We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, poor location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Apollo Hotel IJmuiden Seaport Beach
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ijmuiden
Reviewed October 17, 2013

The front desk staff were very friendly and helpful. Check-in went smoothly. Our room was quite nice with a comfortable bed but not great pillows. The room was relatively quiet. This was my first time in Holland, I should've done a little more research on the location. The town of Ijmuiden is very industrial. Looking at the pictures of the hotel, marina, beach etc. it looked like a great spot. Unfortunately, there is a huge steel mill very close by and many industrial buildings. Perhaps in the summer when the weather is warm, you can overlook the industrial area and enjoy the beach/sea/wind. The hotel itself was fine but I wouldn't stay there again because of the location. We had appetizers and drinks in the restaurant when we arrived because our room wasn't ready. There were only a couple of other people in the restaurant so the service should've been great but it was very slow and I found the food to be expensive and mediocre at best. We didn't eat there again. I also found this Holiday Inn to not be up to the same standards as they are in Canada or the U.S. They could be a little more generous with their toiletries and the look of the hotel in general is a bit drab. We were very close to the bus line which was convenient for a day trip to Haarlem, which we loved. I'm glad we only had 3 nights in this location before we moved on to Amsterdam. One night would've been enough.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HonoluluHank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maarten_M188596, Manager at Apollo Hotel IJmuiden Seaport Beach, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

Dear sir, madam,

Thank you for your feedback after your stay in our hotel.
We will discuss your remarks about the service with our restaurant staff.

Kind regards,

Hotel management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (528)
There are newer reviews for Apollo Hotel IJmuiden Seaport Beach
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

116 - 122 of 530 reviews

Reviewed October 14, 2013

Rooms are so cold there is wind inside.
Staff and management is not good.
Food is not good.
Service is the inadequate.
I believe this is not a usual Holiday Inn quality hotel.
NOT SUGGESTED AT ALL!

We came here to attend a 4 seminar. The room was so cold that you could feel the wind inside! The hallways and the elevators are warmer than the room! When you call the hotel staff to check if the heater was broken they sent the waiter in the restaurant! The heater was stopping every 15 minutes by itself. The warmest air the heater was giving out was so cold that even the hotel staff who came to check the heater said: "it gives kind of an warm air! but this is it we are sorry. we have climate control! Then we believe we have different understanding of climates!" Me and my friend here would like to point out that this is a branch of an INTERNATIONAL CHAIN OF HOTELS.we have the right to expect to stay warm enough!
The water in the room was getting off balance and a bit colder when we were taking a shower. It did it every 2-3 mins by itself!
The seminar lasted long hours during our stay and when we came out of the seminar; we could not find any food. Even when the room service was open and we went to the restaurant they told us that we could not eat there only room service was open.
Moreover, the only food I could find was a frozen pizza at the room service and it had a HAIR in it! When I called to order a new one or to have it deducted from my bill: The room service said that they have to CHECK how much of the pizza was eaten!!!!
Also; the restaurant food was expensive. Almsot everything was OVER SALTY and generally never came as ordered. Once we went for a lunch there were 6 tables and 1 waiter. Everyone went to the counter to self order it. We even needed to get our own spoon for the soup.
When we wanted the hamburger and ordered it "very very very well done": inside it came in a form of pink mince!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Su S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Apollo Hotel IJmuiden Seaport Beach, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2013

Dear Su S,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We’re sorry we fell below your expectation regarding the room temperature, customer service and food selection which was unacceptable. We will address these points. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

stayed 5days in this HI during November 12, for a business trip.
Pros: friendly staff, warm bar/restaurant, large room, marina view, correct breakfast. free and fast internet
Cons: far from every thing, no amenities in the bathroom, no currency exchange office (has to drive to Harlem for that), room bit cold

Room Tip: marina view
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DZtrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Apollo Hotel IJmuiden Seaport Beach, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2013

Dear DZtrotter,

Thank you for your feedback of our property. We strive to provide the best possible experience and it is always great to hear from our guests on how we are doing. I am glad to read you appreciate our staff service and rooms. However, I am sorry that on this day you found your stay to be less than satisfactory due to the amenities and hotel location. I have taken note and wish to thank you for your valuable feedback as this is our best resource of improving our services.

Once again, thank you for posting your comments.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Recently used our reward points to stay here for 3 nights. Hotel and staff were excellent. Spacious, updated rooms. We had views of Marina and smoke stacks from our room. Breakfast and restaurant were both very good. Delicious Chinese Restaurant also next door to hotel. Lengthy trip by public transportation to city center of Amsterdam. Bus and boat ride combination shorter if transfers coordinate, otherwise longer. At least an hour by bus. Visited Village of Zaanse Shans, nearby on last day. If not centering visit on Amsterdam, it's a good value.

Room Tip: Request upper level room overlooking marina.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carcheria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maarten_M188596, General Manager at Apollo Hotel IJmuiden Seaport Beach, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

Dear sir, madam,

Many thanks for leaving your positive comments at Tripadvisor. It is always a pleasure to read that you also enjoyed our hotel, its location and the wonderful Chinese restaurant next door. It is also good that you mentioned the sightseeing possibillities like Amsterdam and Zaanse Schans. And indeed, it is not far from the hotel.

Thank you very much and we hope to meet you again in our hotel.

Kind regards,

Maarten van Nigtevegt
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

We went here with about 80 colleagues for a teambuilding day and a party in the evening. The rooms are quite big and you either have a view on the marina or the dunes. Across the hotel is a pavilion and after our teambuilding activities we had a bbq and party there: that was nice. The hotel is close to the beach. IJmuiden is not that interesting, but if you have to stay in the area this hotel is a nice option!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beriha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Apollo Hotel IJmuiden Seaport Beach, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

Dear Beriha,

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your accommodation. We are delighted to learn that your stay was comfortable and enjoyable.

Since our guests are the center of our focus, it is customary for our hotel staff to continually create and provide the best product always. Therefore, we are pleased that these efforts reflected in your total guest experience.

If in the future you find yourself in our area or if your business travels bring you back to our hotel we would love to have you as our guest again, as it would be a pleasure to serve you.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

The best view in Amsterdam
Top security for car
Personnel : 4 star, very nice
room : 4 stars - beautifull big room, desk, table, chairs......

restaurant..

Romantic moment with girl friend ..... she fall in love......
sauna, fitness, ...

Magnific View on the marina from the room, and possibilité to do wind surf on the beach....

Thank you very much !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

MANO - VERSAILLES

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paris_anonym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maarten_M188596, General Manager at Apollo Hotel IJmuiden Seaport Beach, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

Dear sir, madam,

Many thanks for your kind feedback. It is a pleasure to read you enjoyed our hotel and its location.

We are looking forward seeing you again in the Holiday Inn IJmuiden Seaport Beach.

Kind regards,

Maarten van Nigtevegt
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

There is an old Greek proverb which states: Promise only what you can deliver, then deliver more then you have promised. In case of the Holliday Inn Ijmuiden we can now truly say this is the case.

From check inn all the way to check out we have encountered nothing but positivity. From the team members on check in, the team in the restaurant with especially Andreas who now made our meal in the restaurant most pleasant by displaying his knowledge about the food and wine down to the team members who served our breakfast and asked if everything was in order.

These small touches that have been noted by us during our stay last weekend are exceeding the expectations a Holliday Inn customer would have from a core brand IHG hotel but make the stay special.

This time your team has proven that your hotel is a home away from home and that they are proud of performing their jobs within the hotel. Everyone had a smile on their face and everyone was genuinely interested in the wellbeing of the guests (and they weren't only the guests in our party)

Therefore I would like to thank you for a fantastic stay in your hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ijmuiden
5.2 mi away
NH Zandvoort
NH Zandvoort
#1 of 26 in Zandvoort
1,238 reviews
3.0 mi away
Fletcher Hotel-Restaurant Zeeduin
1.3 mi away
Augusta Hotel
Augusta Hotel
#2 of 3 in Ijmuiden
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Landgoed Duin & Kruidberg
Landgoed Duin & Kruidberg
#1 of 3 in Santpoort-Noord
598 reviews
2.7 mi away
Strandhotel Het Hoge Duin
Strandhotel Het Hoge Duin
#2 of 4 in Wijk aan Zee
126 reviews
2.6 mi away
PUUR ZEE Hotel Villa de Klughte
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apollo Hotel IJmuiden Seaport Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apollo Hotel IJmuiden Seaport Beach

Address: Kennemerboulevard 250, 1976 EG Ijmuiden, Velsen, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Velsen > Ijmuiden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ijmuiden
Price Range: $89 - $176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Apollo Hotel IJmuiden Seaport Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Apollo Hotel IJmuiden Seaport Beach is just 150 meters away from the beach and is surrounded by the Kennemermeer and the harbor. The hotel has its own sauna and steam cabine, which can be used free of charge. Restaurant Beaufort offer local fish and meat specialties and is opened for both breakfast and dinner. After dinner our guests can enjoy a drink at the fire place. The hotel has a good location, close to Amsterdam city centre which you will reach in only 25 minutes. Within 15 minutes you will reach Haarlem and Schiphol Airport is only 20 km away. Dogs are allowed (upon request) in the entire hotel. Also the beach welcomes them throughout the entire year! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Apollo Hotel IJmuiden Seaport Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Ijmuiden Seaport Beach Hotel Ijmuiden
Ijmuiden Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing