We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Family run great hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villa Trompenberg

Hotel Villa Trompenberg
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Villa Trompenberg
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Hilversum
Groningen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
163 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Family run great hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

+ family run hotel, location is very close to train station, good breakfast with delicious bread, easy entry even after reception close, nice rooms in classical house, free fast wifi, rituals soap

- ?

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    11
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
19
5
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leipzig
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

Stayed here for the second time and can highly recommend it. Rooms are really comfi and clean, the owners are very nice. The beds are amazing. I slept like I was in heaven. Breakfast is good also. It's a bit outside of the center of town but it's a nice walk. I wish I could have stayed longer but will stay here on my next business trip.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tiwi1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

We stayed at the Villa Trompenberg for the second time in the past three years and we really enjoyed both of our stays very much. Trompenberg is a small family run Hotel located quite centrally, but quiet and ideal for exploring the region. The Trompenberg has a lovely design and the rooms are very well presented. The beds are awesome - I came with a slight back pain and left without it! The breakfast is excellent and there is free, excellent espresso coffees and teas throughout the day. We will certainly choose this Hotel again when traveling to this area or to Amsterdam, which is less than 30 min away.

Room Tip: we stayed in rooms on the ground level both time and they were both very nice and quiet. The large r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HAJM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Finland
Level Contributor
297 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Having had several rather unpleasant stays in Hilversum at tired Tulip Inn or the awful Grand Amrath (not to be mistaken with the one in Amsterdam) Hilversum and NH Hotel in Bussum this is a very nice choice. Its a self service villa type hotel with nice big comfortable beds, great baths, help yourself drinks to very reasonable prices and to affordable prices. Since I am a frequent traveller to this area this will be my preferred hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joachim73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
69 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Delightful, classy and charming small hotel in redone old mansion in a quiet and beautiful neighborhood. Loads of character and design. Hilversum has hills! and loads of big beautiful old mansions. Good bed, characterful room, super breakfast for a very reasonable price. In Amsterdam this place would probably run around 300E a night, here it is slightly upwards of 100E depending on the room. Great choice for exploring this absolutely beautiful and unique part of the Netherlands just SE of Amsterdam.

Room Tip: Ask for ground floor room if you prefer not to use stairs. Room #4 has a sitting room surrounded by...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PithyPacky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
113 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

We I stayed here as a result of a review in Trip Advisor and were pleasantly surprised. We had a long overbite flight from Vancouver and were tired and arrived a bit earlier. They made up the room and we were able to enjoy a very restful nap on a scrumptious bed. The self check in is our first and it was very simple with the code they send you by email to enter. If you wanted anything, you just had to ring the bell. They have new bicycles to rent for 3e per day. It is in a classy area of Hilversum and close enough to commute to Amsterdam. We had a car and took less than 30 minutes. Chandelier over our bed was unique. Breakfast was 10e extra each, but well worth it and recommend. Everything was freshly made and egg could be had any style. We will stay here again.

Room Tip: We had Room #3. No stairs and easy access and view of the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 47woodenshoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Really a nice place to 'crash'. Room was spacious (you must like 'dark grey walls'), bed very comfortable, breakfast excellent! Bathroom is a bit 'space challenged' (1 person only!). Beautiful quiet neighbourhood and garden.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ArjanO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hilversum
0.6 mi away
Tulip Inn Media Park Hilversum
1.1 mi away
Amrath Grand Hotel & Theater Gooiland
1.3 mi away
Hotel Ravel
Hotel Ravel
#3 of 5 in Hilversum
3.5 of 5 stars 29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Amrath Hotel Lapershoek
Amrath Hotel Lapershoek
#4 of 5 in Hilversum
3.0 of 5 stars 97 reviews
2.2 mi away
Bastion Hotel Bussum Hilversum
3.0 mi away
Hotel Hilversum - de Witte Bergen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Trompenberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Trompenberg

Property: Hotel Villa Trompenberg
Address: Chr. de Wetlaan 1, 1217 JJ Hilversum, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Hilversum
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Hilversum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Trompenberg 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Villa Trompenberg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing