We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Ravel Hilversum
Nearby Hotels
$88
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dutch brand hotel Gooiland(Hilversum)(Great Value!)
$103
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$84
$74
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$110
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$92
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$165
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$82
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Villa Johanna(Hilversum)
Booking.com
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (42)
Filter reviews
42 results
Traveler rating
8
13
10
4
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
8
13
10
4
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnight's sleepflat screen tvstreet parkinggood sizefirst floorbreezebusiness
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 42 reviews
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Last weekend I stayed at The Ravel as I have done many times over the years.The rooms have been updated and provide all the comforts. Staff were polite and welcoming as always. I have however a warning for future guests. We had a problem with the hotel entry system, so called the emergency number provided on the front door.This was at 11.20 pm and the door locks at 11pm. We left messages and kept calling but no response. Eventually we had to walk to another hotel and pay for a room with them. On confronting hotel staff in the morning, we were met with a blase response. Considering I was alone with my daughter late at night looking for accommodation you can imagine how disappointed we were.This added on an extra 80 euros to our trip. Needless to say be warned future quests! We have found an alternative hotel for December's trip.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Aimeebeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oazelf, Manager at Hotel Ravel Hilversum, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

Many thanks for your kind remarks about our renovated rooms and our staff. Nice to hear you really appreciate our efforts to keep Hotel Ravel up to date.

Considering your warning for future guests we have mixed feelings, to say the least. Since you claim to be a regular guest (our records show you have stayed with us in February 2008 and now again beginning this month), you should be aware of the fact our reception closes at night. At check-in we always specifically mention this - important fact - and provide all our guest with a little slip of paper with the entrance code on it (to be used at night when the front door is closed).

The hotel entry system is a very secure one and is working perfectly! In this case however you completely overlook the fact you forgot bring with you this access code (leaving you in front of a closed door). We regret the fact that the emergency number was not anwered right away and we did express our sincere apologies, the next day. The person in charge of answering the telephone was in his car on his way home and got a bad reception during the ride. You now state you were met with a blase response, however during you stay you seemed to understand.

We are / were willing to compensate for the inconvenience caused however, but were not given the opportunity.

Trusting to have been at your service now and again in future,

Best regards,
Hotel Ravel

Oebele Anema

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

We had 5 nights in this hotel recently and found it very comfortable. The service was personal and helpful, and our room, while not huge, was spacious enough. Even though we faced straight on to the main road, we didn't find the background noise disturbing - you would have to be pretty sensitive to find it a problem. We were concerned beforehand about the parking, having read previous reviews, but managed to get parked within 30 metres or so of the hotel every time. We would happily use this hotel again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2012

I stayed at this hotel twice , the first time was at 2002 and the second on 2012 , I was surprised that the hotel remains for 10 years without any renovation. I was expecting some modern touches on the rooms but the only thing the did was replacing the old TV's with flat screens. Anyhow the hotel is located on an excellent location quite noicy for the room overlooking the main strret especially those on the ground floor. car parkings are there on the opposite streets but still are ok. the preakfast was very poor and the rooms weren't perfectly clean , also the room service is only availble before noon so if you were asleep then don't expect any cooperation from their side to clean your room after 13:00 Hrs ! likewise the limited hours for the reception wgich is closed from 23:00 till 07:00 unlike the rest hotels in town which have their fron desk operating for 24 hours.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Nezar Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 13, 2012

Dear Mr NaZZori,

Thank you for bothering to write a review about Hotel Ravel. It is always good to hear comments, which may help us to improve the hotel and it's services.

Except for the new tv's we have done our utmost to keep the hotel up-to-date and we are very sorry you did not notice the improvements we carried out over the 10 year span you are describing. In recent years we moved the reception next to the entrance and have redone the breakfast area which has nearly doubled in size now. Also, most of our rooms (14 out of 18) have brand new bathrooms with rainshowers, etc. The remainder of the bathrooms will be ready by the end of the year, after which the decor of the rooms will be updated as well. Less discernible improvements are the brand new fire alarm system, the new roof, new central heating, etc. etc.

Please bear in mind we are a relatively small hotel which limits it's service somewhat in respect to operating hours of the cleaning and reception staff. However we aim to meet reasonable demands.

Trusting to have been at your service now and in the future,

Best regards,


Oebele Anema

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2012

We only stayed one night but found this hotel to be excellent. The room we were given was spacious, beautifully furnished with a great shower.

The breakfast room is pleasant, we used it in the evening as well and had some very good coffee fromthe rather swish coffee machine

The hotel owner was very friendly.

Recommended

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reenby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oebele A, Manager at Hotel Ravel Hilversum, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2012

Dear Mrs 'Reenby',

Thank you very much to have written such a pleasant review. Nice to hear our efforts are appreciated. Especially your remark concerning our coffee machine makes us proud. Never start the day without a good cup op coffee is our adagio.

Best regards,


Oebele Anema

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2012

A cautionary tale: check the details of the property and room facilities carefully. Yes, this is a small friendly hotel with attractively decorated rooms. The staff are friendly and helpful, BUT 'public parking nearby' means parking on a dingy side street several hundred metres away. The road outside is busy and there is nowhere to pull up to unload. When you struggle to the hotel with your luggage (and in our case filming equipment) there is no lift and a difficult staircase to rooms on the second floor. Value-wise, the Hotel Ravel is not great. By today's standards the breakfast was poor and one of our party was asked for a fee to use a hairdryer. Finally, a number of sites will tell you that you can reach Amsterdam by car in 30 minutes from the Hotel Ravel. Not in our experience.

Room Tip: Don't accept anything above the first floor unless you are really fit, have no luggage and looking for a workout.
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bryan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oebele A, Owner at Hotel Ravel Hilversum, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2012

Dear Mr Bryan D.,

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor, offering us a change of answering to your remarks.

First of all we are very glad you liked the atmosphere in the hotel and our rooms, always nice to hear.

However we have no private parking (given the location in the centre of Hilversum), in general there is ample free parking available in the streets behind and in front of the hotel. In our opinion and years of experience a convenient parking spot is seldom further than 100 metres from the hotel. The main street may be busy during rush hour (in the morning and afternoon), however it is always permitted to (un)load right in front of the hotel, at least all our suppliers and taxi's do.

With reference to your heavy filming equipment, we were not aware you were struggling so much. We do have a storage room next to our reception and would have been pleased to store your luggage over there and/or would a given your a hand (since we are used to our stairs and our monumental building unfortunately is not designed to incorporate an elevator ). An other solution could have been, to change at least one of your rooms to one on the ground floor.

Except during rush hour, it is pretty well possible to reach Amsterdam in less than 30 minutes, since the travel distance by car from our hotel to the very centre of amsterdam is less than 40 kilometres.

We have several hairdryers available at our reception and never charge for their use (so we assume you were mis-informed regarding this fact), we only make a note which room has borrowed a hair-dryer in order to avoid mix-ups with our clients own hairdryers.

Hopefully we have cleared several issues you might have experienced an hope to welcome you again in the future.

Best regards,


Oebele Anema

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews