We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and ambience”

Lakes Bar & Kitchen
Ranked #16 of 141 Restaurants in Hilversum
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Praha
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Great food and ambience”
Reviewed August 14, 2012

We liked the food and the ambience very much. We also loved the wine, however, when we ordered second glass we were served a different kind than we chose by mistake. We had to point this out to the waiter who then brought the right wine. We didn´t appreciate this confusion but everything else was in order so I would happily recommend restaurant Lakes.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DPraha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    29
    6
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Naarden
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Overpriced, service terribly slow”
Reviewed July 25, 2012

Had a business dinner there last night. Asked for a table in the shade got one in the sun. Took a very long time to get the starter, and then more than 1 hour to get the main course. We asked three times and got really bad excuses. Then we got our food with the phrase "yes but the meat is very good "
The food is ok, nicely put on the plate but a bit plain and quite fat.
Location nice if you sit outside.
Overpriced in my view and overrated.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank tvanhalewijn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“a must when in Hilversum”
Reviewed April 11, 2012

Great menu - well executed

Wine selection with the meal was wonderful

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MGfoodt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Elegant and stylish setting, very good quality food but on the expensive side.”
Reviewed November 1, 2011

The service, setting and food are all on a very high level. The tables are spaced so that there is very little intrusion from the other guests. It als has a great outside area.

It's off the beaten track but easy to find and has ample parking space.

If you have the dosh it's worth a visit.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mvbaalen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Expensive but worth it”
Reviewed July 18, 2011

Nice location, stylish interior, friendly staff, delicious food. Well worth a visit if you can afford it

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Seolferwulf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lakes Bar & Kitchen also viewed

Hilversum, North Holland Province
Hilversum, North Holland Province
 
Hilversum, North Holland Province
Hilversum, North Holland Province
 

Been to Lakes Bar & Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing