We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect seat on the Grote Markt”

Grand Cafe Brinkmann
Reserve with
Grand Cafe Brinkmann is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #7 of 327 Restaurants in Haarlem
Price range: $9 - $22
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighborhood: Centrum
Erwitte, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
216 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Perfect seat on the Grote Markt”
Reviewed May 7, 2014

Perfect place for a coffee stop and watch people walk by - start with a croissant and coffee before shopping the market on Saturday morning. Perfect way to start the day.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Schnap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brinkmann_1879, Manager at Grand Cafe Brinkmann, responded to this review, May 17, 2014
Dear Schnap,

Thank you for leaving your positive review on Tripadvisor.
We are glad you enjoyed your coffee and croissant and hope had a great stay in Haarlem!

Kind regards,

Team Brinkmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

513 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    170
    247
    77
    7
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“As a local, I wouldn't recommend it”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

I must say it has been a while since I have been there, but yes it has the best spot on the Grote Markt but no, it is not the best place to hang. It's fine if you just want a quick coffee or and it is the only place having some sunshine outside, but I'd prefer some other bars or restaurants in that area that are a little more sophisticated.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Remon1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brinkmann_1879, Manager at Grand Cafe Brinkmann, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Dear double-R_1981,

Thank you very much for leaving your review and for pointing out that we are the best spot on the Grote Markt. We regret that we were not able to meet your level of sophistication. Indeed, we may not be the most intimate of establishments. However, we are very proud to provide a comfortable 'place to hang' to a very wide range of people, both local and travelers.

Kind regards,

Team Brinkmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Great food!”
Reviewed April 12, 2014

Food was very innovative, especially the fruit and goat cheese pie and the soup and salad. Great ambience and service.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angieslist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brinkmann_1879, Manager at Grand Cafe Brinkmann, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Dear angieslist,

Thank you very much for leaving your positive comments.
Compliments from a well traveled and experienced reviewer such as yourself are extra special to us!!

Kind regards,

Team Brinkmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed March 11, 2014

Service second-to-none! Coffee simply amazing. The food was outstanding & everything very reasonably priced. All with a view of the square & church, while watching the world go by.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank JRN_NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brinkmann_1879, Manager at Grand Cafe Brinkmann, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear JRN_NZ,

Thank you very much for leaving this great comment.
It is highly appreciated!
We hope you enjoyed your trip to Haarlem and the Netherlands.

Kind regards,

Team Brinkmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holland
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Short Holland break”
Reviewed March 9, 2014

On this cold, a bit rainy day, we enjoyed a lovely lunch in this very famous restaurant, right opposite the beautul St Bavo church.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank zwerver45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brinkmann_1879, Manager at Grand Cafe Brinkmann, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear Zwerver45,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your positive comment.
We hop you'll visit us again!!

Kind regards,

Team Brinkmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grand Cafe Brinkmann also viewed

Haarlem, North Holland Province
Haarlem, North Holland Province
 
Haarlem, North Holland Province
Haarlem, North Holland Province
 

Been to Grand Cafe Brinkmann? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing