We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place and very good spa area”
Review of Hotel Spaander

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Spaander
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Volendam
Reviewed May 13, 2012

It is located in a very nice place, just in front of the sea, in a pedestrian zone, rich of shops and restaurants. You can easily go in Amsterdam by public transport. The staff is kind and the reception and the publics area are very cosy. It also has a very nice swimming pool and three different kinds of sauna. The rooms are spacious and typical sea-style furnished. I suggest this place also because it is really close to a no traffic zone along the sea ideal for running.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Giovanni R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (467)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Spaander
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

105 - 111 of 467 reviews

Reviewed February 29, 2012

We didn't stay at this hotel in Volendam, but we were advised to come here for dinner to its lovely restaurant. The walls are covered with painting, drafts and sketches of fishermen's life starting from 19th century and all this art is worth to be seen! Very nice to have an eat in such an interesting atmosphere. The restaurant has good service and simple, but true delicious food, not expensive. Recommend to come here for the uncommon experience.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank nastish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2012

We arrived just after 21 h, and the kitchen was already closed. The staff could not help us, and in Volendam after 21 h it was very hard to find something to eat.
The hotel is oldfasioned. Nice for tourists, but not for business man an a trip.
Difficult to reach do to works on the road. Dangers to drive in the dark near the sea.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank visitors112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2011

Fantastic hotel in the perfect location for Volendam, Marken and Edam. The Staff were excellent and the facilities were ideal. Hired bikes from the hotel for a short 28km ride on the safe cycle routes and we are looking forward to returning. Brasserie Cathrien was right on the money for food and service.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank flagon12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

This was a nice hotel for an escape and a break. Volendam is a fishing village converted to a tourist area. Getting to the hotel by car was a headache, posts are put up on the street blocking traffic on the GPS routes and it took a few requests for directions to find a circuitous route to the hotel. If going by car make sure to phone ahead and ask for directions!
The location is right on the lake and our room windows faced the lake over the hotel parking lot. Parking was free but limited, although this wasn't a problem for us.
Our first assigned room had poor wireless internet connections but the front desk was very accommodating in getting us a room closer to the end of the building where the wireless transmitter was located.
The hotel is right in the middle of all the tourist shops and right by the harbour. We didn't pay extra for breakfast but it looked very good.
The building itself is quite unique, very old style with twists and turns. You have to pass through the bar/ lunch room area to get to the elevator and stairs. The rooms are older (in keeping with the decor) and the furnishings and decorations older as well. The whole hotel's decor is very Dutch and cluttered with lots of amazing pictures and nicnacs.
There's a great seawall walk of about 2km to Edam (of cheese fame). It's a great area for bike riding and hiking through the Dutch countryside.

Room Tip: Get a seaview with balcony closer to the end.
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank smalltowncanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2011

Hi, I was there last week and it is a very quiet and nice place not only for those who travel for business, such as me, but also and especially for those who travel for leasure. Nice position, nice eating and woderful rooms full of typical paitings. Outside there are many good restaurants and shops. If you plan a small and quiet holiday in Holland, please have a look at Volendam...you won't regret!:-)

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vale_020284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2010

I loved this hotel, and I loved Volendam. It was the highlight of our trip. The decor of the hotel simply swept me in. We were initially planning to stay in Amsterdam, but when we got there we discovered that Volendam is not part of the city but another town itself! Our first thoughts were to switch and move back to the city center, but when we got there, whoa! Volendam is what a local traveller's dreams are made up of. Though it initially seemed like we were making a mistake by not staying in the city center, if I were to recommend Amsterdam to someone I would tell them to live in Volendam and travel to Amsterdam instead! There is an excellent frequency of buses from Amsterdam to Volendam and back (116, 110, 118) and the countryside road between the two cities is breathtaking. It's a lovely little fishing village, and full of local history. This hotel is at the heart of that local history -- with over a thousand paintings of fishermen from back in time, and made in an arty, classy way. The bathroom could have been a bit bigger, but it was not so bad. Didn't get a chance to eat in the restaurant or have the breakfast, but it looked like a nice place to sit in. Sadly, our room didn't have the view of the harbour, but the next time I'm going to go to the hotel (which I most certainly will!), I'm going to insist that we do!

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beat_reporter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Volendam
1.9 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel Volendam
0.7 mi away
Marinapark Volendam
Marinapark Volendam
#2 of 4 in Volendam
204 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Old Dutch
Hotel Old Dutch
#3 of 4 in Volendam
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel van den Hogen
Hotel van den Hogen
#4 of 4 in Volendam
24 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hampshire Golfhotel - Waterland
5.7 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel Purmerend
Van der Valk Hotel Purmerend
#1 of 2 in Zuidoostbeemster
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Spaander? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Spaander

Address: Haven 15-19, 1131 EP Volendam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Volendam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Volendam
Price Range: $71 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Spaander 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Spaander reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Spaander
Best Western Volendam
Volendam Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing