We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Friendly, polite, efficient staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Inntel Hotels Amsterdam Zaandam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Inntel Hotels Amsterdam Zaandam
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Zaandam
Certificate of Excellence
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
216 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Friendly, polite, efficient staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

The Inntel continues to improve, but they really need to focus on detail now to get excellent reviews.
I was able to check in very early (having had a flight from Asia) with no problem. A friendly, polite welcome from reception staff and I was in my room in no time.
Everything went well EXCEPT during the four nights I stayed the soap etc. was only replaced once, and my laiundry took three days to appear - maybe not the hotel's fault but I wish they had chased it up without me asking so many times.

Room Tip: Try to saty away from the station/road side of the hotel and don't sleep just above the waterfal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SouthCerney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monique D, Sales Assistant at Inntel Hotels Amsterdam Zaandam, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Thank you for your time and effort to write this nice review. It’s good to read that you’ve had a pleasant stay in our hotel and that we were able to help you with an early check in.

Your comment concerning the soap has been forwarded to our housekeeping and they will see to it that this will not happen again. Thanks for the tip. With your tips and comments we can bring our service to an even higher level.

We’re looking forward to welcome you back in our hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,


Monique Dijkhuizen
Sales Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    674
    452
    83
    28
    14
See reviews for
143
690
39
134
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

We had a 3 night stay in The Netherlands as a pre-Christmas treat to ourselves and decided to make our last night something a bit special.
Came across this hotel purely by chance when scouting the web for different hotels and was immediately curious. We've done Amsterdam before so didn't mind being a little further out and the proximity to the train station was ideal. (Zaandam is approximately 10 minutes on the train from Amsterdam Centraal.)

We like the more unusual and quirky hotel stays so we booked the very unique Tzar Peter Suite, a few reviews mentioned that this room was a little impractical but the hotel's website and booking process can't really make it any more obvious as to what to expect so personally, I'd totally disagree and encourage you to experience for yourself.

From the moment we got off the train, we felt we were somewhere really special. Zaandam itself is by no means as bustling as Amsterdam but the lack of trams and reduced number of cyclists makes for a welcome break. The train station looks like something straight off the pages of a Noddy book; utterly charming! A less than 2 minute walk from there takes you to the door of the hotel.

Staff were absolutely faultless. Immaculately presented and genuinely friendly. Often, when someone tells you to 'enjoy your stay' it's like listening to a recording, these staff mean it and I think that comes from having pride in theit hotel. Checking-in always gives you an insight into the stay you're going to have, I think and we needn't have worried at all.
Check-in was speedy but very thorough.
A credit card is needed at reception, even if you've paid for your stay upfront.

The hotel is very clean and very quiet and the decor is incredible.
Our suite was certainly quirky and Inttel certainly don't like when they say 'you'll be surprised'. A brilliant room for something just that little bit different.

The bathroom is kitted out with Alessi hardware and a more than generous shower cubicle. Again, very clean and elegant but be prepared for the lack of door! Again, there is enough information about the layout of the room so this ought not come as a total shock.
The bed is 3 steps up off the floor and exceptionally comfortable. Enough pillow height to cater for even the fussiest sleeper and despite the room's proximity to the train station, not a sound can be heard!

Little touches make you adamant you're getting value for money. An illy espresso machine complete with 2 types of different cartridges and of course, a kettle for the more British cup of tea! There's also a well-stocked mini-bar which is clearly priced.
The only thing I would say was that there were no instructions on how to operate the espresso machine! We rectified this with a quick look on google, admittedly, it IS pretty idiot proof but at least we'll know for next time!

The pool on the second floor is the perfect start to a morning or the best thing to unwind of an evening. Open from 6am through to 11pm. Sauna and Turkish Bath also a lovely treat! We spent 2 hours in the pool from about 6:30pm and didn't see another person. Very chilled. The bar is also well-staffed and the food is reasonably prided for the portion sizes you get. Can definitely recommend the Puur Saen burger with fries! A real hunger buster!

Breakfast, if not already booked is 16 Euros per person which I'm sorry to say is something we missed due to a very very good sleep!


As mentioned, Zaandam is small and quiet when compared to Amsterdam but there is enough to suit your needs. A Primark sorted out our lack of swimwear and the Albert Heijm convenience store suffices for any extras you might have forgotten, on the same sort of scale to Tesco Extra or 7Eleven.
If this is too quiet, again, a full day in Amsterdam is more than achieveable by train. I'm pretty certain that trains run right through to midnight. Rail travel is totally painless and made very easy. I'd recommend trying this if only to compare to the service we get in the UK. The Netherlands win hands down.

All-in-all a 10/10 stay. A MUST for any traveller on any budget. Our only regret is that we didn't stay here for the whole 3 nights.

Room Tip: Tzar Peter Suite was right next to train station and no noise pollution at all. Hotel generally very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lucy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monique D, Sales Assistant at Inntel Hotels Amsterdam Zaandam, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Thank you so much for sharing this wonderful and extensive review. We are delighted that you’ve had an excellent stay in our hotel and that you enjoyed the Tzar Peter Suite .The Tsar Peter Suite is without a doubt the most unique suite of the Netherlands!

How nice to read that you’ve appreciated the relaxation of our pool and wellness.

I have passed your great compliment to our team.

We would very much like to give you a surprisingly good welcome back in our hotel.

Kind regards,


Monique Dijkhuizen
Sales Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
685 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 298 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

Such a fairy tale building in the town centre, it's really an eye catcher. The room is clean, free wifi and great breakfast. The hotel staff are very kind and professional. Each room has an retro painting on the wall, especially advertisement of products of Zaandam. The location is perfect, just outside the train station and surrounded by shops, cafes, restaurants and super markets.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Solodam J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monique D, Sales Assistant at Inntel Hotels Amsterdam Zaandam, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear Solodam J,

Thank you so much for posting this nice review on this website. We are truly delighted to read that you've had an enjoyable stay in our hotel. It's good to read that you've appreciated the enlarged pictures on the wall which we selected from the historical city archive of Zaandam. Every room has its own story.

How nice to read that you've noticed the good WiFi connection. We've recently renewed the complete unlimited WiFi network in the entire hotel.

We hope to welcome you back as our guests in the near future.

Kind regards,

Monique Dijkhuizen
Sales Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

We had booked a package deal, out of complete spontaneity. After finding out the hotel name, we had a look at the reviews & did a little bit of research. Found it quite interesting to see what we would end up getting. Well, just WOW!!! Lovely cosy room, we have a view of the main street & people walking from the station to the shopping area. No issues with noise levels at all. Nice simple, clean bathroom. Bed is very warm, but just a little too soft for my personal liking, but still very comfortable, Wifi was accessible & very good. The breakfast buffet was wonderful & delicious, a great idea.
Convenience, being right next door the railway station, just a short train ride into Amsterdam centre, & also just a short walk through shopping area to some restaurants in Zaandam.
Decided to order some room service, menu is a bit limited, but chose the Margarita Pizza. Would have to say that it was one of the best pizzas I have ever eaten, better than I could of expected. Hot, fresh, & tasty.
Have had the most wonderful time staying here & would definately come back to stay.

Room Tip: Room 8-11, has a view of main road & people walking by from station into shopping area, but no i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BronnieJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monique D, Sales Assistant at Inntel Hotels Amsterdam Zaandam, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear BronnyJ,

Thank you very much for sharing your pleasant experience with our hotel on this site. It's very nice to hear that you've had a wonderful stay in our hotel and that you've appreciated our beautiful rooms.

How nice that noticed our good WiFi connection. We have just recently renewed the WiFi connection and we now have an unlimited and very good WiFi connection in the entire hotel.

I have passed your compliment concerning the pizza to to our kitchen staff. They do their utmost best to create a tasteful menu with special and fresh ingredients from our region.

We really appreciate that you would recommend us and we're looking forward to give you a warm welcome back at Inntel Hotels Amsterdam Zaandam.

Kind regards,

Monique Dijkhuizen
Sales Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

I saw this hotel on an architecture site and was thrilled to see it lived up to expectation. The service and room were excellent, and the location for transport could not be better. Given it was right by the railway station, it was remarkably quiet.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monique D, Sales Assistant at Inntel Hotels Amsterdam Zaandam, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear Louise S,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience in this review. We're happy to hear that you've had a pleasant stay in our hotel and that it lived up to your expections.

It's nice to read that you've enjoyed the architecture of our building. It's world famous and we're really proud of it as well.

We hope to give you a warm welcome back at Inntel Hotel Amsterdam Zaandam.

Kind regards,


Monique Dijkhuizen
Sales Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

This hotel is an absolute gem of a find. Don't let the look of it out you off. it is about 12-15 minutes by train from Amsterdam main train station. We have stayed in the central area of Amsterdam before. When we arrived in Zaandam, you could see the hotel from the trainand it was about a 3 minute walk to the hotel. Great when you have baggage. We were upgraded to a "Factory Design" room. It was heaven. Quiet, large, great views, comfortable. The only downside was we did not have long enough for some extra nights. The staff are very accommodating which is a change to some of the other big hotels. The food in the restaurant was outstanding. This hotel was one nice surprise all round. If this is the standard if Inntel hotels, well done.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ross C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monique D, Sales Assistant at Inntel Hotels Amsterdam Zaandam, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear Ross C,

Thank you so much for this wonderful review. We are truly delighted to hear that our hotel surpised you in a positive way. After all, “You’ll be Surprised” is our motto and it’s great to read that you’ve also experienced it this way.

How nice that you have appeciated the Factory Design room and that you have enjoyed the menu in our restaurant Puur Saen. Our chef created a menu of the season with special ingredients from our region.

Thank you for sharing your experience and we would very much love to welcome you back in our hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,

Monique Dijkhuizen
Sales Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

Really loved how close the hotel was to the train station, it was so convenient and easy to access. The exterior of the hotel is so unique and simply incredible! The room itself is quite spacious, beautifully presented, modern comfortable and clean.
I loved the personal touches by the housekeepers such as the signed welcome card with little lollies.
Customer service was lovely to. Nothing to complain about! Would highly recommend. Didn't want to leave!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank S_Blahnik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monique D, Sales Assistant at Inntel Hotels Amsterdam Zaandam, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear S_Blahnik,

Thank you so much for your time and effort to write this wonderful review.
We are delighted to read that you’ve had a pleasant stay in our hotel and that you’ve enjoyed our modern and comfortable rooms. The architecture of our hotel is world famous and unique in its kind.

How nice of you to recommend us to others and we would love to give you a warm welcome back in the near future.

Kind regards,


Monique Dijkhuizen
Sales Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Zaandam
Centrum
Inntel Hotels Amsterdam Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
BEST WESTERN Zaan Inn
#2 of 4 in Zaandam
4.0 of 5 stars 375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inntel Hotels Amsterdam Zaandam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inntel Hotels Amsterdam Zaandam

Property: Inntel Hotels Amsterdam Zaandam
Address: Provincialeweg 102, 1506 MD Zaandam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Zaandam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Zaandam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Inntel Hotels Amsterdam Zaandam 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique and famous. This 4 star hotel with its world renowned look is situated next to the Zaandam train station, where the train will take you to the centre of Amsterdam within 12 minutes. Also, the RAI Congress Centre and Schiphol Airport are easy to reach by train. Inntel Hotels Amsterdam Zaandam has 160 unique hotel rooms, a Wellness Club, free wifi internet and its own Tourist Information Office. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Inntel Hotels Amsterdam Zaandam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inntel Hotels Amsterdam Zaandam North Holland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing