We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and friendly hotel”
Review of Hotel Royal

Hotel Royal
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Royal
Ranked #2 of 4 Ijmuiden B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We picked this hotel last minute the night before our ferry home and we got so lucky, the chaps that run it are amazing, nothing too much trouble and so friendly.

The room was clean and modern and loved the wet room, they even had a locked courtyard for our motorbike which was perfect.

Can also recommend the bar Cheers Cafe and the Argentinian Restaurant next door!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PrestonMcCormick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (18)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 18 reviews

Reviewed August 11, 2012

We stayed here after travelling by bicycle through Europe on our way to the ferry port at Ijmuiden. It is just over 1 mile from the port so very convenient. (I believe it is also convenient for Amsterdam) The hotel is well run by 2 brothers and nothing is too much trouble for them. Our bikes were locked in the garage and the room we were given had plenty of space for our luggage. The top floor of the hotel was added 18 months ago so has an ultra modern feel. The ensuite wet room has a great shower and double bed was comfortable. Great breakfast with a choice of eggs, meats, cheese, jam and bread with plenty of coffee. A very restful 2 night stay.

Room Tip: Room 14 was on a corner so had extra space for all our luggage
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lycragirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2011

Nice family hotel in the center of IJmuiden. Some nice restaurants next door. Clean rooms, better than average breakfast, excellent service and friendly people. Visit Amsterdam by hoovercraft (very practical), close to the beach and not far from Schiphol airport. Alkmaar and Haarlem are within some minutes.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Willy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2016, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Myjob J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2016
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2016
Thank Sus M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2016, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Patty_LHR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2016
Thank Rene D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ijmuiden hotels
1.9 mi away
Apollo Hotel IJmuiden Seaport Beach
0.4 mi away
Hotel Prinsenhof
Hotel Prinsenhof
#3 of 3 in Ijmuiden
34 reviews
0.7 mi away
Augusta Hotel
Augusta Hotel
#2 of 3 in Ijmuiden
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Rauw aan de Kade
Hotel Rauw aan de Kade
#1 of 4 in Ijmuiden
27 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Velsen
Hotel Velsen
#4 of 4 in Ijmuiden
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Royal

Address: Houtmanstraat 2 /4, 1972 EE Ijmuiden, Velsen, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Velsen > Ijmuiden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Ijmuiden
Price Range: $82 - $116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Royal 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royal is situated in Ijmuiden and is only a 10-minute walk from the Ijmuiden-Newcastle Ferry Terminal. It features free private on-site parking, a 24-hour front desk and free Wi-Fi. All of the simple yet functional rooms at Hotel Royal have a TV and a modern bathroom. The hotel has a shared living room with a TV and DVD player. Guests can enjoy a daily Continental breakfast during their stay. Royal Hotel is 0.5 km from the centre of Ijmuiden. The centre of Amsterdam is 35 minutes away by car and 25 minutes by boat. The seaside town of Zandvoort is a 30-minute drive from the hotel. Free indoor storage is available for bicycles and motorbikes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing