We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location for visiting Het Gooi”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Villa Trompenberg
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Hilversum
Reviewed October 24, 2011

The hotel is a converted villa on the outskirts of Hilversum (on the 's Gravenland side). The rooms were beautifully clean and very tastefully decorated and spacious. The owners were very helpful. Good buffet breakfast, nicely presented. Reasonable prices too. There is little signage to the hotel, so it may be a bit difficult to find in the dark: trust your sat-nav!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TreacleMusic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (56)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Villa Trompenberg
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 56 reviews

Reviewed August 6, 2011

We stayed at the villa for one night and are quite familiar with the area. The location is excellent for city trips (close to Amsterdam and Utrecht, easy by train and car but take the train from H'sum, parking expensive everywhere) and nature trips (boating, biking, hiking). The rooms are well equipped (we had an opportunity to peek in others), have free WiFi, free coffee and tea in the living room, and the optional breakfast is great with a large selection of fresh breakfast items, eggs cooked to order, and very well priced. Our 2nd floor suite was large, well decorated and had a large tub, free standing shower and seperate toilet. Hilversum center is a 10 minute leisurely walk through a beautiful neighborhood. We highly recommend this B&B/hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank doublebooked
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2011

Hotel Villa Trompenberg is a fabulous place to stay. Easy to find, quiet location, close to the centre of Hilversum. The room was fabulous, the breakfast sumptuous, and the staff great. You can even hire bicycles to get about on. The decor is very chic, and we made full use of the free tea, coffee, and chocolate in the breakfast room in the evening. Don't be fooled though, the "breakfast room" has a nice comfy area so you can sit and unwind after a long day. The hotel is self service after 12pm, but that is a good thing, as it means you can come and go as you please, and you don't feel awkward about using the breakfast room. Fabulous all round. We'll definitely be back the next time we visit Hilversum.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank On_and_Ona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2011

Booked this hotel thru Booking.com.
After my stay, upon arriving home, I received a mail from Booking.com, to review the hotel. Which I did (anonymously I was told).
In my review, I quoted most facilities with 7.5 (above average), except for the bathroom 5 (was simply too small) and the service 5 (hotel was maily self-service).
A few days later, I received an angry mail from the owner of the hotel, telling me that he disagreed with my opnions!
I was flabbergasted!
I even sent a friendly answer the owner clarifying my rating.
He answered my mail by telling me 'not to make a reservation in his hotel anymore'!!
What can I say.......
Of course, I reported this behavior to Booking.com but they didn't have the decency to answer me.

Room Tip: Be careful with the owner ;)
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MartinMVDUY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2010

Recently spent 11 nights at Hotel Villa Trompenberg, and would highly recommend it if you're looking for a beautiful, quiet, comfortable place to stay while in Hilversum. The hotel is like a B&B, with no restaurant on site, but there are many nice restaurants within walking distance.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jeanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2008

Small family owned hotel in a mansion in an upscale neighbourhood in Hilversum (40 kilometers from Amsterdam). Rooms vary in price from 65 euro to about 250 euro, but are all comfortable and classy. The cheapest rooms do not have their own bathrooms or toilets, just a sink. There are common bathrooms, these are kept clean. All rooms have a minibar and phone and TV.
I have stayed in this hotel many times over the years, always easy to park, but don't leave valuables as the owner warned me they break in the cars sometimes. Overall a safe and clean place, very European style. Breakfast is good, but there is no lunch or dinner served and there are no restaurants or bars in walking distance. This is a good quality/price hotel with a very classy touch.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jorrit9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Vi hadde rom i første etasje med utgang til hagen hvor vi satt om kvelden. Stille og fredelig. Bare...
  • Stayed: June 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank SunDe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hilversum
1.1 mi away
Gooiland Hotel
Gooiland Hotel
#3 of 5 in Hilversum
25 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tulip Inn Media Park Hilversum
1.3 mi away
Hotel Ravel Hilversum
Hotel Ravel Hilversum
#5 of 5 in Hilversum
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Amrath Hotel Lapershoek
Amrath Hotel Lapershoek
#4 of 5 in Hilversum
149 reviews
3.4 mi away
NH Bussum Jan Tabak
NH Bussum Jan Tabak
#1 of 2 in Bussum
54 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hotel Hilversum - de Witte Bergen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Trompenberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Trompenberg

Address: Chr. de Wetlaan 1, 1217 JJ Hilversum, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Hilversum
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Hilversum
Price Range: $128 - $166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Trompenberg 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Villa Trompenberg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing