We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Character hotel in Marken on the Dutch "heritage trail"” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hof van Marken

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hof van Marken
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Buurt II nr. 15, 1156 BC Marken, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Marken
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Character hotel in Marken on the Dutch "heritage trail"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

We stopped off here for one night on our way back to England from Sweden. It was near friends who live in Monnikendam - a delightful medieval "city" north of Amsterdam. Marken is an old farming/fishing village which was once an island in the Ijsselmeer but which is now joined to the mainland by a man-made isthmus. The older houses in the area are very close together and have wooden top floors with brick bases to withstand the frequent flooding when this was all part of the Zuiderzee. The hotel is more a restaurant and bar with rooms. But the few rooms they have are full of character and, as far as I know all en-suite. TV with international channels. Excellent views.
We dined with friends but breakfast here (charged extra) was served to order and was just perfect.

Room Tip: Ask for a top floor room - but beware if this sort of thing is a problem - the stairs are VERY steep
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DuncanMcAd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    27
    7
    2
    5
See reviews for
10
37
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
107 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

The Hof is on the lovely island of Marken, which becomes a lot lovelier in the evening when the coach parties disappear, but even during the day, there are great walks and cycle rides that quickly take you away from the crowds. We had a lovely room at the top of the main building with views to the lake on 3 sides. You need to be a bit nimble on your feet as the stairs are very steep. Dinners are not cheap (c€37 a head), but they are delicious. The Azul Spanish red wine is good value at €24. The staff are friendly and helpful. Only small downside, the breakfasts (at €15 a head) are always bread, croissant, cheese, ham, egg, fruit salad and tea or coffee (very good coffee). Bit of variety would be nice.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank happywanderer063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Level Contributor
121 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

We drove through the area and decided to have dinner in Marken. We came in a little late, but kitchen was still open. We came into a full of ambiance filled dining room and were offered the 3-course dinner for 36 EUR. p.p. Very good and reasonable priced. Recommendable.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JmK4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2011

We just loved our stay in the Hof van Marken. The hotel is nicely located in this old Dutch town close to Amsterdam. We stayed in a cosy room (the suite) and we enjoyed great views of the lake / sea and the meadows. The owners did their best to make our stay feel like a holiday. We would highly recommend the restaurant as well. The chef is keen on using products from local fisherman and farmers. We did not know how he did it, but the combination between the food and the wines was excellent.

Room Tip: The suites have great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TanjaAmsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
63 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

Yes we did enjoy our stay here at the Hof van Marken as the only hotel (and accomodation) I believe in Marken. If you are a tourist then you expect the place to be touristy and it is (blatantly). Overall we would have to give this hotel positive ratings but also share our experience. OK I come here because I work in the area but bring my wife along for company but still expect to be treated like real guests at a hotel. There are MANY bad hotels in the Amsterdam area (I've been to a few) and this is a GOOD hotel.
Quite charming and unique, we had the Suite which I believe is the best room in the hotel as it is the most expensive (no hotels are cheap in this area) - wonderful views in two directions as the room spreads around a corner. Also the bathroom is a good size with bath and shower combined. Very clean room. Described as a suite but really a reasonably sizeed double room with a two seater sofa. No additional facilities. Only on the second day where we offered a kettle for tea by the very lovely lady staff member. Not all staff (including owners) SEEMED too friendly or helpful, I emphasise SEEMED as this is the way they came across, if they meant to be friendly and helpful then that did not come across. (No offer of refreshment on arrival late evening when the bar and restaurant was closed (this is a hotel) or for an early breakfast before 8am).Actually this is also true for the whole resort, we met as many who were unfriendly as friendly - perhaps they are only human and get sick of English speaking tourists! Beware of the stairs - they are steep and narrow and if you have any form of disability then this is not the place for you.
The breakfast was OK, no choice offered and expensive at 15EUR compared to other hotels.
There are claims that this is the best place to eat in town, probably true but nothing special. We found our one evening meal nice but bland and again not cheap.
Overall a nice experience.

Room Tip: Go for the Studio room if you can afford it - largest, best spec and views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SwissChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
59 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2008

This was our second stay in wonderful Marken and it won´t be our last. We love this quaint little village. It is like stepping back in time. But the best reason for coming to Marken is the wonderful and only hotel in Marken called Hof van Marken. From the suite you have a very nice view of the harbour but every room has it´s own nice view. I love the ones on the third floor with views over the rooftops out to the sea. The restaurant is the best in town with carefully prepared food and the (new) owners are just lovely. The Hof van Marken is one of the places in all of Europe where we will always keep to return to.

  • Stayed September 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KarenE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2005

The Hof van Marken is a charming little inn in the picturesque town of Marken, a short drive outside Amsterdam. The young proprietiers of the inn and restaurant, Taco and Lonneke, were splendid hosts and served us delicious meals.
The rates are very reasonable and an afternoon stroll through this quiet fishing village last September - followed by a glass of wine in the pub - was a perfect antidote to the bustle of Amsterdam. This inn is definately worth a visit!

Be warned though, the staircase leading to the bedrooms is quite steep...

Helpful?
5 Thank NewYear'sTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marken
3.6 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel Volendam
2.8 mi away
Hotel Spaander
Hotel Spaander
#1 of 4 in Volendam
3.5 of 5 stars 335 reviews
2.7 mi away
Marinapark Volendam
Marinapark Volendam
#3 of 4 in Volendam
3.5 of 5 stars 141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hotel Old Dutch
Hotel Old Dutch
#2 of 4 in Volendam
4.0 of 5 stars 118 reviews
2.8 mi away
Suitehotel Restaurant Posthoorn
2.7 mi away
Hotel Restaurant van den Hogen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hof van Marken? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hof van Marken

Property: Hof van Marken
Address: Buurt II nr. 15, 1156 BC Marken, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Marken
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Marken
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hof van Marken 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Hof van Marken reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing