We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“summer holiday”
Review of Hotel Spaander

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Spaander
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Volendam
Reviewed July 28, 2012

Hotel right in the middle of a very touristy parade of shops....weird, to say the least! Bit like going to Southend, but without the amusements, just a never-ending parade of tacky souvenirs and photos taken in Dutch costume. Once inside the uninspiring building, we had to negotiate round tables with diners to the reception area, which was to the rear of the hotel. Customer service was friendly & welcoming, and we got to our room (206) with great excitement, only to find our view was a bright green wall and a smell which told us we were overlooking the kitchens!! Not happy with the situation as we had paid in advance for a week's stay, we headed back to reception to see what could be done. We were told that for an extra 20 euros pppn, we could have a room overlooking the sea. As the receptionist could see we were not impressed with this idea, the rate reduced to 10 euros pppn. Still not impressed. In the end, given a room (304) at no extra charge, not ideal as were then looking over the hotels rooftops, but at least we didnt have the waft of chip fat. Our room was not cleaned on the 1st day,as the change of room foxed the cleaningstaff completely, but it was ok after that,apart from the odd toiletry not being replaced. Would we reccommend it? If you have a sense of humour and the patience of a saint, then yes.

Room Tip: choose a sea view to avoid noise and kitchen smells
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lindsay H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (465)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Spaander
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

102 - 108 of 465 reviews

Reviewed July 6, 2012

We stayed here for two nights in July. We were in a triple room, three separate beds with no option to push them together since they were in wooden boxes and they were all very uncomfortable. We were in room number three, which I do not recommend. It was very stuffy and hot with only one small fan. The hotel book advises to keep the windows closed unless you have a screen, of which we did not. So, with the windows all closed and one fan, the heat was unbearable. The room is right over the restraunt and faces the busy street, due to this we were woken up very early by the staff and delivery trucks. The bathroom is very small and there is no bar fridge.
On a positive note, the staff are very helpful and breakfast is good if you get it included in the room rate. If not, it is probably not worth the price.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
3  Thank travelbug7457
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2012

Stayed here for two nights in June 2012, and, frankly, it was a mistake from start to finish. The hotel possibly has a marvellous past history, but, no longer. It's trading on its past glories, which would be fine if the fittings were all antiques, but they're not, it's become a mish-mash of styles and fittings. The room we had, 117, was very small, and with a minuscule bathroom with poorly laid-out fittings - my wife is 5' 4 1/2" and she couldn't see herself in the mirror, because the mirror had been installed by a member of the Dutch basketball team!

The restaurant served food popular in the 1970s - heavy sauces and fried accompaniments with everything. We didn't like it, probably, elderly Dutch folk do!

The hotel's business is now coach tours, day-trippers and small conferences. Fine, but, therefore, if you want to stay in the centre of Volendam, definitely don't pay anything anywhere near the rack rate - you'll be done if you do.

Room Tip: Don't book in in the first place
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mel_the_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2012

It is located in a very nice place, just in front of the sea, in a pedestrian zone, rich of shops and restaurants. You can easily go in Amsterdam by public transport. The staff is kind and the reception and the publics area are very cosy. It also has a very nice swimming pool and three different kinds of sauna. The rooms are spacious and typical sea-style furnished. I suggest this place also because it is really close to a no traffic zone along the sea ideal for running.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Giovanni R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 29, 2012

We didn't stay at this hotel in Volendam, but we were advised to come here for dinner to its lovely restaurant. The walls are covered with painting, drafts and sketches of fishermen's life starting from 19th century and all this art is worth to be seen! Very nice to have an eat in such an interesting atmosphere. The restaurant has good service and simple, but true delicious food, not expensive. Recommend to come here for the uncommon experience.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank nastish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2012

We arrived just after 21 h, and the kitchen was already closed. The staff could not help us, and in Volendam after 21 h it was very hard to find something to eat.
The hotel is oldfasioned. Nice for tourists, but not for business man an a trip.
Difficult to reach do to works on the road. Dangers to drive in the dark near the sea.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank visitors112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2011

Fantastic hotel in the perfect location for Volendam, Marken and Edam. The Staff were excellent and the facilities were ideal. Hired bikes from the hotel for a short 28km ride on the safe cycle routes and we are looking forward to returning. Brasserie Cathrien was right on the money for food and service.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank flagon12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Volendam
1.9 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel Volendam
0.7 mi away
Marinapark Volendam
Marinapark Volendam
#2 of 4 in Volendam
203 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Old Dutch
Hotel Old Dutch
#3 of 4 in Volendam
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel van den Hogen
Hotel van den Hogen
#4 of 4 in Volendam
24 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hampshire Golfhotel - Waterland
5.7 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel Purmerend
Van der Valk Hotel Purmerend
#1 of 2 in Zuidoostbeemster
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Spaander? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Spaander

Address: Haven 15-19, 1131 EP Volendam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Volendam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Volendam
Price Range: $72 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Spaander 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Spaander reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Spaander
Best Western Volendam
Volendam Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing