We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Preserved History”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Marken

Marken
Book In Advance
More Info
$147.41*
and up
Amsterdam Super Saver: Bruges Day Trip plus Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and...
Ranked #1 of 8 things to do in Marken
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Buckhorn, Canada
Level Contributor
137 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Preserved History”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2014

This town used to be only reachable by boat whereas now that the polders have been built there is a road to it. Being isolated for so many years has allowed the town to remain largely untouched by "progress." The wooden clapboard houses are as they were 300 years ago. It is a quaint fishing village that is a short 30 minute ferry ride from Volendam. Volendam in itself is an attraction where many people still wear the old style Dutch clothing. You can dress up in the clothing and have your photo taken. Very reasonable.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank DrTedV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

858 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    511
    293
    45
    9
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rivoli, Italy
Level Contributor
222 reviews
100 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
“A day trip .... back in time!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

First time in winter! An amazing oasis of peace! Just a few tourists, most of the restaurants and shops closed, silence and calm everywhere. Much of Marken’s appeal comes from walking around its narrow streets, surrounded by water and the traditional wooden houses.
If you are in Amsterdam there is a direct bus connection from the Central Station: 311 leaves from the northern side of the station (the side on the river IJ) and in half an hour you can easily reach this lovely fishing village.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Patpet58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
88 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Clogs on orde and the windmills at last!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2013

Our Marken tour was part of a tour that included Volendam. On the way to Markem we saw the famed windmills - many many of them and were also given a glimpse of their working ;insides'.

On the walk over the bridge to Marken we were fascinated by the opening up of the bridge to let a boat through. Mundane, probably, to many of you but to us landlubbers, and interesting sight.

And then there was Bart with his boots - or clogs to be precise. Funny, touristy, but all part of a pleasant holiday experience.

The countryside was nice too, and so were our driver Steph and the guide Danielle was informative.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Krajjy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Providence, New Jersey
Level Contributor
1,033 reviews
607 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 307 helpful votes
“Dutch clogs”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013 via mobile

We walked around the cute fishing village and saw the typical green and white homes. We also found a Dutch shoe factory that still makes the wooden shoes. We watched a demonstration. I tried a pair on and found them to be very uncomfortable on my feet.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ramadama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
171 reviews
81 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Picturesque”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

We visited Marken as a result of spending a lovely day in Volendam. Theres not much to see as its just a little fishing village with a few shops. If you want to round off your visit to Volendam, take the boat across to Marken and get the bus back into Monnickendam. Loved the boat journey and the beautiful views as we crossed to Marken.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Scottish21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marken also viewed

Zaandam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Marken? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing