We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Why would anyone take an airport hotel when they can stay here?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Inntel Hotels Amsterdam Zaandam
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Zaandam
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Why would anyone take an airport hotel when they can stay here?”
Reviewed October 13, 2012

First off, it really is as lovely as the pictures -- and from my window, I could admire the train station's equally witty take on regional architecture. Front-desk staff were so helpful: storing my bag when I arrived at 9 am and promising to make a room available as soon as possible; running upstairs with a flashlight and ladder when my efforts at very-early-morning coffee the next day blew a fuse. Light promptly restored -- though one does wonder why they would supply a kettle that overfaced the circuits.

There are some fine-looking restaurants on the pedestrian-oriented Dam a few blocks away, a lot of them running to three-course menus for hearty appetites. The best choice of light supper dishes with a local Dutch touch turned out to be right in the Innhotel's own restaurant. Can't testify to the breakfast as I had to leave for my plane.

The room itself had all the comforts one could wish, including a mini-fridge, safe, Wifi, a good-sized bed (not guaranteed in a European single room), warm duvet, toiletries and generous Grohe fixtures in the shower. Internet in the lobby was a bit slow, but free, and a godsend if you aren't carrying your own laptop.

Train service to and from Schiphol was frequent and took about 20 minutes. A transfer at Sloterdijk is usually, but not always, required. Much better value than an airport hotel, more personal, more Dutch, and in an interesting, walkable town. I'd alternate between here and Haarlem for future stopovers.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FrancesOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
svanderholst, Sales Assistant at Inntel Hotels Amsterdam Zaandam, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear FrancesOttawa,

Thank you very much for your interest in Inntel Hotels Amsterdam Zaandam, your recent stay and ofcourse your positive review on Tripadvisor. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed staying with us.

We hope to welcome you back soon at our hotel in the near future.

With kind regards,

Kelly Dekker
Sales Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,504 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    797
    561
    98
    30
    18
See reviews for
171
823
44
171
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

We have stayed at this hotel in its many guises (its changed owners and buildings a lot in the last 5 years) and for the first time in 5 years it didnt have building works thundering in and around the hotel which is a heck of a relief.
The outside is 'quirky' but quite fun, inside its a standard hotel. Rooms are large and clean. Wifi doesnt seem to extend passed the first floor which is annoying. As is the fact that you cant turn the bedlights out without removing the key card at the door - so if you need the loo in the middle of the night you either have to p in the dark or stick the key card in and wake up the other half :-( . Not funny.
Buffet breakfast (not inc in price) has good selection - but whatever they are adding to the scrambled egg is just plain weird in terms of taste (its in the mushrooms too so what are they trying to hide?). If they left them alone in all their natural glory, it would be 9/10 for brekkie.
Main restaurant hasnt got a huge selection but it does change daily, it is tasty and the staff are reasonably attentive.
Its location is great - which might be counter inituitive. Zaandam itself wont set the world on fire, but the hotel is right by the railway line which has excellent and quick connections for Amsterdaml Schipol, Haarlem, Arnhem - it is a good location to stay if you dont need to be in Amsterdam city in the wee small hours but want to visit it quickly and come away again.
We'll certainly stay there again - especially if they do something about the lights and the wifi!
.

Room Tip: Higher level rooms have a better view and are quieter. Try to get a room at the front of the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank windsorlass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
svanderholst, Sales Assistant at Inntel Hotels Amsterdam Zaandam, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear windsorlass.

Thank you for staying at Inntel Hotels Amsterdam Zaandam and being our guest.
Also I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your positive experience on Tripadvisor.
We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed staying with us.

Looking forward to welcome you back at Inntel Hotels Amsterdam Zaandam in the near future.

With kind regards.

Kelly Dekker
Sales Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

A 2 minute walk to Zaandam train station which is a 10 minute train journey to Amsterdam central station, only about €4 for a return ticket. Hotel very clean, rooms lovely with modern fresh furnishings, swimming pool very pleasant. We had dinner one evening which was beautiful. We didn't have breakfast in the hotel as it was €16 per person and found this was a bit pricey especially as we had a 4 year old, so we went across the road to the delifrance cafe where we had a beautiful breakfast for the whole family for about €15, we would definitely recommend this. Zaandam is a lovely place, lots of shops and restaurants all within walking distance. Beautiful hotel in a beautiful town near beautiful Amsterdam. Can't wait to return...

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Bluedog42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
svanderholst, Sales Assistant at Inntel Hotels Amsterdam Zaandam, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Dear Bluedog42,

Thank you very much for your interest in Inntel Hotels Amsterdam Zaandam, your recent stay and ofcourse your positive review on Tripadvisor. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed staying with us.
We hope to welcome you back soon at our hotel in the near future.

With kind regards,

Kelly Dekker
Sales Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 6 Contributor
586 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 325 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

This hotel has the potential to be great but needs to pay attention to the lousy attitude of the front desk staff. The rooms are excellent, the food is pretty good and the conference rooms are filled with natural light. There's free instant-access wifi in the rooms and the hotel is very conveniently situated close to the railway station. If the reception staff would stop taking phone calls and playing with bits of paper and actually serve the customers, I'd have given at least another point on the rating.

I deplore their determination to take a credit card 'swipe' for the full stay PLUS another 50 euros - especially as we had a corporate booking for 60 rooms pre-guaranteed by the company.

The architecture and the decor suggest a sense of humour that's rarely seen in hotels - it's just a shame the staff are so poor.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Koshkha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
svanderholst, Sales Assistant at Inntel Hotels Amsterdam Zaandam, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear Koshkha,

Thank you for staying at Inntel Hotels Amsterdam Zaandam and being our guest.
Also I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor.

Looking forward to welcome you back at Inntel Hotels Amsterdam Zaandam in the near future.

With kind regards,

Kelly Dekker
Sales Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Den Bosch, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

You either love or hate the look of the exterior of this hotel as it is quite unique and the inside of the hotel is warm and modern. We stayed in a standard room and loved it, although would probably go for a more expensive room next time to avoid the twin beds. The bathroom is very modern and light with a big bath and shower. The room overlooked the busy city center but it was very quiet inside.. There is a small water cooker for instant coffee or tea. The swimming pool and gym are not huge but very nice. The staff is super friendly from the front desk to the cleaning lady and waitress. The only thing to keep in mind is that you cannot park at the hotel, but there is a huge carpark next door in which you can park with a modest hotel discount. This hotel is ideal for people traveling by train..

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexa t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
svanderholst, Sales Assistant at Inntel Hotels Amsterdam Zaandam, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear Alexa t,

Thank you very much for your positive review on Tripadvisor.
We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed staying with us.

Looking forward to welcome you back at Inntel Hotels Amsterdam Zaandam in the near future.

With kind regards,

Kelly Dekker
Sales Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
1 review
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Spent 4 nights with my girlfriend and it was just fabulous!
The reception ladies are very nice and helpfull, all of them!
We asked Soraya who checked us in for a nice room because it was our anniversary and she surprised us with a upgrade to the Founders Junior Suite and free drinks at the bar. Many many thanks!!
We will be back next year!!

Room Tip: Go for the Founders Junior Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yasmin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
svanderholst, Sales Assistant at Inntel Hotels Amsterdam Zaandam, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear Yasmin P,


Thank you very much for taking your time to share your positive experience about your stay at the Inntel Hotels Amsterdam Zaandam on Tripadvisor. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed staying with us. Most of all we are very proud about your comments regarding our staff. It goes without saying that we will share your review with all our staff.

Looking forward to welcome you back at Inntel Hotels Amsterdam Zaandam in the near future.


With kind regards,

Kelly Dekker
Sales Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Stayed 3 nights in September in a "Founders Room". the hotel is modern, clean and the staff are friendly and of course, speak English. The great advantage with this hotel is that it is far cheaper than staying in Amsterdam, especially if you have a car. There is a well lit underground car park next to the hotel. The train station is a 3 minute walk and the trains take about 12 mins to Amsterdam Central and we never waited more the 15 mins for a train, day or night time. The hotel is at the end of the shopping precinct in Zaandam, if you care to walk the 8-10 mins through the shops, hang a right and there are some good restaurants and bars, do not be put off by the lack of English menues, you only have to ask and we found the staff in the restaurants really helpful

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidofWatford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
svanderholst, Sales Assistant at Inntel Hotels Amsterdam Zaandam, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear DavidofWatford,

Thank you very much for your interest in Inntel Hotels Amsterdam Zaandam, your recent stay and ofcourse your positive review on Tripadvisor. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed staying with us.

We hope to welcome you back soon at our hotel in the near future.

With kind regards,

Kelly Dekker
Sales Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Zaandam
Centrum
Inntel Hotels Amsterdam Centre
Best Western Zaan Inn
#2 of 5 in Zaandam
484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inntel Hotels Amsterdam Zaandam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inntel Hotels Amsterdam Zaandam

Property: Inntel Hotels Amsterdam Zaandam
Address: Provincialeweg 102, 1506 MD Zaandam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Zaandam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Zaandam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Inntel Hotels Amsterdam Zaandam 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique and famous. This 4 star hotel with its world renowned look is situated next to the Zaandam train station, where the train will take you to the centre of Amsterdam within 12 minutes. Also, the RAI Congress Centre and Schiphol Airport are easy to reach by train. Inntel Hotels Amsterdam Zaandam has 160 unique hotel rooms, a Wellness Club, free wifi internet and its own Tourist Information Office. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Inntel Hotels Amsterdam Zaandam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inntel Hotels Amsterdam Zaandam North Holland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing