We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location for walking Hoorn harbour & centre of town.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel de Magneet

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel de Magneet to your Saves list
Hotel de Magneet
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kleine Oost 5, 1621 GR, Hoorn, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Hoorn
fiftysomethings from Kent UK
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good location for walking Hoorn harbour & centre of town.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Very conveniently located to explore the town & harbour on foot. The rooms are comfortable & clean, spread on different levels behind the main hotel building. The owners are friendly & courteous complimenting the family feel of the hotel. A small bar complements the cosy feel a adjacent room doubles up as the hotel restaurant. The food served is well cooked if a little uninspiring and breakfast typically continental Dutch style with little flare.
We arrived just after 8 pm and it was explained the service for food had closed without even a sandwich offered. Fortunately some good restaurants are available in town as as we had been travelling for 4 hours they filled the gap. So book a meal in advance if you wish to eat at the hotel. The hotel car park is almost opposite up a narrow lane but if you use a sat-nav beware the route through the town as access is restricted and use as an alternative the road N506 "Provinciale Weg" then "Willemsweg" from the east to access.

Room Tip: Contact the hotel directly to secure the best rooms available
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 9grapeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Hove, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Kind hosts - nothing was too much trouble. They were friendly and answered any questions we had about the local area. Delicious breakfast and nice choice of local drinks at the bar. Very close to town and a some lovely restaurants too, especially Brasserie Buiten and Insola Bella.

Garden rooms perfect for getting a pushchair through without needing to use the steps. Travel cot was great. Thicker curtains would have been the only tiny thing I would change.
We will definitely go back.

Room Tip: Room 16, off the garden was really nice and out of the way, with easy access for a pushchair.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JNix83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evergreen, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

We loved our stay in Hoorn. The town is very quiet and a great place to stroll. Our host was the very kindest. Our meals were first class. Our host went far above hospitality by explaining tulip farms, local history, etc...

Room Tip: The new rooms in the new addition have a lovely view of the canal and the new bathroom is awesome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Suzanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

Hotel Hoorn is in a quiet street and it was pleasant to stay here for a couple of days. From Hoorn transport is available to Amsterdam or many other interesting places in Holland either by bus or train. Its very easy to get around.

Room Tip: This family run hotel was very comfortable with emphasis to detail. The room was in the garden with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank skais
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

This is a lovely small inn with easy driving access and free parking (look for the Hotel de Magneet parking sign across the street and just before the hotel, then park behind other buildings). We had a room off the beautiful patio. Everything is spotless, the bathroom is very up-to-date, the young couple running the inn are helpful and charming and the breakfast was very good and was served in a pretty dining room. The location is great - just out of the hub-bub of the city center but within a few minutes walking to the old harbor and the center. This is not a large or luxurious hotel but a well-run and very comfortable inn that is a very good value. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: I don't know what the rooms are like inside the main building, but we really enjoyed walking thr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DonaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, England
Level Contributor
67 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

There's little to add to the other reviews in that this place is great value for money, it's in a good location (quiet but near the harbour and the centre), has its own car park just over the road, is really clean and the owners are always around and are helpful. Hoorn is a beautiful town and with the station only ten minutes walk away, Amsterdam is an easy day trip. We stayed for five nights and would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JourneymanNumber1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
448 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

Our little room, #10, was spotlessly clean and overlooked the quiet courtyard and pond. The full-sized bathtub with shower, rather than a shower only, was an unexpected bonus that we appreciated.

The included breakfast was set out beautifully in the dining room - I liked the variety and little extras ... service was warm and cheerful and the dining room well appointed.

The hotel is located near the four harbours and easypeasy walking distance of the old town centre - for sight-seeing and shopping. We were there for the old time Cheese Markt re-enactment done on Thursdays during the high season, and enjoyed it.

We stayed for three nights and can recommend it highly if you will be in the area.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KLsWanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hoorn
1.4 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel Hoorn
0.6 mi away
Hotel Petit Nord
Hotel Petit Nord
#4 of 5 in Hoorn
3.5 of 5 stars 50 reviews
0.6 mi away
De Posthoorn
De Posthoorn
#3 of 5 in Hoorn
4.0 of 5 stars 21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel Volendam
9.8 mi away
Hotel De Koepoort
Hotel De Koepoort
#1 of 5 in Enkhuizen
4.5 of 5 stars 62 reviews
16.1 mi away
Restaurant Hotel Merlet
Restaurant Hotel Merlet
#1 of 3 in Schoorl
4.5 of 5 stars 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Magneet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Magneet

Address: Kleine Oost 5, 1621 GR, Hoorn, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Hoorn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Hoorn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de Magneet 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A cosy family hotel in the center of Hoorn. Situated in the old harbour with all the museums, shops, restaurants and cafes on walking distance. Parkingfacilities (public-free and paid) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Venere, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel de Magneet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing