We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Lovely Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Old Dutch

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Old Dutch
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Volendam
Hereford
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A Lovely Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2011

My companion has stayed at this hotel many times and told me it that it was great. I was not disappointed. The staff were friendly and helpful, the public areas clean and full of character. Our room was on the first floor with lovely views over the harbor. It was large with wooden floors and modern furniture, all very comfortable. The bathroom was equally large with a great shower, fluffy towels and immaculate.
The buffet breakfast was standard European fare and dinner in the restaurant was extremely good with large portions, well cooked. I was amazed to read some of the reviews here as I rated this hotel very highly and would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: First floor, overlooking the harbor for a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nothingcomestomind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    54
    19
    9
    6
See reviews for
21
66
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gateshead, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

After a rainy cycle ride of 5 hours we arrived at the Old Dutch looking extremely wet and bedreaggled. Despite our appearance, we received a warm welcome. The man who checked us in also went out of his way to ensure that our bikes were safe and dry in the hotel's basement. When we reached our room we found it to be beeautifully appointed and very clean. The only things missing were tea and coffee making facilities and a hair drier.

We only stayed one night and had a lovely meal in the restaurant where the service was excellent. In the morning the breakfast was continental but with a good choice of meats, breads etc. I would definitley stay heres again. Oh and it has obviously had a revamp since the last posts as the decor (especially in our huge triple room) was clean and modern.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DianeS100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2010

Old Dutch lived up to its name..really old! I stayed on the 1st floor, and when the elevator door opened, I see renovation work ongoing (looks like renovation). The walkway is a bit dark, and looks seedy. The room is big, and you can do a tango in there, but that is about the saving grace. The carpet looks worn and stained (I hope it was only coffee stains). The wood furniture looks a 100 years old, yellowed and cracked. The bed was lumpy and uncomfortable, and I didnt get a good night sleep. So much for trying to get a good rest at a vacation. The most annoying bit is the heater runs on centrally controlled thermostat. If the temperature outside doesnt get cold enough, you will be stuck without heating. If you want accomodation, there are other hotels/B&B which along the same stretch without having to put up with Old Dutch's inadequacies.

This is supposed to be a hotel, but a nearby B&B (which I stayed earlier) had a lot more to offer, and at a lower rate too.

P.S. You need to pay for Wifi at Old Dutch.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vegice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauzerte, France
Level Contributor
78 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2010

We were looking forward to this village in northern Holland as well as the "character" hotel that it was supposed to be. Well it certainly had character, just not what we expected or wanted.

First of all there is no private car-parking, there is a lucky draw on the dockside in front of the hotel, provided you arrive before 8pm when the gates are locked and you can't get in, in which case you park quite a walk away from the hotel.

Then the ground floor area is more like a big pub than a restaurant, with lots of loud people drinking, smoking etc, and the wait staff doubling as check-in staff for the hotel trying to deal with us in between taking meals and drinks out to tables.

The room was large enough but very old, and carpets were filthy with stains. Bathroom was usable but also old and the sink which had split was patched up with duct tape underneath and shower curtain was mouldy.

There was no free wi-fi (had to pay 5euros for an hour) which we expect given the cost of the rooms.

At 96 euros per night it was very expensive by European standards for what you got. We had booked for 3 nights but were so disappointed we left the next day.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank acehadventurers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2008

We stayed at this hotel for four nights and can recommend the hotel.
The room was basic , but clean, the food was good and the staff friendly. My partner and I had a great time and can't wait to go back!

  • Liked — Situation
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank louis04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north yorks
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2008

We stayed 3 nights B&B,The owner was good enough to give us parking within the hotel basement for our motorbike. The staff were friendly& helpful. Our room was very comfortable & was well maintained by the cleaning staff throughout our stay. The restaurant wasexcellent & the hotel was always busy-which is a good sign of value for money. We would recommend this Hotel not only for value but also for it's location in the centre of the main street overlooking the harbour,it is far enough away from the tourist bars etc that you can sit outside & enjoy a quiet drink & watch the world go by.The pace of life being relaxed,which is a must for an enjoyable holiday.

  • Liked — Comfortably large rooms
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NorthYorksLizziebeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hendaya
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2008

In the bathroom one of the lights was not working and the wash-basin was torn(broken).
The personnel of receipt was not very agreeable.
Much that to improve if they want to have a relation suitable quality - price.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — State of the facilities and the treament of the staff
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Malenia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Volendam
0.2 mi away
Hotel Spaander
Hotel Spaander
#1 of 4 in Volendam
3.5 of 5 stars 367 reviews
0.5 mi away
Marinapark Volendam
Marinapark Volendam
#3 of 4 in Volendam
3.5 of 5 stars 155 reviews
1.7 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel Volendam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Restaurant van den Hogen
2.7 mi away
Hof van Marken
Hof van Marken
#1 of 1 in Marken
4.0 of 5 stars 68 reviews
2.8 mi away
Suitehotel Restaurant Posthoorn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Old Dutch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Old Dutch

Property: Hotel Old Dutch
Address: Haven 142, 1131 EW Volendam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Volendam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Volendam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Old Dutch 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a few minutes away from Amsterdam You will find Hotel Old Dutch / Restaurant Le Pompadour facing the world Famous Volendam harbour. At the Old Dutch traditional hospitality and comfort come together with a first-class view of the former Zuyderzee. With its 33 spacious, well-furnished rooms (for 1-, 2- or 3 persons) our hotel can accommodate various groups of holidaymakers. Small-scaled personal service will guarantee a pleasant stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Odigeo and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Old Dutch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Dutch Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing