We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Gooi's experience” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lust

Lust
Reserve with
Lust is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #22 of 136 Restaurants in Hilversum
Cuisines: French, European, Dutch, Seafood, International, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Hilversum, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
62 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent Gooi's experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2014

Friendly service,fine food at reasonable prices and a lovely selection of good wines.Upstairs a tastefully decorated lounge area to drink a tasteful cup of coffee,tea or to finish the bottle of wine.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jake043
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    60
    22
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great food but served slowely”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014

I ate 2 times at this place in the last year. During the most recent visit it seemed that the food was served a lot slower than before. We arrived around 7pm and left around 11pm again after having 5 courses. This was a bit too long of a sit.
The food was what we came for and it was super delicious and worth the wait. The service of the waiters was also quite good. They seemed to know everything about the menu, though their expressions were sometimes a bit over the top imho (eg everything they mention is "delicious")

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank pault9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilversum, Netherlands
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“very nice ambiance, good service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

Food was excellent, portions right on the dot. Service was attentive. The prep of the spaghetti parmesan was interesting, and it tasted marvelous.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank rolfvg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“THE FOOD IS TOO DIE FOR”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

This is agreat restaurent very romantic great ambience and genuinly great food it is expensive around a €130 for two with wine BUT it does everything perfectly cant recomend highly enough the waitress took the time ti translate the dutch menu with grace and humour even though the place was full she was charming the lighting is dark with candles just how i like it the fish was out of this world i cant praise this place high enough would ui go back dear reader i would go to Hilversum just to eat here its that good thanks for reading paul

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank paul l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
104 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Creative menu, quirky environment, slow and friendly service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

I was here with 10 colleagues, sharing a corner "table". On the first floor there are several cozy couches and you eat on your lap using a quirky tray table+pillow arrangement. It works.
We were browsing the menu back and forth many times: there are many fish, meat and vegetarian options, quite creative and they sounded all very promising. Eventually we ordered across the board: I had an excellent "gorgonzola baklava"; I can remember sushi, a baked salmon dish, oysters and more fish of which I don't know the English equivalent. Oh, the appetizer spreads were wonderful (not your usual Dutch trio olive-tomato-aioli).
The food was mostly up to expectations, the chardonnay to go with it pleasant and uncomplicated (it's a chardonnay). Exceptions were due to orders being misinterpreted.
The staff was very eager: we were attended by 3 friendly waiters and waitresses. The waiting time for food was long even by Dutch standards, though: 40+ minutes per course and the people with wrong orders ended up waiting some more.
We were tempted into desserts and we did not regret it: most of us went for baked-to-order filled chocolate cake which packed a delicious punch.
I didn't see the final bill, but remembering the prices of courses I'd say they were slightly above average, especially the desserts (around €14 for the cake).
I would go back there and I think it would be suited for a date as well.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Luciano Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lust also viewed

Hilversum, North Holland Province
Hilversum, North Holland Province
 
Hilversum, North Holland Province
Hilversum, North Holland Province
 
Hilversum, North Holland Province
Hilversum, North Holland Province
 

Been to Lust? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing