We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Hot, stuffy and loud.” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Spaander

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Spaander
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Volendam
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Hot, stuffy and loud.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2012

We stayed here for two nights in July. We were in a triple room, three separate beds with no option to push them together since they were in wooden boxes and they were all very uncomfortable. We were in room number three, which I do not recommend. It was very stuffy and hot with only one small fan. The hotel book advises to keep the windows closed unless you have a screen, of which we did not. So, with the windows all closed and one fan, the heat was unbearable. The room is right over the restraunt and faces the busy street, due to this we were woken up very early by the staff and delivery trucks. The bathroom is very small and there is no bar fridge.
On a positive note, the staff are very helpful and breakfast is good if you get it included in the room rate. If not, it is probably not worth the price.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank travelbug7457
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    157
    79
    28
    23
See reviews for
70
185
13
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, England
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2012

Stayed here for two nights in June 2012, and, frankly, it was a mistake from start to finish. The hotel possibly has a marvellous past history, but, no longer. It's trading on its past glories, which would be fine if the fittings were all antiques, but they're not, it's become a mish-mash of styles and fittings. The room we had, 117, was very small, and with a minuscule bathroom with poorly laid-out fittings - my wife is 5' 4 1/2" and she couldn't see herself in the mirror, because the mirror had been installed by a member of the Dutch basketball team!

The restaurant served food popular in the 1970s - heavy sauces and fried accompaniments with everything. We didn't like it, probably, elderly Dutch folk do!

The hotel's business is now coach tours, day-trippers and small conferences. Fine, but, therefore, if you want to stay in the centre of Volendam, definitely don't pay anything anywhere near the rack rate - you'll be done if you do.

Room Tip: Don't book in in the first place
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mel_the_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modena
Level Contributor
33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2012

It is located in a very nice place, just in front of the sea, in a pedestrian zone, rich of shops and restaurants. You can easily go in Amsterdam by public transport. The staff is kind and the reception and the publics area are very cosy. It also has a very nice swimming pool and three different kinds of sauna. The rooms are spacious and typical sea-style furnished. I suggest this place also because it is really close to a no traffic zone along the sea ideal for running.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Giovanni R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 29, 2012

We didn't stay at this hotel in Volendam, but we were advised to come here for dinner to its lovely restaurant. The walls are covered with painting, drafts and sketches of fishermen's life starting from 19th century and all this art is worth to be seen! Very nice to have an eat in such an interesting atmosphere. The restaurant has good service and simple, but true delicious food, not expensive. Recommend to come here for the uncommon experience.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nastish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sint Genesius Rode
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2012

We arrived just after 21 h, and the kitchen was already closed. The staff could not help us, and in Volendam after 21 h it was very hard to find something to eat.
The hotel is oldfasioned. Nice for tourists, but not for business man an a trip.
Difficult to reach do to works on the road. Dangers to drive in the dark near the sea.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank visitors112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fakenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2011

Fantastic hotel in the perfect location for Volendam, Marken and Edam. The Staff were excellent and the facilities were ideal. Hired bikes from the hotel for a short 28km ride on the safe cycle routes and we are looking forward to returning. Brasserie Cathrien was right on the money for food and service.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank flagon12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powell River, Canada
Level Contributor
64 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2011

This was a nice hotel for an escape and a break. Volendam is a fishing village converted to a tourist area. Getting to the hotel by car was a headache, posts are put up on the street blocking traffic on the GPS routes and it took a few requests for directions to find a circuitous route to the hotel. If going by car make sure to phone ahead and ask for directions!
The location is right on the lake and our room windows faced the lake over the hotel parking lot. Parking was free but limited, although this wasn't a problem for us.
Our first assigned room had poor wireless internet connections but the front desk was very accommodating in getting us a room closer to the end of the building where the wireless transmitter was located.
The hotel is right in the middle of all the tourist shops and right by the harbour. We didn't pay extra for breakfast but it looked very good.
The building itself is quite unique, very old style with twists and turns. You have to pass through the bar/ lunch room area to get to the elevator and stairs. The rooms are older (in keeping with the decor) and the furnishings and decorations older as well. The whole hotel's decor is very Dutch and cluttered with lots of amazing pictures and nicnacs.
There's a great seawall walk of about 2km to Edam (of cheese fame). It's a great area for bike riding and hiking through the Dutch countryside.

Room Tip: Get a seaview with balcony closer to the end.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank smalltowncanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Volendam
0.2 mi away
Hotel Old Dutch
Hotel Old Dutch
#2 of 4 in Volendam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
1.9 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel Volendam
0.7 mi away
Marinapark Volendam
Marinapark Volendam
#3 of 4 in Volendam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Restaurant van den Hogen
3.6 mi away
Hampshire Golfhotel - Waterland
3.0 mi away
Suitehotel Restaurant Posthoorn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Spaander? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Spaander

Property: Hotel Spaander
Address: Haven 15-19, 1131 EP Volendam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Volendam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Volendam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Spaander 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Spaander reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Spaander
Best Western Volendam
Volendam Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing