We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“location is everything”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel De Duif

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel De Duif
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lisse
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“location is everything”
Reviewed April 21, 2014

We booked this hotel through booking.com for three nights and a visit to Keukenhof Gardens - an easy ten minute walk away. I have good and bad things to say about the hotel but my dealings with them did not begin well when they sent me two emails in Dutch apparently stating that my credit card was no good. I contacted booking.com - whom the hotel should have contacted - and they sorted it. Next, however, I discovered from my credit card account that I had been billed twice by the hotel. Contacted booking.com and my bank and sorted that out. However, I never received an apology from the hotel or any compensation for the mess.
On arrival at the hotel, we found pleasant and helpful staff. The hotel is only a three star establishment but it does have a rather shabby appearance - the hallways and corridors have worn and stained carpets and the decor is slightly reminiscent of an industrial installation. We had booked a senior suite which, as a previous reviewer has said, is a bit like a small house. The room was reasonably clean but the tv remote didn't work, light bulbs weren't all working, the stairs to the bedroom were narrow and very steep and the kitchen only had very basic facilities and we had to ask for a tea towel (which took a while to locate). I didn't find the bed particularly comfortable either. On the plus side, however, the staff were always pleasant and willing to try to help, the breakfast was an acceptable buffet and the hotel's position for visiting Keukenhof absolutely brilliant (you can go in early, come home for lunch and go back when the crowds have subsided).
For eating, we did try the restaurant attached to the hotel but found it to have poor service and very average food. We discovered a small Italian restaurant a couple of doors down (Piccolo) which was very nice - good service, nice people and tasty, well presented food.
All in all, if we were visiting Keukenhof again, I would stay at this hotel again but it is the location and the staff that make it an attractive proposition.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank birdersmate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    63
    46
    17
    9
See reviews for
39
72
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 18, 2014

stayed there 4 nights Wednesday-Sunday. Friday & Saturday night we got no sleep because of the noise from the pubs nearby. Loud music blaring and people shouting below our window till after 3am, by which time we found it impossible to sleep. Dont know if the other rooms facing the other way were more quiet. Apart from that it was very convinient for Keukenhof.

Room Tip: ask for a quiet room where you cant hear the noise from the pubs/bars
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mercure600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2014

We wanted to visit the bulbfields and chose this hotel as we could walk to Keukenhof from there. We had booked a senior suite, which was really like a little house, with lounge and kitchenette downstairs, and bedroom and bathroom upstairs. The lounge area was good, and there were two TVs, one in the lounge and one in the bedroom. It was lovely and warm in the suite all the time, with the heating on all day, and the water was, if anything, too hot. The bed was very comfortable.
When booking I had asked for soya milk, which they got in for me. It ran out on the fourth morning of our stay and they had to go out and buy some more, but they did this without complaining, though it did take a while and I was glad we didn’t have to catch a bus that day!
The breakfasts were fine with the usual tinned and fresh fruit, juice, yogurts, cereals, cold meats, sausages, eggs, bread/toast and various jams and spreads.
The kitchenette in the suite was a bit poor. I wasn’t expecting a kettle – we’d brought our own – but I did think, maybe, there would be a microwave. There were four hobs, but the saucepans looked like they’d seen better days, and no oven nor toaster. So, really, it was a bit basic. Although there was a sink, it was difficult doing the washing up (only a few cups and a couple of teaplates) because there was nowhere to put the dirty or clean plates, and nowhere for the water left on the crockery to flow away to.
The bathroom was fine, but nothing special. There was a hairdryer attached to the wall, but it was pathetic and I had to ask at reception for a conventional hairdryer.
We stayed for six days and noticed the service at breakfast varied from day to day, depending on which staff were on duty. Some mornings were a lot better than others in terms of what had been put out, what we needed to ask for (because it hadn’t been put out), replenishing items and clearing away.
Three nights we ate in the 1198 restaurant attached to the hotel, which offered a buffet meal for €15.50. It varied in quality and how much of each option was left from night to night, but was good value compared to the other restaurants in the town.
I dare say we may come back to see the bulbfields in a few years’ time, and I feel quite positive about staying at the Hotel de Duif again in the future.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tomaszow Mazowiecki, Poland
Level Contributor
67 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2014 via mobile

We were proposed a very small, dirty room in the basement so we did not agree to stay. The windows were in the roof, very small. Dusty carpet and będzie covers. We moved to another hotel though we booked that room 2months earlier.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank dozza21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lisse hotels

Quito
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

This may be premature as it is the first night of a two night stay but I was writing some other reviews of hotels where I have stayed on this trip and thought I would give my "two cents" on what I have experienced to this point. I picked this hotel because the bed and breakfast where I normally stay in Amsterdam was booked long ago for these dates and the hotels I have often stayed at around the AMS airport were full or super expensive. I think there must be a major trade fair going on at the RAI. Here are my observations to date:
1. The interchange of e-mails with the hotel in advance of my arrival was helpful, with prompt and clear answers to the questions.
2. The staff in reception was very helpful when I checked in.
3. There is no "private lot" but I had no problem finding a parking place close to the hotel. If you stay in most of Amsterdam and at AMS airport hotels the parking in not free and the hotel is not far from the airport.
4. The area around the hotel is full of shops and restaurants and was an excellent place to walk at night. It is Thursday night so many of the shops were open until 9 pm, but I like this area.
5. The room is small but in good shape, and the price of 77 Euros with free Wifi and breakfast for this room seems fair.

The question I always tend to ask at this point is if I would come back, and so far the answer is yes.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ecuabuckeye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MNoordermeer, Manager at Hotel De Duif, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Ecuabuckeye,

Thank you for having chosen Hotel de Duif and for having taken the time to write a review on our hotel.

I’m pleased to know that you were happy with our accommodation and the price quality ratio.

Also thank you for the kind comments on our staff service.

Hopefully you will pay us another visit in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Marieke Kleiss - Noordermeer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
101 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We stayed at this hotel to go to a wedding nearby - it was the only hotel available so we had no choice.
The setting is not good - the reception entrance is tucked away in a side street - and on entering you are taken back to 1970-something - dark colours and a very sobre un-welcoming lounge.
The room had the same style - dark and cold looking.
We were there in October and the heating was not working properly - we were pleased to get up in the morning and have a hot shower (at least the bathroom was good!).
The breakfast was very basic and we seemed to be in the way of the lady supervisor who gave us the impression we were not welcome!
Not one to return to but not easy to forget!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmsterdamNeil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MNoordermeer, Manager at Hotel De Duif, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Dear Neilteddy,

I appreciate you having taken the time to review our hotel.

Sorry to read that your stay did not go as you have expected.

I am sure it was not the intention of my colleague to make you feel you were not welcome during breakfast, I will discuss the matter with her.

Since a couple of months we have a new heating system, which hopefully means the problem of a cold room stays as a thing from the past.

Kind Regards,

Marieke Kleiss – Noordermeer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeuwarden, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

I must mention, the morning staff at De Duif were helpful, especially Frans, really helpful guy. The hotel is still naff. The staff have no real power over the quality of the hotel, the management/owner need to step up and spend some money. It could be lovely.. But when you have to walk up a dark alley to a neon sign that says "TEL". You start to get a feeling of dread. If you need to complain, don't do it to the staff but email the manager via the website or ask for her at reception. The breakfast was also very cheap fare indeed, or video it and post it. I am getting tired of poor quality, European hotels, if we want a quality stay, we must complain.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teach1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MNoordermeer, Front Office Manager at Hotel De Duif, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Peter B,

Thanks again for writing another review of Hotel de Duif.

I will certainly tell Frans that you've mentioned him in your review, I am sure he'd be happy with your compliment.

I have forwarded your review to the owner.

Despite your statement I am glad that the quality and service of the staff stood out.

Kind Regards,

Marieke Kleiss - Noordermeer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lisse
3.5 mi away
NH Noordwijk Conference Centre Leeuwenhorst
0.9 mi away
Hotel Restaurant De Nachtegaal
2.6 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Grand Cafe Flora
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Hotel Orion
Hotel Orion
#1 of 1 in Kaag
48 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hotel Van Oranje, Autograph Collection
3.8 mi away
Fletcher Hotel Restaurant De Witte Raaf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel De Duif? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel De Duif

Property: Hotel De Duif
Address: Westerdreef 49, 2161 EN Lisse, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Lisse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lisse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel De Duif 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel De Duif reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing