We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb cafe”

Grand Cafe Brinkmann
Reserve with
Grand Cafe Brinkmann is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #7 of 327 Restaurants in Haarlem
Price range: $9 - $22
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighborhood: Centrum
cambridge
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Superb cafe”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Haarlem is an elegant town, and this cafe was full of well dressed locals enjoying the beautiful view of st Bavo's in the sunshine. Our coffee and sandwiches- well, huge open sandwiches with superb bread and fresh ingredients-we're great. Some cafés with great views in superb locations don't try too hard with the food; Brinkman is exceptionally good. Go, and enjoy this charming city.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank onlooker1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

513 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    170
    247
    77
    7
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
260 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“A beautiful place to take an afternoon coffee!”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

This restaurant is in a super location on the lovely square in Haarlem! They serve meals, but we were just hoping for a pretty place to have coffee. I asked before sitting down if that was ok, and got a warm welcome and a choice of any table. The decor is just beautiful. The waiter was great, showing Dutch humour and hospitality! The coffee was nice, and the typical Dutch Apple pie was delicious! Heartily recommended!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bill D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Impressive building in the middle of Haarlem”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

I had lunch here several times. The fact that I came back is a good sign, their sandwhiches are simply delicious. Although, I must say, pretty expensive. The location is great, in the middle of the Grote Markt, with a 1st-class view on the St. Bavo church and the always vibrant square. The sun shines on the terrace in summer, great to get a tan. What attracts me the most is the beautiful building, that brings me back in time... I love history and that's what this building is breathing.The only downside is that it's huge, and therefore kind of impersonal and not intimate.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dutch_delight013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solana Beach, California, United States
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Chef's special”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Always ask the waiter in Europe (or anywhere) what the chef is known for. It pays off..
The restaurant has ample seating on the "piazza" where locals and tourists were enjoying the late evening sun on a summer day, eating dinner, or just drinking beer and wine. We were hungry, so we decided to join.
The waiter was very friendly but careful not to make any recommendation. When I asked if the mussles were good, I got a diplomatic response (people who order it never complain). Well, I ordered the mussles, and did not complain. They were quite good, but I do prefer the garlic butter sauce better than the dutch one (vegetable based).
My daughter ordered the steak. Please, order the steak. It is absolutely amazing. It is also the chef's speciality. Not only is the meat tender, the sauce - you can write poems about it :-)
So, next time, ask. we just got lucky.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Noam Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antigua, Guatemala
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great hamburgers and handsome waiters!”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We had so much fun at Brinkmann. We ate hamburgers outdoors and people watched. So charming! And the handsome waiters were so friendly and took pictures with our teenaged daughters!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ali M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grand Cafe Brinkmann also viewed

Haarlem, North Holland Province
Haarlem, North Holland Province
 
Haarlem, North Holland Province
Haarlem, North Holland Province
 
Haarlem, North Holland Province
Haarlem, North Holland Province
 

Been to Grand Cafe Brinkmann? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing