We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Spaander

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Spaander
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Volendam
Bucharest
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Charming hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Definitely it is not the place for just a single night.
You have to spend more nights and days at Spaander to fully enjoy the charm of it. It is Holland spirit and soul, welcoming and cosy venue full of color and character. If you plan an overnight break do not choose this hotel, you will be disappointed as you will not have the time to get in the mood. But, if you plan a romantic escape over few days, it is the right place....tough, do it during summer, otherwise it can get chilly....and you will spend much time in the friendly bar to warm up.

Room Tip: Beware of the thin walls between some rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vladosan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    143
    72
    24
    22
See reviews for
68
160
13
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

I expect this hotel would rate as good in another setting but it cannot transcend its situation. Volendam is a slightly odd - a loud, brash seafront of 10 or so bars and restaurants, populated by masses of aggressive young drunks. I guess a stag do would work here but not the best place for a family to visit.

The facilities in the hotel were good as was the service. A fairly ordinary best western.

Parking difficult and hard to locate. Will not return.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utah
Level Contributor
63 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

We were a last minute check in and ended up getting a great rate. This is an old building that has a lot of character and is fun to be in and look around. The only down side was that there were a lot of stairs to climb because there was no elevator. They also included a breakfast with our room and the selection was fantastic. I would easily recommend this location.

Room Tip: if you have a lot of luggage make sure you as for one of the rooms using the elevator access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DLive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George Town, Malaysia
Level Contributor
115 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Disappointed that for a 5star rated hitek the bedroom floor is not heated! Its freezing cold n no bedrm slippers supplied. For supposedly €100 a nite it is a big disappointment.
However luckily the reception girl is very friendly n polite n very informative.

The room is small with a unique bathtub. - a sitting tub.

Not too bad if you willing to spend €100 n get cold flooring.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peterpatterpot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

Hotel right in the middle of a very touristy parade of shops....weird, to say the least! Bit like going to Southend, but without the amusements, just a never-ending parade of tacky souvenirs and photos taken in Dutch costume. Once inside the uninspiring building, we had to negotiate round tables with diners to the reception area, which was to the rear of the hotel. Customer service was friendly & welcoming, and we got to our room (206) with great excitement, only to find our view was a bright green wall and a smell which told us we were overlooking the kitchens!! Not happy with the situation as we had paid in advance for a week's stay, we headed back to reception to see what could be done. We were told that for an extra 20 euros pppn, we could have a room overlooking the sea. As the receptionist could see we were not impressed with this idea, the rate reduced to 10 euros pppn. Still not impressed. In the end, given a room (304) at no extra charge, not ideal as were then looking over the hotels rooftops, but at least we didnt have the waft of chip fat. Our room was not cleaned on the 1st day,as the change of room foxed the cleaningstaff completely, but it was ok after that,apart from the odd toiletry not being replaced. Would we reccommend it? If you have a sense of humour and the patience of a saint, then yes.

Room Tip: choose a sea view to avoid noise and kitchen smells
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lindsay H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

We stayed here for two nights in July. We were in a triple room, three separate beds with no option to push them together since they were in wooden boxes and they were all very uncomfortable. We were in room number three, which I do not recommend. It was very stuffy and hot with only one small fan. The hotel book advises to keep the windows closed unless you have a screen, of which we did not. So, with the windows all closed and one fan, the heat was unbearable. The room is right over the restraunt and faces the busy street, due to this we were woken up very early by the staff and delivery trucks. The bathroom is very small and there is no bar fridge.
On a positive note, the staff are very helpful and breakfast is good if you get it included in the room rate. If not, it is probably not worth the price.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank travelbug7457
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, England
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

Stayed here for two nights in June 2012, and, frankly, it was a mistake from start to finish. The hotel possibly has a marvellous past history, but, no longer. It's trading on its past glories, which would be fine if the fittings were all antiques, but they're not, it's become a mish-mash of styles and fittings. The room we had, 117, was very small, and with a minuscule bathroom with poorly laid-out fittings - my wife is 5' 4 1/2" and she couldn't see herself in the mirror, because the mirror had been installed by a member of the Dutch basketball team!

The restaurant served food popular in the 1970s - heavy sauces and fried accompaniments with everything. We didn't like it, probably, elderly Dutch folk do!

The hotel's business is now coach tours, day-trippers and small conferences. Fine, but, therefore, if you want to stay in the centre of Volendam, definitely don't pay anything anywhere near the rack rate - you'll be done if you do.

Room Tip: Don't book in in the first place
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mel_the_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Volendam
1.9 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel Volendam
0.7 mi away
Marinapark Volendam
Marinapark Volendam
#3 of 4 in Volendam
3.5 of 5 stars 150 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Old Dutch
Hotel Old Dutch
#2 of 4 in Volendam
4.0 of 5 stars 127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Restaurant van den Hogen
3.0 mi away
Suitehotel Restaurant Posthoorn
3.6 mi away
Hampshire Golfhotel - Waterland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Spaander? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Spaander

Property: Hotel Spaander
Address: Haven 15-19, 1131 EP Volendam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Volendam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Volendam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Spaander 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Spaander reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Spaander
Best Western Volendam
Volendam Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing