We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel de Magneet
Nearby Hotels
$76
Booking.com
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (113)
Filter reviews
113 results
Traveler rating
55
52
4
2
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
55
52
4
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree parkingcomfortable bedsold townmain buildingexcellent breakfastwould definitely stay here againsmall hotelwould highly recommend this hotelthis lovely hotelstairs are steepfamily run hotelstayed for nightsinteresting townpeople watchingplace to staytown centrean easy walk
Filter
Updating list...
35 - 40 of 113 reviews
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Very conveniently located to explore the town & harbour on foot. The rooms are comfortable & clean, spread on different levels behind the main hotel building. The owners are friendly & courteous complimenting the family feel of the hotel. A small bar complements the cosy feel a adjacent room doubles up as the hotel restaurant. The food served is well cooked if a little uninspiring and breakfast typically continental Dutch style with little flare.
We arrived just after 8 pm and it was explained the service for food had closed without even a sandwich offered. Fortunately some good restaurants are available in town as as we had been travelling for 4 hours they filled the gap. So book a meal in advance if you wish to eat at the hotel. The hotel car park is almost opposite up a narrow lane but if you use a sat-nav beware the route through the town as access is restricted and use as an alternative the road N506 "Provinciale Weg" then "Willemsweg" from the east to access.

Room Tip: Contact the hotel directly to secure the best rooms available
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 9grapeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Kind hosts - nothing was too much trouble. They were friendly and answered any questions we had about the local area. Delicious breakfast and nice choice of local drinks at the bar. Very close to town and a some lovely restaurants too, especially Brasserie Buiten and Insola Bella.

Garden rooms perfect for getting a pushchair through without needing to use the steps. Travel cot was great. Thicker curtains would have been the only tiny thing I would change.
We will definitely go back.

Room Tip: Room 16, off the garden was really nice and out of the way, with easy access for a pushchair.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JNix83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

We loved our stay in Hoorn. The town is very quiet and a great place to stroll. Our host was the very kindest. Our meals were first class. Our host went far above hospitality by explaining tulip farms, local history, etc...

Room Tip: The new rooms in the new addition have a lovely view of the canal and the new bathroom is awesome.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Suzanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Hotel Hoorn is in a quiet street and it was pleasant to stay here for a couple of days. From Hoorn transport is available to Amsterdam or many other interesting places in Holland either by bus or train. Its very easy to get around.

Room Tip: This family run hotel was very comfortable with emphasis to detail. The room was in the garden with tables and chairs outside and a water lily pond. Breakfast was good with enough choices. Also the hotel was situated near to one of the numerous canals which was picturesque. The hotel was withig walking distance to trains and buses and also to the harbor which was also very interesting with all the different ships which were docked there. Hoorn itself is lovely with a lot of historic buildings and the well tended homes along the waterways were very decorative.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skais
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

This is a lovely small inn with easy driving access and free parking (look for the Hotel de Magneet parking sign across the street and just before the hotel, then park behind other buildings). We had a room off the beautiful patio. Everything is spotless, the bathroom is very up-to-date, the young couple running the inn are helpful and charming and the breakfast was very good and was served in a pretty dining room. The location is great - just out of the hub-bub of the city center but within a few minutes walking to the old harbor and the center. This is not a large or luxurious hotel but a well-run and very comfortable inn that is a very good value. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: I don't know what the rooms are like inside the main building, but we really enjoyed walking through the lovely courtyard, past the koi pond to our room.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DonaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews