We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“A few days in Hotel Hoorn Holland” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel de Magneet

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel de Magneet
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Hoorn
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A few days in Hotel Hoorn Holland”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

Hotel Hoorn is in a quiet street and it was pleasant to stay here for a couple of days. From Hoorn transport is available to Amsterdam or many other interesting places in Holland either by bus or train. Its very easy to get around.

Room Tip: This family run hotel was very comfortable with emphasis to detail. The room was in the garden with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank skais
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    27
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
15
31
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Davis, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

This is a lovely small inn with easy driving access and free parking (look for the Hotel de Magneet parking sign across the street and just before the hotel, then park behind other buildings). We had a room off the beautiful patio. Everything is spotless, the bathroom is very up-to-date, the young couple running the inn are helpful and charming and the breakfast was very good and was served in a pretty dining room. The location is great - just out of the hub-bub of the city center but within a few minutes walking to the old harbor and the center. This is not a large or luxurious hotel but a well-run and very comfortable inn that is a very good value. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: I don't know what the rooms are like inside the main building, but we really enjoyed walking thr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DonaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, England
Level Contributor
77 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

There's little to add to the other reviews in that this place is great value for money, it's in a good location (quiet but near the harbour and the centre), has its own car park just over the road, is really clean and the owners are always around and are helpful. Hoorn is a beautiful town and with the station only ten minutes walk away, Amsterdam is an easy day trip. We stayed for five nights and would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JourneymanNumber1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
541 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2012

Our little room, #10, was spotlessly clean and overlooked the quiet courtyard and pond. The full-sized bathtub with shower, rather than a shower only, was an unexpected bonus that we appreciated.

The included breakfast was set out beautifully in the dining room - I liked the variety and little extras ... service was warm and cheerful and the dining room well appointed.

The hotel is located near the four harbours and easypeasy walking distance of the old town centre - for sight-seeing and shopping. We were there for the old time Cheese Markt re-enactment done on Thursdays during the high season, and enjoyed it.

We stayed for three nights and can recommend it highly if you will be in the area.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KLsWanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2012

Hotel De Magneet is very clean but lacking in hotel facilities as it closes each evening at 10pm and closes all day on Sundays after breakfast until breakfast Monday. The only access we had during those times was to the bedrooms and garden like a hostel. It was very disappointing for us as there was a group of 6 people, two people aged 90 and 84, and it would have been nice to sit and chat in the hotel. I only saw one room which was used for breakfast and evening meal, there didn't seem to be any foyer or lounge. It was very clean and the person who looked after us was very friendly and helpful but not helpful enough to stay open for an extra hour the night we arrived at 10pm.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MPEKerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Wight
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2012

Hoorn is a beautiful place and De Magneet is a beautiful surprise! We found everything we were looking for. Staff very helpful, room very clean and we liked the mini apartment (12) we did stay. Position is absolutely perfect.
Very recommended.
We did prefer (good choice) to stay in Hoorn instead of staying in Amsterdam and having a day trip to Hoorn (30 min journey).

Room Tip: We only stayed in room 12 (mini-apartment) and was quite, clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank islandman2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tallaght, dublin ireland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2011

We arrived here with 16 in our party and a baby. The hotel is very pleasant and the staff are very helpful. The Hotel is about 10 minutes from the Centre of Hoorn and is based down near the Harbour. Its location is ideal to explore lots of little streets and old parts of the harbour on the way to the centre.

Rooms? The rooms are very clean, great shower and comfortable. We stayed in room 16 with a small baby and it was a tight squeeze, looking back we could have asked for a bigger room (some of our family had some) but we didnt bother. In fact the rooms outside the main building are actually small chalets.

The breakfast was the usual continental bread and cheeses, eggs, etc, and set us up nicely for the day.

All in all, very little complaints from this lovely hotel on the south east part of Horrn and as said already a super location to explore the town of Hoorn.

Room Tip: If you have a baby request a room like room 11. Huge space!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flended
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hoorn
1.4 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel Hoorn
0.6 mi away
De Posthoorn
De Posthoorn
#4 of 5 in Hoorn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Petit Nord
Hotel Petit Nord
#3 of 5 in Hoorn
3.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Hotel De Koepoort
Hotel De Koepoort
#1 of 5 in Enkhuizen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
10.1 mi away
Hotel Spaander
Hotel Spaander
#1 of 4 in Volendam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bed & Breakfast Grote Noord
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Magneet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Magneet

Property: Hotel de Magneet
Address: Kleine Oost 5, 1621 GR, Hoorn, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Hoorn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Hoorn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de Magneet 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A cosy family hotel in the center of Hoorn. Situated in the old harbour with all the museums, shops, restaurants and cafes on walking distance. Parkingfacilities (public-free and paid) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Hotel de Magneet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing