We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Greatly in need of a refurbishment” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Spaander

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Spaander
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Volendam
Northampton, England
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Greatly in need of a refurbishment”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

Stayed here for two nights in June 2012, and, frankly, it was a mistake from start to finish. The hotel possibly has a marvellous past history, but, no longer. It's trading on its past glories, which would be fine if the fittings were all antiques, but they're not, it's become a mish-mash of styles and fittings. The room we had, 117, was very small, and with a minuscule bathroom with poorly laid-out fittings - my wife is 5' 4 1/2" and she couldn't see herself in the mirror, because the mirror had been installed by a member of the Dutch basketball team!

The restaurant served food popular in the 1970s - heavy sauces and fried accompaniments with everything. We didn't like it, probably, elderly Dutch folk do!

The hotel's business is now coach tours, day-trippers and small conferences. Fine, but, therefore, if you want to stay in the centre of Volendam, definitely don't pay anything anywhere near the rack rate - you'll be done if you do.

Room Tip: Don't book in in the first place
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mel_the_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    137
    67
    22
    21
See reviews for
66
152
13
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Modena
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

It is located in a very nice place, just in front of the sea, in a pedestrian zone, rich of shops and restaurants. You can easily go in Amsterdam by public transport. The staff is kind and the reception and the publics area are very cosy. It also has a very nice swimming pool and three different kinds of sauna. The rooms are spacious and typical sea-style furnished. I suggest this place also because it is really close to a no traffic zone along the sea ideal for running.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Giovanni R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

We didn't stay at this hotel in Volendam, but we were advised to come here for dinner to its lovely restaurant. The walls are covered with painting, drafts and sketches of fishermen's life starting from 19th century and all this art is worth to be seen! Very nice to have an eat in such an interesting atmosphere. The restaurant has good service and simple, but true delicious food, not expensive. Recommend to come here for the uncommon experience.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nastish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sint Genesius Rode
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

We arrived just after 21 h, and the kitchen was already closed. The staff could not help us, and in Volendam after 21 h it was very hard to find something to eat.
The hotel is oldfasioned. Nice for tourists, but not for business man an a trip.
Difficult to reach do to works on the road. Dangers to drive in the dark near the sea.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank visitors112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fakenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2011

Fantastic hotel in the perfect location for Volendam, Marken and Edam. The Staff were excellent and the facilities were ideal. Hired bikes from the hotel for a short 28km ride on the safe cycle routes and we are looking forward to returning. Brasserie Cathrien was right on the money for food and service.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank flagon12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powell River, Canada
Level Contributor
64 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

This was a nice hotel for an escape and a break. Volendam is a fishing village converted to a tourist area. Getting to the hotel by car was a headache, posts are put up on the street blocking traffic on the GPS routes and it took a few requests for directions to find a circuitous route to the hotel. If going by car make sure to phone ahead and ask for directions!
The location is right on the lake and our room windows faced the lake over the hotel parking lot. Parking was free but limited, although this wasn't a problem for us.
Our first assigned room had poor wireless internet connections but the front desk was very accommodating in getting us a room closer to the end of the building where the wireless transmitter was located.
The hotel is right in the middle of all the tourist shops and right by the harbour. We didn't pay extra for breakfast but it looked very good.
The building itself is quite unique, very old style with twists and turns. You have to pass through the bar/ lunch room area to get to the elevator and stairs. The rooms are older (in keeping with the decor) and the furnishings and decorations older as well. The whole hotel's decor is very Dutch and cluttered with lots of amazing pictures and nicnacs.
There's a great seawall walk of about 2km to Edam (of cheese fame). It's a great area for bike riding and hiking through the Dutch countryside.

Room Tip: Get a seaview with balcony closer to the end.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank smalltowncanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Treviso, Italy
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2011

Hi, I was there last week and it is a very quiet and nice place not only for those who travel for business, such as me, but also and especially for those who travel for leasure. Nice position, nice eating and woderful rooms full of typical paitings. Outside there are many good restaurants and shops. If you plan a small and quiet holiday in Holland, please have a look at Volendam...you won't regret!:-)

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vale_020284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Volendam
1.9 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel Volendam
0.2 mi away
Hotel Old Dutch
Hotel Old Dutch
#2 of 4 in Volendam
4.0 of 5 stars 117 reviews
0.7 mi away
Marinapark Volendam
Marinapark Volendam
#3 of 4 in Volendam
3.5 of 5 stars 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Restaurant van den Hogen
3.6 mi away
Hampshire Golfhotel - Waterland
3.0 mi away
Suitehotel Restaurant Posthoorn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Spaander? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Spaander

Property: Hotel Spaander
Address: Haven 15-19, NL-1131EP Volendam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Volendam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Volendam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Spaander 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Hotel Spaander reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Spaander
Best Western Volendam
Volendam Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing