We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Charming hotel with great food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hof van Marken

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hof van Marken
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Marken
London
Level Contributor
113 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Charming hotel with great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

The Hof is on the lovely island of Marken, which becomes a lot lovelier in the evening when the coach parties disappear, but even during the day, there are great walks and cycle rides that quickly take you away from the crowds. We had a lovely room at the top of the main building with views to the lake on 3 sides. You need to be a bit nimble on your feet as the stairs are very steep. Dinners are not cheap (c€37 a head), but they are delicious. The Azul Spanish red wine is good value at €24. The staff are friendly and helpful. Only small downside, the breakfasts (at €15 a head) are always bread, croissant, cheese, ham, egg, fruit salad and tea or coffee (very good coffee). Bit of variety would be nice.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank happywanderer063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    30
    7
    2
    5
See reviews for
11
41
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Israel
Level Contributor
119 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2012

We drove through the area and decided to have dinner in Marken. We came in a little late, but kitchen was still open. We came into a full of ambiance filled dining room and were offered the 3-course dinner for 36 EUR. p.p. Very good and reasonable priced. Recommendable.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JmK4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2011

We just loved our stay in the Hof van Marken. The hotel is nicely located in this old Dutch town close to Amsterdam. We stayed in a cosy room (the suite) and we enjoyed great views of the lake / sea and the meadows. The owners did their best to make our stay feel like a holiday. We would highly recommend the restaurant as well. The chef is keen on using products from local fisherman and farmers. We did not know how he did it, but the combination between the food and the wines was excellent.

Room Tip: The suites have great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TanjaAmsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
63 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2011

Yes we did enjoy our stay here at the Hof van Marken as the only hotel (and accomodation) I believe in Marken. If you are a tourist then you expect the place to be touristy and it is (blatantly). Overall we would have to give this hotel positive ratings but also share our experience. OK I come here because I work in the area but bring my wife along for company but still expect to be treated like real guests at a hotel. There are MANY bad hotels in the Amsterdam area (I've been to a few) and this is a GOOD hotel.
Quite charming and unique, we had the Suite which I believe is the best room in the hotel as it is the most expensive (no hotels are cheap in this area) - wonderful views in two directions as the room spreads around a corner. Also the bathroom is a good size with bath and shower combined. Very clean room. Described as a suite but really a reasonably sizeed double room with a two seater sofa. No additional facilities. Only on the second day where we offered a kettle for tea by the very lovely lady staff member. Not all staff (including owners) SEEMED too friendly or helpful, I emphasise SEEMED as this is the way they came across, if they meant to be friendly and helpful then that did not come across. (No offer of refreshment on arrival late evening when the bar and restaurant was closed (this is a hotel) or for an early breakfast before 8am).Actually this is also true for the whole resort, we met as many who were unfriendly as friendly - perhaps they are only human and get sick of English speaking tourists! Beware of the stairs - they are steep and narrow and if you have any form of disability then this is not the place for you.
The breakfast was OK, no choice offered and expensive at 15EUR compared to other hotels.
There are claims that this is the best place to eat in town, probably true but nothing special. We found our one evening meal nice but bland and again not cheap.
Overall a nice experience.

Room Tip: Go for the Studio room if you can afford it - largest, best spec and views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SwissChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
57 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2008

This was our second stay in wonderful Marken and it won´t be our last. We love this quaint little village. It is like stepping back in time. But the best reason for coming to Marken is the wonderful and only hotel in Marken called Hof van Marken. From the suite you have a very nice view of the harbour but every room has it´s own nice view. I love the ones on the third floor with views over the rooftops out to the sea. The restaurant is the best in town with carefully prepared food and the (new) owners are just lovely. The Hof van Marken is one of the places in all of Europe where we will always keep to return to.

  • Stayed September 2008
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KarenE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2005

The Hof van Marken is a charming little inn in the picturesque town of Marken, a short drive outside Amsterdam. The young proprietiers of the inn and restaurant, Taco and Lonneke, were splendid hosts and served us delicious meals.
The rates are very reasonable and an afternoon stroll through this quiet fishing village last September - followed by a glass of wine in the pub - was a perfect antidote to the bustle of Amsterdam. This inn is definately worth a visit!

Be warned though, the staircase leading to the bedrooms is quite steep...

Helpful?
5 Thank NewYear'sTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marken
2.8 mi away
Hotel Spaander
Hotel Spaander
#1 of 4 in Volendam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
2.8 mi away
Suitehotel Restaurant Posthoorn
2.7 mi away
Marinapark Volendam
Marinapark Volendam
#3 of 4 in Volendam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel Volendam
2.7 mi away
Hotel Old Dutch
Hotel Old Dutch
#2 of 4 in Volendam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Restaurant van den Hogen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hof van Marken? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hof van Marken

Property: Hof van Marken
Address: Buurt II, nr. 15, 1156 BC Marken, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Marken
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Marken
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hof van Marken 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Hof van Marken reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing