We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply the best!”
Review of Royal Mandarin

Royal Mandarin
Ranked #1 of 140 Restaurants in Hilversum
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Simply the best!”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Those who appreciate very good oriental food with an haute cuisine twist, a wine list that will impress the connaiseur (the top bordeaux, as well as great Italian, Spanish and new world wines) and a restaurant owner whose extensive knowledge of wines can match that of any guest; in combination with Michelin-starworthy service, well - all they have to do is be in Hilversum, some 15 miles south of Amsterdam, any time after 3 pm. The best oriental food/service/dining venue in the area for sure. Obviously, including some good wine, you will need to pay between 70 and 110 euros p.p. - it's worth every penny, though.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dinterklaas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    146
    46
    7
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Level Contributor
68 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Special occasion, pampered from door to door.”
Reviewed November 16, 2012

We had heard so many good reports, word of mouth and written, about the Royal Mandarin that for our 10th anniversary we decided to "splash out". My wife even found they have a taxi service that will pick you up and bring you home. It was a cold night and tho not being that far from the restaurant we arranged for this service- glad we did and well worth it.
The pampering continued at the front door. Warmly greeted and they would not even let me hang up my wife's coat, "we will do that for you"
We were given a choice of tables and asked what we would like to drink. Wine list was on a IPod- nice touch. Very extensive wine list from modest priced to extremely expensive(ie: 2,500 E)
After two delicious amuses, wife had the duck pancakes and I had the Mandarin salad. Mine was delicious and wife's must have been also good because I was not offered a bite! Don't try to make your own second helping of pancakes, I was told "we will do that for you" (again)
For mains we both had the lobster/duck combination, and altho the broiled half lobster tail was a bit dry, it was delicious!
Wife had the Chocolate Fanatsy- very tasty and recommended for those "addicted" to chocolate I opted for a coffee served with assorted chocolates and cookies. We were both offered a Gratis coffee, which only I accepted.
It was a Thursday night and they were busy-reservations a must. The tables were not that close together, like in many Paris restuarants. We had no problem with noise/conversations from other tables.
As I ordered the bill I also asked for them to call our "chauffer" (or taxi) which was an unmarked private Mercedes Benz- nice guy and excellent driver.
They also have a separate heated room with couches at the front of the house for smokers
Next special occasion we know where we will be going- Royal Mandarin.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank allesvoorjouw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilversum
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Exquisite meals”
Reviewed November 15, 2012

We have dined in Royal Mandarin, Hilversum, on several "special occasions". In Netherlands finding a good restaurant is a quest. Royal Mandarin never failed to delight us: the atmosphere, the food, the service - all beyond the highest expectations!
Their kitchen offers both Asian (the restaurant is positioned as Chinese) and European dishes, there is a wide choice of good wines (including vintage ones), interesting deserts.
Prices are quite reasonable for the quality provided.

Highly recommended!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Galina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
57 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Constant quality and friendly service”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

This restaurant is one of my family's favourites. The food is great and the service is very friendly. We've been here over twenty times over the years and have never had a disappointing experience. The Mandarin Pancakes are nothing less than exquisite!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Seolferwulf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“More than excellent Chinese food”
Reviewed May 8, 2012

There is no better place to enjoy a festive dinner. Don't think you'll be leaving within an hour, calculate about three if you want to enjoy the lovely amuses, starters, a drink by the fireplace and the excellent dishes served by this restaurant. Make a night of it! The wine list is extensive, to say the least and whenever we have something to celebrate (or just feel like splurging), that's where we go. It's not too far from the train station (10-minute walk) so even if you don't live in Hilversum it's definitely worth the visit. Attentive waiters, an outside smoking-section (with heaters!), and some of the best food awaits you. So it's a little more expensive than your average restaurant... So what? it's definitely worth it.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank shedevilNetherlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Royal Mandarin also viewed

Hilversum, North Holland Province
Hilversum, North Holland Province
 
Hilversum, North Holland Province
Hilversum, North Holland Province
 
Hilversum, North Holland Province
Hilversum, North Holland Province
 

Been to Royal Mandarin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing