We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Barely Business Grade”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Amrath Hotel Lapershoek
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Hilversum
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Barely Business Grade”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2014

I visited the Lapershoek for 1 night on a business trip and was not overly impressed with my stay.

To be greeted with a fan upon the table of my room I was aware it would be an uncomfortable night's sleep. This proved to be the case with no air-conditioning and very little air flow coming in from the permanently open windows.

The furniture and decor was dated and my room was also missing an in-room safe.

Breakfast was a simple affair, but adequate and the dinner was average. To eat on the terrace was certainly a plus, but then to lose the WiFi signal slightly frustrating.

With little other option in the HIlversum area so close to the train station, the Lapershoek seems to know it has a captive audience and isn't in a hurry to go above and beyond in improving itself.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GavTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    41
    28
    41
    10
See reviews for
15
33
10
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2014

Breakfast.... No choice of food. Guests accepted what they could find. No scrambled eggs. No tomatoes. No bread. No tea. No small dishes for jam. No plates! No croissants. No fruit. No cereals. I am staying at this hotel at the moment. Guests are having to ask for all I have mentioned. The tables are not being cleared. When the water was delivered for the tea, it wasn't hot. There were no more than 14 diners at one time having breakfast and people were constantly asking the only waitress in the restaurant to replenish the food. Yesterday's breakfast was similar except that the scrambled eggs were cold. Very disappointing. Probably the worst breakfast I have ever experienced. On the plus side...the coffee from the self-service machine was hot.

Room Tip: It appears that a refurbished room is what you should ask for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HandsOfGenius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hilversum hotels

Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
78 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014

On my business trips to Hilversum I frequently stay here because of its location to the train station and business meetings.
The terrace is quite nice and so is the breakfast.
The hotel has gone through some refurnishing and modernising.
Make sure your room is one of the refurnished ones. Otherwise you might be in for a surprise.
A simple hotel. Staff can be a bit slow during fully booked days propably due to understaffing.

Room Tip: Make sure to get a room from the " new part"
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilversum, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014

In July 2013 I had my wedding dinner in that hotel plus booked a room to accommodate my American guests. The hotel room was tiny and the shower didn't work properly. But the most disadvantageous part was the restaurant... The ONLY waiter could not serve all the guests in time, some of the guests were still waiting while others have finished their meal. The food (particularly the ribeye) was horrible. Though I asked to make it well done, it was chewy and completely red inside, I sent the meal back to kitchen and here's what they brought me - see photo. I expressed my dissatisfaction to the waiter, she promised to take it off the bill, but her manager Ms. Bosman refused. To be fair, I should say that they offered us a free coupon for High-Tea but we didn't want to go back there.The children's menu discussed in advance wasn't there - the chef had to cook something for them that moment, and while he did it the kids ate bread with butter.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruslan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tbilisi, Georgia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

Licated in 350 m from train station it is easy to reach... and comfortable to stay in summer or winter. Friendly staff, excellent and flexible service, nice terrace and a plenty of meeting rooms for business gathering...

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Gziro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

I stayed in Hilversum when I was visiting Amsterdam and was very well pleased. It was easy enough to get to from Amsterdam Centraal, and then to get out to the airport (I'm used to taking trains). The hotel is a very easy five minute walk from the Sportpark station- all on the sidewalk.

The hotel is in a residential area, which made it attractive. When I was there, I found it cool and green and quiet. I liked the fact that room was in a large house, but with a full service restaurant downstairs.

My room was an excellent value, in fact, the best value I got on this trip. It was all to a fine standard with a full bathroom, cable TV, comfortable bed, etc. Being on the second floor, it had a very large window. I will include a picture to help give a sense of what staying here is like.

The staff were very friendly and accommodating and it seemed to me took pride in their work. All in all, I was very pleased and had a comfortable stay. Also, the value was great. Because of all of this, I will keep it in mind for future trips to Amsterdam.

Room Tip: An nice alternative to downtown Amsterdam, if you are used to taking the train
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TMD3453
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
55 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

Stayed there on a business trip with colleagues. Small rooms, outdated, with no airco. Environment and breakfast were nice, but hotel needs restyling, and fast, because this way of doimg business is not concordant with the year 2013.

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Hoeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hilversum
1.1 mi away
Tulip Inn Media Park Hilversum
0.5 mi away
Gooiland Hotel
Gooiland Hotel
#5 of 5 in Hilversum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Ravel
Hotel Ravel
#4 of 5 in Hilversum
3.5 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Trompenberg
Hotel Villa Trompenberg
#1 of 5 in Hilversum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Hilversum - de Witte Bergen
3.5 mi away
Bastion Hotel Bussum Hilversum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amrath Hotel Lapershoek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amrath Hotel Lapershoek

Property: Amrath Hotel Lapershoek
Address: Utrechtseweg 16, 1213 TS Hilversum, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Hilversum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Hilversum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Amrath Hotel Lapershoek 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Amrath Hotel Lapershoek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amrath Hotel Hilversum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing