We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Quaint cosy cottage in central location”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
34 reviews
Modern and sun-filled Modern and sun-filled bathroom with towels, toiletries and hairdryer for your
Front facade of the Charming House
Ambient fireplace
Bright and sunny loft-style bedroom with adjacent lounge area (with convertable sofabed)
Front facade - Welcome!
Charming interior.  Welcome to Holland!
Washing Machine and Dryer for your convenience
Newly recarpeted traditional dutch staircase. It's a little steep but we've added lots of handrails!
Located on a walking street in a quiet neighbourhood, close to the city centre
Charming Decor and all your self-catering needs provided for
The charming streets of Haarlem
The Grote Markt of Haarlem
A beautiful historical building near Grote Markt, Haarlem
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Haarlem, North Holland Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 34 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
LornaVern...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Quaint cosy cottage in central location”
Reviewed November 18, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

The owners (Rudy and Bea) were on holiday in Bali but had left lots of good information about the house and area. The house is small but beautifully decorated and has everything you need. We were only a few minutes walk from shops, bars and restaurants.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 19, 2015
Thankyou so much for your kind review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. Happy travels and welcome back next time , Rudy & Bea
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComptonWi...
Winchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely house, great city and v helpful owners”
Reviewed November 5, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We had a fantastic time staying at Rudy & Bea's Charming House. Haarlem is a lovely city - much easier to stay in than Amsterdam yet so close (15 mins by train). The house is small but did not feel cramped even with the four of us there and it has absolutely everything you need. Rudy and Bea were so helpful beforehand and during our stay - even though they were many miles away in Asia. We enjoyed visiting windmills and hiring bikes to cycle through the sand dunes to the coast. The house is within easy reach of a supermarket and the city centre but was remarkably quiet at night so the kids slept well!
Thanks Rudy and Bea for a lovely stay.

Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 19, 2015
Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are so glad we were able to assist you with advice and everything you needed to have such an enjoyable stay in the Netherlands. We would love to have you stay agsin sometime in the future. Take care, Rudy & Bea
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathryn C
Birstall
1 review
“Very cosy and comfortable house”
Reviewed October 25, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We had a lovely weekend in Rudy and Bea's house in Haarlem. Check-in and check-out were easy and problem-free. The owners were in contact via email to answer our questions and make suggestions about restaurants and places to visit.

The house was warm, comfortable and well-equipped. The beds were comfy and the beer and sweets provided were much appreciated. Our stay was all too short and we will be back!

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 27, 2015
Thank you Kathryn for your kind words. Im so glad that we were able to assist with making your stay extra enjoyable and provide late check out. We would love to have you come stay again. Thankyou for being such lovely guests. Rudy & Bea
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terese P
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Sweet little house”
Reviewed September 13, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

I felt so Dutch staying here. This little spilt lever home is perfect for 2 guests. The host has taking the time to label and mark everything taking all the guesswork. The stairs are very steep but also very typical of all Dutch architecture. I didn't realize the home had a full sized bed when I booked the cm size means little to this American. Anyhow it was easy to get here from the station, easy to get the the airport and close to the city center. Also there's a big parking lot next door if you're traveling by car.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 14, 2015
We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay in Charming House and Haarlem. Thank you so much for taking the time to write this kind review. We would love to welcome you back next time you are back in the Netherlands.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
836julia
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
“Holland at its best”
Reviewed July 1, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We had a wonderful week at Rudy´s and Bea´s house! It´s the perfect spot to start lots of day trips in this region of Holland and to explore Haarlem afterwards in the evening. It was 100% clean and well maintained. The kitchen is much better equipped than expectable for a vacation house. The stairs are steep as described but no problem for kids of 3 and 5 years. When we had a problem with a alarm going off one day, Rudy and Bea responded via FB and helped us righaway. All other questions can be looked up in a guest guide and post-its spread all over the house. The luxury point of the place is the beamer with a screen for the home cinema experience. We can recommend this house in every aspect! Thanks, Rudy and Bea!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: clean!
Liked least: the park garage in front
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 14, 2015
We are so glad you and your family enjoyed your stay at Charming House. We would love to welcome you again in the future. Thank you for your kind review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick T
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very nice, cozy place”
Reviewed May 21, 2015 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This small house is located in Haarlem, about an 8 minute walk from the city center.

The interior is beautiful, the furniture is very modern, everything was clean and it was a joy to stay there. Although the stairs are quite narrow and steep, I probably wouldn't recommend it for older people.

We had some issues with the WiFi, but we were able to contact the owners and get help very quickly and we found a solution that worked for everyone.

If you want to visit Amsterdam and also take a look at Zaandvort, while still staying in a quiet place, I would definitely recommend this place.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The attention to detail on the inside of the house.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 14, 2015
We're so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us at Charming House and the beautiful city of Haarlem. Sorry for the wifi issue but happy we could attend the problem and fix it for you. We would love to welcome you back next time you are in Haarlem.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona M
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Totally charming!!!”
Reviewed December 22, 2014 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We have just spent a great couple of nights in this beautifully renovated cottage in Haarlem on our way to the Newcastle ferry. The beds were comfy, the bathroom and kitchen were done up to a very high standard, the living space was spacious and light with an attractive courtyard for the warmer weather.
Our hosts were very gracious even meeting us at the train station to show us the way.
Haarlem is a fantastic alternative to the tourist traps of Amsterdam which is still an easy train/bus ride away. There is so much more value for your money to be had here, and there is charm galore in this beautiful historic town, with all of it walkable. There are lots of great shops, restaurants, churches and museums plus the beach close by. We will definitely return for a longer stay and will book into this charming house again.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 7, 2015
We're so glad you enjoyed your stay here. You are welcome back anytime. Happy and safe travels.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing