast , even some kind of Cava was served!
There is still alot of work that needs to be done before it can be worth the 4 stars!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SidneyV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews