We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Message from Tripadvisor:Temporarily closed
Save
  
Ways to Experience Keukenhof
from $316.11
More Info
from $114.92
More Info
from $133.28
More Info
Reviews (12,080)
Filter reviews
12,080 results
Traveler rating
9,334
1,990
441
170
145
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
9,334
1,990
441
170
145
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tulip fields beautiful flowers boat trip tulip season late april million bulbs bucket list bulb fields beautiful park displays amsterdam bloom netherlands windmill spring beauty varieties
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
63 - 68 of 12,080 reviews
Reviewed September 3, 2019

It is a wonderfully laid garden with full of beautiful Tulip flowers of different colors and varieties. Best time to visit is April when the garden is filled with fully bloomed flowers . You need to spend a minimum of 3 hours there to cover the entire garden . Apart from Tulips you can see other flowers such as beautiful roses of different colors. Since it is an outdoor park with little walking inside you need warm up cloths (temperature drops to 17C) and comfortable shoes . A very beautiful and a bit crowded place during the season, but never to miss if traveling to Amsterdam city .

Date of experience: April 2019
2  Thank Dushshantha W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2019

Keukenhof Gardens is simply the best part of our tour. Beautiful tulips all across is simply superb. Plan your tour around April May to enjoy this tulip garden.

Date of experience: May 2019
1  Thank Sumitkumar_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2019 via mobile

Keukenhof brought out the iconic tulip experience side of Holland in a convenient location close to Amsterdam. Timing is everything when choosing when to go - too early and you just see green plants, the best time may be too crowded to enjoy the experience and it doesn’t make sense going where there is no blooming. From my research the best times can vary from year to year though mid April to mid May seems to be generally the full bloom time. We went right at the start of the blooming season in April so the infamous crowds had not yet descended. In fact we heard the week after we were there that people were being advised not to go due to the crowds and roads were impassable. We used one of the round trip bus trips that depart from “This is Holland” 5D Soaring Ride which was located a short, breezy and free ferry ride from Amsterdam Centraal Station. It was booked impromptu on one of the very handy online holland tickets websites. The bus ride was comfortable and had a short interesting video about Dutch flowers. Probably a 1 hr ride. There are many buses running back and forth so it’s flexible timing to return when you are ready but just be conscious of the timing of the last bus. Renting a car looked looked like another easy option as the roads out of Amsterdam are wide and easy to drive on and Keukenhof has a huge car park. The advanced booking also meant you avoided the lines to buy tickets and went straight into the gardens. Keukenhof is essentially a huge park landscaped with millions upon millions of flowers in different designs and colours. Each year has a different theme e.g Flower Power. One day should be enough to see everything. And everything was fantastically beauteous. Mainly outdoors but there were cute buildings in between with different indoor floral attractions reinforcing the theme of the year or acting as information niches. You wander around the well marked paths seeing the many themed sections. There are a number of restaurants and cafes around. The restaurant we had lunch was the most hearty servings of delicious Dutch farm-like cuisine we had anywhere else in Holland and very delicious. Make sure and make your way to the windmill as it makes for great photos with the fields of tulips in the background. Keukenhof is bordered by fields of tulips on one end and the fields are framed and crisscrossed by a grid of canals. For not much $$, you can take a boat ride through the fields with audios guides and cuddle with warm blankets as you leisurely sail past the flowers. The boat rides start right by the windmill so you can’t miss it. Tulips are in neat rows upon rows of colours looking like a sea of different styles of carpet. Lots of birds play by the canal banks almost within arms reach. However, they don’t stop to let you come out of the boat and run through the flowers which is many a female fantasy. The Gardens also nice cafes overlooking the fields that you can sit (albeit limited seating), relax and have some hot chocolate and cookies while watching the flowers. As you leave, there are a few souvenir shops that had interesting things like wooden but lifelike tulips bought a few and now make for a great center-piece for a side table. Holland’s tulips originally came from Turkey and you will learn all about that story in Keukenhof. Turkey has similar attractions like Keukenhof. I have been to a similar park in Turkey (Emirgan Park) which was also gorgeous if you are a tulip enthusiast and want to repeat the experience. You can’t really find fault in flowers can you, even if these ones in Keukenhof had some help by man.

Date of experience: April 2019
3  Thank Davesamtt
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2019

I expected this visit to be beautiful, but that word simply does not capture the full mpact of what you'll see at Keukenhof! Color as far as the eye can see, perfectly manicured gardens, a veriety of tulips unimagined, whimsical vignettes for photos, informative greenhouse displays, fabulous giftshops, etc. I really can't say enough good things about this stop on our river cruise. My only suggestion would be to arrive when they open to best be able to tour and see everything before the crowds arrive. Thank you for a memory to last a lifetime!

Date of experience: April 2019
3  Thank Suzanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2019

We visited Keukenhof Gardens with an organized group, but spent most of the day as a family (4 adults). We were there in the earlier part of the season, but still experienced a lot of beautiful flowers and garden design. Personal favorite was the greenhouse with the orchids, but the seasonal displays were beautiful. Due to the size of the facility, people with mobility impairments will need a scooter or motorized chair to have a full experience. My father-in-law had a broken leg during our visit, and was able to rent a scooter at the park for 15-20 euros for the day.

*visited in March 2008

Date of experience: March 2019
1  Thank jess k
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews