We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Wonderful Hotel .” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Augusta Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Augusta Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Ijmuiden
Certificate of Excellence
Halifax, Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful Hotel .”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

This hotel is a beautiful hotel. It is an old house that has been converted into a hotel and it is fabulous.The steps are steep, but there is someone to take the luggage, if needed.Our room was beautiful and clean! It did not have air conditioning, but the window did open. This is the only reason I did not rate it as excellent. I would stay there anytime if I returned to Ijmiuden. The breakfast is fabulous and although we did not have dinner there, I am sure it would have been excellent. The hotel is close to the port to pick up cruise ships, although you must take a taxi, but it is very close. It is also convenient for walking to restaurants or a pub.The staff were great and very helpful.

Room Tip: Ask if there are any rooms with air conditioning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    16
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
6
23
4
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Rocklin
Level Contributor
41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

Just returned from Amsterdam. We stayed at the Augusta Hotel in Ijmuiden, the new cruise port. We read the reviews and it is as they say GREAT, Now the stair case is steep, and no Elevator. We stayed 3 nights and had no problems at all. The room meet all are needs, the Staff were all Great, and very helpful. This Hotel is a ways out of town, we use a taxi service to get there. and the bus from the hotel to downtown,7 euros R/T. The Food is the Best we had on our trip, from soup THE VERY BEST I HAVE HAD. and fries at the bar we had twice to Dinner in the main dining room, the best we had. This was just a great little older hotel with great décor, Breakfast is very good. Thank to all TGUSA.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TGusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

The hotel is possibly one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in, we were a party of 9 and everyone agreed it was lovely. The decor and attention to detail was second to none and the rooms were enormous. There are no lifts which may hamper some but the original features and design touches compensate for that small matter. The staff were exceptionally pleasant and even allowed us to store our precious bikes indoors overnight. Dinner was in a splendid restaurant and the food was delicious. The breakfast was a ritual of courses being served to our table, all delicious and we enjoyed every minute.
I would definitely recommend this fabulous hotel.

Room Tip: If you don't like stairs then take a room on a lower floor as there is no lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Siomitchell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

Hotel Agusta saved us!!

We are an Irish band called CRAN. We were doing a gig a few weeks ago and we got lost trying to find a nice spot to eat. We turned to Tripadvisor and found the Agusta. It looked gorgeous but it also looked like it would take to long and we had to be on stage in an hour.

But...

They said they would love to serve us and asked if we would be willing to take what they came up with and they would get us back out the door in time. Of course we said yes...

Well, 5 minutes later we were sitting at a beautiful table and servers ran back and forth bringing out gorgeous food, all of which was gorgeous. We ate like pigs but they didn't frown. They understood completely!!

Thank you Hotal Agusta, for such a warm welcome, for springing into action and saving the day for us. All you had to do was say sorry, too busy but no, you blew our minds with both your care & attention but also with your lovely food...!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank asalater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

Stayed in November for a night, the hotel is about 30 minutes from Amsterdam.

We were greeted by warm and friendly lady at the front desk, our room was very big and was on the corner. The whole place felt clean and very well look after.

In the evening we went for a drink in the bar and they have a fire place which makes the place very cozy.
Breakfast was a lovely surprise, we order our breakfast and the waitress come back few minutes later with a lovely selection of freshly baked breads and pasties in addition to the boiled egg, the selection of cold meats and cheese.

The receptionist at check out was also very pleasant.

Overall we had a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank myexpreriences
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dresden, Germany
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013 via mobile

My stay was perfect. Last moment, my son's girlfriend stayed with us, so that makes 3 kids and 1 adult, and the hotel was very. Flexible. The service is impeccable. It was my son's b day and they made up his table at bkfast to say happy bday. Wonderul hotel with a great restaurant. I will definitely be back.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Globalnomad1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tewkesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

The Augusta hotel truelly is one of the last remaining "Real" hotels,
the rooms are supperb, the attention to detail second to none and the attentative staff are both polite and friendly, without that overbearing hovering attitude.
The stay i had was truelly great and i cant recommend this hotel high enough.
If anyone writes a bad review of this place then they are either doing it for a malicious reason or they have nothing better to do;
This hotel and its staff rightly receive awards for the standard of service offered, and as a person who has literally worked and stayed all over the world, if all hotels were to this standard i would be a happy man.
I shall be returning in October, and cant wait to stay here again.
Forget Holiday ins and plastic palaces, stay here and sample hospitality and quality from a bygone era!
Gary Farrell, world traveller and happy customer

Room Tip: There is no lift, so the stairs could be an issue if infirm; all rooms are excellant, they only use...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gary f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ijmuiden
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Ijmuiden Seaport Beach
2.4 mi away
Landgoed Duin & Kruidberg
Landgoed Duin & Kruidberg
#1 of 3 in Santpoort-Noord
4.5 of 5 stars 426 reviews
1.1 mi away
No photo provided
Hotel Prinsenhof
#3 of 3 in Ijmuiden
4.0 of 5 stars 25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hotel Villa de Klughte
Hotel Villa de Klughte
#3 of 4 in Wijk aan Zee
4.0 of 5 stars 37 reviews
2.5 mi away
Fletcher Hotel-Restaurant Zeeduin
5.9 mi away
NH Zandvoort
NH Zandvoort
#1 of 26 in Zandvoort
3.5 of 5 stars 956 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Augusta Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Augusta Hotel

Property: Augusta Hotel
Address: Oranjestraat 98, 1975 DD Ijmuiden, Velsen, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Velsen > Ijmuiden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Ijmuiden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Augusta Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Augusta Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing