We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Fab location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of De Posthoorn

De Posthoorn
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
De Posthoorn
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Hoorn
Liversedge
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Fab location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Right in Hoorn. Lovely newly decorated room with a nice, comfortable big bed. Set in the town with great access to public transport and shopping. Thanks to Willem for the history lesson on the Netherlands - very welcome. Nice and clean walk in shower room. Pleanty of hot water and a nice power shower which was very welcome for two sore cyclists. Plenty of coffee to drink and the ability to use the kitchen for extra drinks if required. Access to a very pretty patio area which was very peaceful and calm. Lovely breakfast with absolutely plenty to eat. Thanks for the recommendation of where to eat - absolutely gorgeous food - de Paerdestal.
Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Stay away from the kitchen rooms if you dont want disturbing in the mornings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xxDawniexx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    17
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
14
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kenilworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Stayed in this hotel from the 5th to 8th I had a double room all by myself.Although I had no view of the streets which suited me,the room was cosy and clean,the towels changed daily which was really not necessary,but appreciated.
Breakfast was the normal continental,boiled egg,cold meats,juice,selection of breads,I would have loved cornflakes but perhaps in this area its not the done thing!The hosts were extremely friendly made one feel at home.Will stay again!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yellow22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

The hospitality of the hosts made us feel really comfortable. For three days we had a "home" in the Netherlands. From there, we took two day trips by train, one to Amsterdam and one to Harlaam. The hotel is within easy walking distance of the train station. Although we could not park our car right outside the hotel, we could drop our suitcases off at the door and park our car in a public parking lot close by for only 2 euro ten cents per day, which seemed to be a very good rate for parking in a city centre in Holland. Hoorn is a smaller city, so it was not as crowded, and it was interesting to look around.
One suggestion for improvement in the suite would be to change the bathroom door, which had large glass panels in it.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nieuwegein, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
114 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2009

During the week I tend to work hard when I am at a client. That means some compensating in the evening, relaxing in my room watching a nice movie. But at the end of june and the beginning of july the thermometer goes way up. And this room felt like a microwave. Even with the window wide open and only boxershorts and a flimsy shirt, it still felt like the surface of the sun. That really ruined my first impression of this bed and breakfast. And there are good things, cause the location leaves nothing to be desired, it's right down in the centre of Hoorn. It's not too expensive since it is only a bed and breakfast and the rooms have just been redecorated and they look good. The beds weren't very great, they had wheels and drove around the room and I tumbled down on the floor since my matress fell off in 2 of my 3 nights.

Still, the charming thing about bed and breakfasts is that they are run by individuals who put their heart and soul in it, and I liked the owners. Their thanks was to forget to open up for breakfast on my 3rd and final morning, so I left hungry, which is a shame. I can not promise this bed and breakfast that I will return here next time. I hope other guests have better experiences

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Willem_ter_Haar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hoorn
0.6 mi away
Hotel de Magneet
Hotel de Magneet
#2 of 5 in Hoorn
4.5 of 5 stars 62 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Petit Nord
Hotel Petit Nord
#3 of 5 in Hoorn
3.5 of 5 stars 59 reviews
0.9 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel Hoorn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Hotel De Koepoort
Hotel De Koepoort
#1 of 5 in Enkhuizen
4.5 of 5 stars 81 reviews
9.2 mi away
De Halve Maan
De Halve Maan
#1 of 1 in Bovenkarspel
3.0 of 5 stars 30 reviews
10.6 mi away
SuyderSee Hotel
SuyderSee Hotel
#2 of 5 in Enkhuizen
3.5 of 5 stars 23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Posthoorn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Posthoorn

Property: De Posthoorn
Address: Breed 25-27, 1621 KA, Hoorn, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Hoorn
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Hoorn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your De Posthoorn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing