We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“A nice place to stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Spaander

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Spaander
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Volendam
Incline Village, Nevada
Level Contributor
219 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“A nice place to stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2014

This hotel is an older building and it takes an extra effort to keep it nice. They do a pretty good job of that. We were given the infamous room 116 on our first night. They were full-up that night and we got the looser room. It was noisy over the kitchen and that night they had a big party for a banquet and reception. We were switched to the nice four person suite the next two nights and it was great and quiet (room 231). All rooms are nice and clean. Rates are reasonable. It is a solid 3 star stay. I get frustrated all the time in Europe with star inflation. This hotel lacks high end comfort bedding, toiletries and shampoos, luxury towels, large tv's, upscale lighting, free coffee, and large bathrooms that characterize a 4* hotel. But it is clean, comfy and safe. The parking is good and close. The dining room is excellent and the service superb. The desk staff is friendly, multi-lingual and efficient. I will definitely stay again as long as I do not get room 116.

Room Tip: Any room but 116
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank airmike943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    157
    79
    28
    23
See reviews for
70
185
13
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Spangdahlem, Germany
Level Contributor
71 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2014

My husband and I have stayed here twice now and I would definitely recommend. We like this hotel because of the location on the water and easy access to Amsterdam by bus. Both times we stayed in different style rooms. Both rooms were clean and comfortable. Staff is friendly and helpful. The restaurant is slightly expensive but we find that all food in the Netherlands tends to cost more than home. The only drawback is when driving to the hotel the access dike is only open for a short period of time so you have to plan perfect timing for parking... make sure to ask for the schedule and directions when booking.

Room Tip: Ask about access/schedule for Hotel Parking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mmee01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2014 via mobile

Stayed over Easter as part of a tour group. Room was satisfactory, but little clothes storage space. Bathroom had swing saloon doors, no question of maintaining privacy if needed! Shower very small, nowhere to put soap, shampoo etc except on the floor. Great risk of flooding the bathroom floor, due to shower head swinging round and being positioned 7' high.

Food good, but service incredibly slow. Dinner took 2 hours plus, and vegetables appeared at sporadic intervals.

Good position overlooking the Ijmeer, but access by coach a nightmare for the driver and could take 20 minutes.

A lot is made of the pictures on the walls. If your taste is images of elderly Dutch peasants, so be it, but in our view overrated.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank waihi79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wicklow
Level Contributor
68 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2014

Spent 2 nights on a recent business trip to Volendam. A really beautiful location overlooking the lake. The hotel is decorated in lovely warm and traditonal style. You do feel you are taking a step back in time. The staff are excellent and also wear traditional dress! It is clean and very well kept. Rooms are small but very adequate. Watch out for the fabulous paintings all over the hotel! Great location!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chiefernan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2014 via mobile

This was a nice hotel with a nice view. The breakfast buffet was extensive and items changed each day. Only issue I had was with internet access. The Wi-Fi is free, but terribly slow and almost non existent in the rooms. They have a computer in the lobby that I assumed was free to use, but the computer (running windows XP in 2014 sheesh) wanted 5 euros per hour of use. The front desk staff was all very nice and helpful, one working in the evening even helped me with booking my next hotel in Germany. The kitchen/wait staff was efficient but not as friendly.

I think this hotel mostly caters to an older (senior) crowd, but maybe that's just because of the time of year... Either way, it was quiet and comfortable.

I would stay here again

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank grneggs_ham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014

The hotel was clean and the staff friendly, however if the term balcony ever meant anything to you it was certainly not as we expected or the view from it, the balcony was 2ft x 2ft and overlooking the door or the kitchen where understandably the staff go to relax cannot see where to attach picture. The other thing is if you are ever presented with room 116 and you are a light to moderate sleeper, then please refuse as the noise between 0210 and 0330 is quite loud. I understand that cleaning has to take place, but as the room is in the position it is in, all sounds, like water, sweeping and moving furniture is amplified.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Louise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Level Contributor
142 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

Right in the heart of the tourist center of Volendam. Really cute little hotel. Lots of charm and character. Breakfast is great, although a tad expensive. Rooms are a bit dated, but relatively comfortable and the balcony we had was cool, had a nice cup of tea before bed. Very relaxing. Walls are a bit thin though, heard a crying baby next to us, thankfully it did not disrupt our sleep, we were so worried. Great location too, close to all the shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Volendam
0.2 mi away
Hotel Old Dutch
Hotel Old Dutch
#2 of 4 in Volendam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
1.9 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel Volendam
0.7 mi away
Marinapark Volendam
Marinapark Volendam
#3 of 4 in Volendam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Restaurant van den Hogen
3.6 mi away
Hampshire Golfhotel - Waterland
3.0 mi away
Suitehotel Restaurant Posthoorn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Spaander? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Spaander

Property: Hotel Spaander
Address: Haven 15-19, 1131 EP Volendam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Volendam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Volendam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Spaander 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Spaander reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Spaander
Best Western Volendam
Volendam Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing